Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(4 star, Verified Purchases). See all 186 reviews
on May 5, 2016
Too many years and too many people have been involved and evoked to look for postfacto explanations that can make sense today. JFK was shot and killed because he threatened the status of money-making systems that could hire the "mechanics" and obfuscate the trail.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2013
This book turned out to be longer, deeper, and better researched than I thought.

It handles suspense well, waiting until well after the fourth quarter to really tackle the assassination of JFK and setting up the reasons why all along the way. If you're looking for 400+ pages of an in-depth analysis of November 22, 1963, then look elsewhere.

According to this author (and his side of the story is not far-fetched at all), Kennedy was killed because he wanted to put an end to a little billion-dollar business called the Vietnam War.

L. Fletcher Prouty worked for nine years in the Pentagon, knew and worked with Kennedy, and has had access to many classified and declassified documents.

His deductions are very logical and, if you happen to know how the world really works, all that he writes will make sense.

I at first thought that the way in which he repeated and came back to certain events, chapter after chapter, was annoying and purposeless but, now that I've finished reading, I realize that this resource has been mnenomically effective. I see that it was a jarring experience for most reviewers and I can see how this could've been solved by more skillful editors. Still, like I said, it's a good way to make you remember.

As with any story that wanders from the official account of JFK's assassination, this take on things may seem like just another conspiracy theory but you will find facts that will sound off alarms and make you think. It's downright impossible to prove anything and, yes, some declarations from the author are overzealous but I guess I didn't mind because JFK's assassination has always tugged at my heart as well.

I've never bought the "lone gunman" theory but I also haven't had the opportunity to read other theories. This one seems plausible enough, given the USA's penchant for war and making money.

If you're at all interested in JFK's assassination, this book is as good a place to start as any.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
I'd have enjoyed knowing who actually pulled the trigger, but like other accounts, this book provides a solid evidence for pointing the finger at the CIA and explains possible motives behind the assassination. Author Fletcher Prouty traces the growing powers of the CIA starting with the creation of the OSS and the presidents who had to deal with the free wheeling CIA.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2013
As a lay reader, I have nothing factual to contribute, except to observe that Prouty's general thesis of a high level cabal certainly seems possible in view of what we now know about the way our post-war government has operated. The problem is that he lays out a persuasive background but can't factually connect it up with the assassination itself. Background and motivation are simply not enough to prove culpability, whether the accused be Oswald or a secret cabal. Not surprisingly then, anyone looking for detailed discussion of the assassination itself should look elsewhere.

Nonetheless, I learned a great deal about covert operations our government has carried out since 1944 from Prouty's book. Given his high-level military background, he's certainly in a position to know. My only real complaint is that the text is poorly edited. There is much too much repetition and meandering development, such that focus is hard to maintain. Better editing would, I believe, give the book more of the impact it deserves. And Col. Prouty's revelations about the interface between the CIA, big business, and the military certainly merits serious attention.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2010
I agree with the author's premise of a conspiracy to murder JFK. There is information in this book that I have not read in any other historical reference. For example, the author states that the CIA transported the northern based people of Vietnam called the Tonkin and moved them to the south. He claims that this created a turmoil in the land as people began to fight for resources(food)to live. He states that it was this turmoil that was made to look like a communist infiltration of the country. All of this being a CIA manipulated event. Another interesting aspect is that we had been aiding the French occupation of Vietnam. This continued up until 1954; a few months before Diem being installed as President. We had been helping the enemy of the South Vietnamese people just prior to Diem's installation.

The premise of this book is that Pres.Kennedy wanted to pull out of Vietnam, and the military-industrial complex didn't want that to happen. Today there is contention whether this is indeed true or not. I think JFK was uncertain himself and that is why you can find facts supporting both schools of thought. For example, Pres.Kennedy stated he wanted to be the first to put a man on the moon. A direct challenge to the cold war enemy Russia. Yet the book states later that Kennedy signed a memorandum desiring cooperation with Russia in the exploration of space. This is obviously an affront to the "cabal" that wanted the cold war to continue. There was alot of money to be made. I was disappointed the author didn't write about Pres.Kennedy issuing silver certificates in defiance of the Federal Reserve.

After Pres.Kennedy was assasinated it is undeniable we went head first into Vietnam. He had made numerous enemies. The banking industry, the military, the CIA, J. Edgar Hoover, etc. He was a maverick going against conventional thinking and he had to be removed. As the author states those gunshots on Elm street(which by the way, isn't it interesting that the Hollywood "cabal" chose to use as a title to a famous movie series) were a message to all future Presidents that the "secret team" is running the show now.

This book is not an easy read. One negative about this book is that the author's points are repeated. It also left me feeling dismayed and bewildered. If you take the author's premise at face value, almost everything we see and read now has the possibility of being a planned event. The fascinating aspect about the JFK assasination is to see how this "secret team" that works behind the scenes is in control of almost all positions of authority that we have in this country. A chief justice resides on the Warren Commission and signs off on the absurd Warren report, police in Dallas allowing reporters direct access to Oswald; at the time the suspect for the murder. Police allowing Jack Ruby to just waltz up to Oswald and shoot him. LBJ and Hoover having a conversation about not wanting a congressional investigation of the assasination and just wanting to use the Hoover/Warren reports. This is way too many coincidences not to have been a conspiracy. Fletcher Prouty may not be 100% accurate, but I'll believe his version over our official history any day.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2014
Informative insider look at the historical workings of the Military Industrial Complex from the end of World War II through the assassination and beyond. How Kennedy's position on Vietnam opposed the plan of the world governments to generate incomes through the use of perpetual small wars around the globe.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2012
I'm still reading this e-book. At the beginning of the book it went into alot of detail about Vietnam. This was a bit of a struggle to get through. The rest of the book so far has been very interesting.It's a page turner after about chapter 8. I've really been shocked by the very idea of a "Power elite" thats been referred to in this book. However, I find it very convincing that there is a "Big Brother" out there doing his very best to keep the war machine churning. War is BIG business to put it mildly. I look at the recent wars in Afganistan, Iraq, Syria and the like and it really makes me think--What the F***K is going on!! This book is an eye opener to be sure.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
No other book about the assassination that I have found has had the 'why' so well presented and explained. A must read for those who want to understand .
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2014
Not bad but a bit to much covered for one book.
Better to read this and see how wrong O'Reilly's apologist fiction is.
Jay Fitzpatrick, author of Fear Itself.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2013
Written from a unique perspective, this book gives an in-depth look at the tensions that existed in the early '60s between President Kennedy and the power structure, resulting in Prouty's view that this resulted in the assassination.
The description of the early days of South Vietnam culture and politics is one that is often overlooked.
Very much recommended.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse