Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18SW_gno

Jailbird: A Novel
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on April 21, 2017
Kurt Vonnegut approaches vital themes as honestly as anyone with a wise whimsy that makes your mind grow and your heat warm. Jailbird is perhaps not as laugh-out-loud funny as, say, Breakfast of Champions, but it presents a very piercing argument and perspective within a wonderfully endearing tale. I suppose my 4 stars is a relative rating for Vonnegut- I recommend this novel to everyone, especially youths (like me) who may benefit greatly from a beautiful man's words on our world today.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 19, 2017
A history of 20th century USA told by the son of immigrant laborers. The great Depression, the Cleveland massacre, Sacco and Vanzetti, WWII, Watergate and economic roller coasters are background for the journey of enlightenment. In the end we are left with the message that the only things of value are love, kindness and friendship. It would be great if every Starbucks would remind us of the lessons learned by its namesake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
In my book, Vonnegut can write no wrong! Cheers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 23, 2017
What can I say....It's Vonnegut! :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 14, 2018
book club book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 26, 2017
Wonderful book in great condition. Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 1, 2012
A Vonnegut classic--fast paced, bizarre and mesmerizing. The story follows the unlikely meanderings of the usual Vonnegut-type central character, a hapless but guileless doofus just released from jail. His wanderings create a dose of social commentary on corporate America and national politics as only Vonnegut can. Mix the style of JD Salinger with the imagination of Salvador Dali and you've got "Jailbird." This novel is short, fast paced and every bit as addictive as the author's previous novels (better than his later ones). If you think you would like dark humor embedded in social satire with more than a touch of the surreal, you'll LOVE "Jailbird" by Kurt Vonnegut (the master of the art form). Read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 19, 2013
Not my favorite Vonnegut book, but it's still Vonnegut. I was put off by the many typos in the Kindle edition but you get what you pay for.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 10, 2015
I didn't find this picaresque novel as creative or memorable as some other Vonnegut books (e.g. Cat's Cradle, Galapagos, Slapstick), but it was still entertaining and witty at times. The social satire is more straightforward and most of the characters more realistic than in some of his other work, which may please some readers who have found Vonnegut to be too "weird" at times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 4, 2014
Kurt Vonnegut is always a consciousness raiser. Whether it's far out fiction, or stories such as this that remind us that governments are imperfect, and that tolerance is a much better way to conduct human relationships, his words strike home. They are timeless. This is not as great a book as "Slaughterhouse Five," but it is and will remain a poignant account of this great man's life. I recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse