Buying Options

Kindle Price: $13.99

Save $13.00 (48%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Jane Austen Society: A Novel by [Natalie Jenner]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Jane Austen Society: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 425 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$13.99
Paperback
$23.17

Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled
Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

An Amazon Best Book of May 2020: Fans of novels such as The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Lilac Girls, or The Chilbury Ladies' Choir should make sure to add The Jane Austen Society to their library. Set in the tiny village of Chawton, during and after World War II, it’s a story about eight people from very different backgrounds—from a farm laborer to a movie starlet—who, in saving the house Jane Austen last lived in from developers, unexpectedly save themselves from loneliness, grief, and loss. Author Natalie Jenner does a marvelous job of showing how a disparate group of villagers could go from enduring their disappointments in quiet solitude, to being united, both by their love of Jane Austen and their determination to preserve her home. With a humorous mix of characters, from both upstairs and downstairs, that would do Julian Fellowes proud, and affectionate, pitch-perfect character studies of each, The Jane Austen Society pays tribute to the power of literature to heal and bring people together. But best of all, it will charm readers and make them feel as though they share the sorrows and the triumphs of their new friends: Adam, Adeline, Andrew, Evie, Frances, Dr Gray, Mimi, and Yardley. —Vannessa Cronin, Amazon Book Review --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Review

"Anyone seeking an antidote to contemporary chaos will find a welcome respite among the members of a group whose outer lives may appear simple, but whose inner lives need the kind of balm Austen knew well." ―The Washington Post

"In my opinion, Natalie Jenner’s first novel, The Jane Austen Society, could not have been published at a more appropriate time...it’s a wonderful, magical journey to the end of the book." ―Fredricksburg Freelance-Star

"Just like a story written by Austen herself, Jenner's first novel is brimming with charming moments, endearing characters, and nuanced relationships...Readers won't need previous knowledge of Austen and her novels to enjoy this tale's slow revealing of secrets that build to a satisfying and dramatic ending." ―Booklist (starred review)

"Readers who enjoy character-driven novels will want to read this book. Like Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows’s The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, it’s a must-purchase for libraries of all sizes." ―Library Journal (starred review)

"Delightful... Jenner’s immersive character development is juxtaposed against her study of Austen’s characters, providing clever insight into how the trials of Austen’s life were revealed through her books." ―Publishers Weekly

"Few things draw disparate people together so quickly as discovering they love the same writers. Few writers cement such friendships as deeply as Austen does. I believe that the readers of Jenner's book will fall in love with the readers inside Jenner's book, all of us thinking and dreaming of Austen the whole while. What could be better? Nothing, that's what! A wonderful book, a wonderful read." ―Karen Joy Fowler, New York Times bestselling author of The Jane Austen Book Club

"I can’t remember the last time I was so utterly charmed by a novel as I am with The Jane Austen Society. Natalie Jenner creates a world populated with characters who come together to preserve Jane Austen’s home in the village of Chawton after WW II. And in so doing she explores love and grief and hope, all while plunging us headfirst into Austen’s words. A celebration of the human spirit and the power of stories, I just love this book!" ―Ann Hood, New York Times bestselling author of Comfort and The Obituary Writer

"Natalie Jenner's lovely debut novel, The Jane Austen Society, is a charming, yet bittersweet tale about the power of literature ― the beloved Jane Austen in particular ― to heal and elevate the human spirit in the aftermath of World War II.” ―Marie Benedict, New York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room

"Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is an extremely impressive debut novel populated with fully-developed, nuanced characters that resonate with the kind of humanity that made Ms. Austen's stories so universal and timeless." ―Mark Sullivan, bestselling author of Beneath a Scarlet Sky

"Fans of The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society, which tells the story of an eclectic group of people in a post-World War II English village who come together to save the beloved author's home and legacy. Author Natalie Jenner has penned a charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." ―Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

"The Jane Austen Society is a joyous novel. Written beautifully from the first sentence to the last, Natalie Jenner casts a spell that will have you falling in love with each of her lovingly-drawn characters, with the charming English village in which the story is set, and with Jane Austen herself. I read it straight through, relishing every word and regretting only that it eventually had to end. With tears still in my eyes from the perfect closing scene, I ran to pull a Jane Austen novel from my bookshelf, eager to remain in the magical world Natalie Jenner conjured. In a time where it is so easy to feel we are all at odds with one another, The Jane Austen Society is a beautiful reminder that connection and care are at the heart of the human experience." ―Kim van Alkemade, New York Times bestselling author of Orphan #8 and Bachelor Girl

"Prepare to meet 'three or four families in a country village' who embrace their passion and form a literary society in honor of an author whose enduring appeal, after 200 years, reminds us of what should be paramount in our lives: compassion, love, and reading!! The Jane Austen Society is an uplifting tribute to its inspiration and the nobility of the human spirit. Natalie Jenner could be the next Helen Simonson.” ―Laurel Ann Nattress, editor of Jane Austen Made Me Do It and Austenprose.com

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
425 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on June 22, 2020
Verified Purchase
85 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 28, 2020
Verified Purchase
43 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 29, 2020
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 30, 2020
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 26, 2020
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 14, 2020
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 30, 2020
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 6, 2020
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse