Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 3,793 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 5,844 reviews
on June 30, 2015
The book is listed as a LARGE PRINT book. Rather than LARGE PRINT, it is at best a medium typeface book. Compared to other LARGE PRINT books that we own, we were very disappointed to open this book and see a smaller font than we expected. Since it did not meet our needs, we donated it to our local library.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2017
Despite proudly sporting Edmund Dulac's name on the cover, this edition does not contain Dulac's Jane Eyre illustration series and it's unclear why he's noted as being associated with this edition (no engravings, etc.). The book itself is fine and interesting as an optical reproduction of the 1922 print, but it's overpriced given the lack of illustrations and the print quality itself (e.g., non-period binding, cheap paper, etc.). I love Jane Eyre and will enjoy this book, but the marketing of Dulac in association with this printing despite any evidence of his work in the finished product has the feel of a bait and switch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
About the Norton Critical Edition: Great edition. Last one that Charlotte Bronte edited herself, with very useful footnotes and a plethora of additional materials.

About the book itself: I am unworthy to review Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre, but I'll say this: They just don't write books like this anymore. Impeccable development of both main and minor characters. Jane Eyre is a strong, yet multi-faceted and very human character who is a true heroine for both Bronte's and modern times. Edward Fairfax Rochester is also not a paper cutout of a love interest, but a complex and very defined fictional man, to whom, just as we are to Jane, we are only more endeared because of blunders and flaws. Bronte's understanding of human psychology is impressive and evident in her storytelling and in the machinations of her characters, and I dare say ahead of her time. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2017
This old classic is a classic for a reason. IF I read it in high school I don't remember it. So I enjoyed a delightful read over several days, savouring the descriptions, enjoying the character development as well as the plot. At first I thought it was a children's book, but after reading it, I think the children of today would have a hard time understanding many of the beautiful uses of the English language that Charlotte Bronte perfected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2010
"The Librarian: Return to King Solomon's Mines" includes a fiery scene in a subterranean chamber. "Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade" requires our hero to make a leap of faith from a rocky pinnacle above a seemingly bottomless chasm. "The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen" features Sean Connery as Allan Quatermain leading an uneasy alliance of unusual heroes to foil a fiendish plot. J.R.R. Tolkien has Hobbits Frodo Baggins and Samwise Gange pass through dark passages inhabited by a devouring creature by the name of "She." Joseph Conrad's "Heart of Darkness" glimpses a mysterious and powerful queen dwelling on the Dark Continent, Each of these fantastic scenes excites the viewer's or reader's senses, stirs the adrenalin, and captivates the imagination, yet none is original. Each may owe its inspiration to Haggard's amazing novel SHE: A HISTORY OF ADVENTURE.

It seems as though H. Rider Haggard not only created a thrilling tale of adventure bordering on the supernatural but also sowed many seeds that later blossomed into additional captivating tales by authors and film writers who followed him.

Considering nothing more than its plot, the novel SHE offers the reader an intriguing, suspenseful, galloping, action-filled story enhanced by a goodly measure of shadowy and mysterious characters--as well as a strong but human hero, Holly; a courageous but fallible quasi-hero, Leo; and a loyal but destructible servant, Job. The non-stop action and the mystery of what may befall our protagonists around the next bend of the river or the next summit of the mountain or the next turning of the tunnel make the novel a true "page turner" from cover to cover. There is, of course, absolutely nothing wrong with enjoying this story at the plot level alone, for it provides an enjoyable, entertaining read, but there is far more to this book than just its plot, for it is filled with symbolism and allegory that can add to the reader's enjoyment.

In her introduction to SHE, Margaret Atwood, an excellent author in her own right, points out a number of possible symbolic interpretations of some of the names that appear in the work. The Amahaggar tribe of followers of She suggests the word "hag" and "also conflates the Latin root for 'love' with the name of Abraham's banished wilderness-dwelling concubine, Hagar...." The name of the ancient, ruined city of Kor brings to mind the French word "coeur," or heart, as well as "corpse." Holly is a particularly interesting character, physically ugly but strong and resolute. In heraldry, holly is said to symbolize truth, and Holly seems to remain the most truth-seeking character in the story. His character is constantly seeking the truth of eternity, of the meaning of life (and its cognate, death), and of whether man should attempt to control Nature.

Obviously, one can also analyze the story from standpoint of Freudian psychology and can surmise what he wishes about whether or not Haggard is expressing a deep internal conflict concerning male/female relationships. If one takes the protagonist Holly as the author's avatar, it is only a short leap to say that the writer is expressing the hopelessness, longing, and emotional pain of loving an unattainable woman, although it strikes me that is too simplistic an interpretation.

In brief, the novel SHE offers the reader an engrossing story line as well as the opportunity to interpret the characters, settings and actions as symbols with deeper, more universal meanings, not to mention the opportunity to see the source that has inspired quite a number of subsequent books and movies. I should venture to say that anyone who enjoys a fast-moving adventure with a touch of the supernatural or at least of the inexplicable will find SHE a very entertaining read. I have only one quibble with the text and that is that I wish the dialog, which is ostensibly a translation of Arabic and Greek with now and then a touch of Latin, had less "thou" and "thee" in it. Haggard's desire to make even the translated dialog sound antique results instead in a measure of artificiality. However, even with that criticism, I enjoyed the book and heartily recommend it to anyone who enjoys The Lord of the Rings, the Indiana Jones stories, and books or movies of such genre.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2016
This book was purchased for my grandaughter who is not much of a reader. She sits down with each new Manga bvook and goes thru cover to cover. Based on that it is a great investment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2013
It was with reticence, reluctance and skepticism that I took on this literary masterpiece, fearing it would prove as seemingly boring and tedious as were the other works by the Bronte sisters I was assigned to read some 25-30 yrs ago. Thankfully I've matured in the interim, not only through the graying of the beard and loss of hair but also in literary taste and the ability to comprehend more of life's complexities...such as Victorian era literature. Bronte's 'Jane Eyre' proved every bit the superior classic as others have stated. While there's no need for me to parrot the accolades which have already been written, I will make one observation: what really struck me about Jane Eyre was the elegance of the language and the writing. Bronte's style is unlike anything I've read from the modern day, and I have to believe it is superior to many a writer from by-gone eras. Nevertheless, even with the complexities of Bronte's writing style and use of vocabulary with which many today are doubtlessly unfamiliar, she masterfully avoids alienating the serious reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have been collecting The Easton Press Collector's Editions for several years now and consider them to be one of the more exquisite and beautiful book collections in the market. Nothing gives me more pleasure than to gaze upon the beautiful bound books, each having that distinctive leather-bound smell, and of course, the gorgeous illustrations that accompany these editions. Aside from scouring used bookstores, I have also been lucky enough to find some of the Easton Press titles on Amazon and this Easton Press Collector's Edition of Emily Brontë's "Wuthering Heights" did not disappoint. The book, purchased via a third party seller here, arrived in almost mint condition (even the bookplate sticker, which I found among the pages, had not been peeled off and placed on the inside cover by the previous owner). The gilt-edging on the cover and back is in a beautiful gold, and the book itself is bound in genuine leather and is a grayish black. Most of the Easton Press Collector's Editions come in distinctive colors, all of which are bound in genuine leather, so they not only make for handsome additions to one's personal library, but are also heirloom quality, and of course, make great gifts for bibliophiles.

This book is part of the Easton Press series titled "The 100 Greatest Books Ever Written". The book contains color lithographs by Barnett Freedman and was published in 1980. There is a frontispiece portrait of Emily Brontë specially commissioned for this edition. The artist is Barbara Sparks. This edition also includes:
The Biographical Notice of Ellis and Acton Bell by Currer Bell (Charlotte Brontë)
An Editor's Preface to the New Edition of Wuthering Heights (1850)
A diagram depicting key players in the story
The text of "Wuthering Heights" which is based on the Oxford edition (with the original printer's errors corrected)

All in all, this is a handsome leather-bound edition of one of the greatest works of English literature.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2016
Jane Eyre is a classic for a reason. I'm a bestselling romance author and routinely return to classics just to enjoy how superbly they are written and characterized. Jane Eyre is a particular favorite of mine. Narrated in Jane's voice, the reader gets to see the unfolding of the plot from inside her head. I especially enjoy how she comes to fall in love with the dark, broody Mr. Rochester. The plot keeps me interested even after multiple readings (and seeing various movie versions) and the ending is extremely emotionally satisfying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2016
For me, this is THE Book; I've read it about every five years or so for the last seventy-five years (yes, that's right, but who's counting?), and now I have it on Kindle. It really has everything, romance, melodrama - and above all it has Jane herself. Here she is at ten years old:

"The Rev. Mr Brocklehurst speaks to Jane: `Do you know where the wicked go after death?' `They go to hell,' was my ready and orthodox answer. `And what is hell? Can you tell me that?' `A pit full of fire.' `And should you like to fall into that pit, and to be burning there for ever?' `No, sir.' `What must you do to avoid it?' I deliberated for a moment; my answer, when it did come, was objectionable: ` I must keep in good health, and not die.'"

Wonderful Jane!
No good outlining the plot - everybody knows about the mad wife in the attic - but it's the second half which has the surprises: Jane offering to go with the missionary to India, not as his wife but as his assistant, extraordinary for that day and age.
This is a really really good read for all ages; I get something new out of it every time. And a happy ending - what more can one ask?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here