BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
37
Japanese Inn
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$23.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on April 9, 2016
I read this book while traveling in Japan, following some recent studies of Japanese history and culture. The combination greatly enhanced my trip and my understanding of some of the exhibits in museums, castles, temples and shrines.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2016
OVER THE YEARS I'VE READ MR. STATLER'S WONDERFUL BOOK AT LEAST FOUR TIMES; MY LITTLE POCKET BOOK WAS QUITE FRAYED. HOW DELIGHTED I WAS TO RECEIVE THE LARGER FORMATTED EDITION FROM AMAZON! THANK YOU! I'VE PASSED THIS FASCINATING ANECDOTAL HISTORY OF THE MINAGUCHI-YA (MINAGUCHI INN) AROUND TO A NUMER OF FRIENDS. UNANIMOUS DELIGHT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2016
A great read, informative, moves along. Spans hundred of years of Japanese history from the first Shogunate to post WWII. This is my third time reading it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2015
Having spent my early years in Japan as a child in the 1950s (my father serving in the military), I have remained very interested in its history and its people. Japanese Inn brings the country to life through the lives of a family through several generations. A truly captivating read and is highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
Wonderful book. I'm going to Japan and will make it a point to stop off in ths area and hopefully see the Inn which is now a small museum.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2014
This story wanders through centuries of Japanese history, from the location of an inn on the pilgrimage highway between Tokyo and Koyoto. It is not spectacularly written, but it is worth reading, partly for the post WWII perspective of the author, who lived in Japan early in their recovery period.
You won't stay up late reading it, but you will enjoy it to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2015
Nicely woven story telling,especially for those interested in Japanese culture. Think I'll be reading it again soon.
Hope to find more books by Mr Stapler.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2014
A readable account of historical Japan written by an US occupying officer as his curiosity about the inn at which he staying,having been in continuous operation for many years by the same family, is piqued.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
Since it's out of print and all the copies available are very old and, therefore, very musty, you need to have taken your allergy pills, and maybe even wear a mask. But it's worth a few sneezes and watery eyes. I'm fascinated by Japan and its histoy and culture and this is not a book full of dull facts, but a lively story of an inn and a culture across the centuries to post WW11.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2017
Superb introduction into Japanese history and culture for the westerner.
Statler's love of Japan exhilarates.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Japanese Inn
$90.00

Need customer service? Click here