Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 43 reviews
on May 23, 2015
Very interesting book. A little less technical information than I wanted, but otherwise quite interesting. Great information on Japanese techniques. I would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
I tracked this book on Amazon for a long time, after hearing so many good reviews of it from various knife forums. But all the copies that could be found (sparse) were at least $250 or more. I found a hardback copy here new for under $20 I think. Couldn't be happier.

About 6 months ago, I stumbled upon one, in hardback for a cheap price ( i think somewhere near $40) and I added it to my cart and checked out, only to have the purchase refunded, stating the book was indefinitely backordered.

My only criticism of the text is it spends more time giving you recipes and methods of cutting seafood that I'll never eat. It would have been nicer if there were more bits of history and the making of the knives. But, I realize, that's not what the title of the book is about. It's about techniques and recipes. Not history. Still a great book. Not worth more than $45 or so. I was happy getting it for around $20.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
I have been a professional chef for over thirty years and this book had plenty to teach me about knife construction and etiquette especially considering the Japanese perspective on things. The different types of steel, manufacturing techniques and cutting styles were all explained and it has changed my outlook on buying completely. I can recommend this book to anyone serious about knife skills and manufacturing detail.It's a chef-fing must!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2011
Before investing time and money in a Japanese carbon steel knife, it's a good idea to read this book. (see full review at [...])

The book has lovely pics, being a Kodansha International publication. It's also full of very handy tips on how to wield the blade (p.18, 19), sharpen and take care of it, how to buy, and even some good recipes. It's a little short on detail on the knife making process, which is a most fascinating cycle of "heating, hammering, annealing, quenching, cooling," (p. 8) which makes the blade both durable and hard. But this is a practical book, and has many of the Japanese cutting methods like the Jabara giri (Serpent Belly Cut), Sasagaki (Shaving or Whittling used for burdock root), Chasen giri ("Tea Whisk" cut), Kazari giri (Decorative Cuts), skinning fish and sashimi cuts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2016
Very authoritative book on the correct use of Japanese kitchen knives. It centers on the main three knives (yanagiba, usuba and debate), but that's about all you need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2016
I have seen many books on japanese food that are very beginner, this is not that book. If you are interested in sushi, buy this book. Written very well by a master.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2016
Beautiful book. Looks interesting. Got it for my adult son to go with a knife his brother brought him from Japan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2016
Great book with knife information, technique information and recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2009
i have to take exception to the two star review by "has". this title merits 4 1/2 stars at least! first, it's a beautiful BOOK, just what you would expect from kodansha, and at its amazon price this book is a steal. i am a professional chef and if you notice, the present generation of chefs is into japanese cutlery big time. but japanese kitchen ware requires re-education on how to go about cutting and slicing japanese style, as there are major differences from western style

with this book you get the photos and the explication in english! i have many books on this subject on my shelves and i've learned from them---with difficulty, as they are all in japanese. now we have the best of both worlds. this is a slim book and the author does not cover techniques with the myriad of specialized knives in the japanese repertoire. but mastering the techniques with the three basic knives he writes about will give any kitchen amateur or professional a really good grounding in what is both a science and an art.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2016
Very good and detailed explanation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse