Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Jaws
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

  • Jaws
  • Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 28, 2005
...is that this IS the original soundtrack recording. This is the same recording used in the actual film. The old soundtrack released was a re-recording, done by John Williams especially for the soundtrack release, hence variations in track lengths and tempos when compared to this release.

Jaws is a fantastic score - one of John Williams' best, and certainly one of the best scores ever composed. And it is wonderful to finally hear the music as it is heard in the film. The old release had its points, but the sound was muffled and full of tape hiss. This new release has better sound and more music. Recommended.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2003
I would like to respond to unclesparky's review. You seem to be confused as to the content of the 2000 release of the Jaws soundtrack. It is this recording that contains the original scores tapes as heard in the movie, not the original album release, which was a rerecording of some of the cues as "concert" arrangements. You seem to have it backwards.
Now, as for my opinion, I personally detest rerecordings and always want to hear music as it is heard in the film. This album does a magnificent job of restoring the original master tapes. The cues are short, however, so if you don't like short cues, you might want the original CD. Either way, you can't go wrong, but purists should buy this album, while people who are on the fence should probably go for the older album. Great score either way, well deserving of the Academy Award.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2000
In the early 1970s, the craft of the film score was nearly dead. Despite the efforts of established composers like Jerry Goldsmith and Elmer Bernstein, small combos and electronic instrumentation were the rage. More than any other single factor, the popularity of John Williams' mid-'70s soundtracks re-elevated film composition. His splendid music for disaster epics like "The Towering Inferno" were auspicious beginnings, but "Jaws" set the standard. Its popular appeal was staggering, and this newly expanded disc illustrates exactly what it was Williams was doing so well - so much better in fact than anyone else.

The old 1975 LP (and subsequent CD) was truncated but still conveyed the richness and excitement of this seminal movie score. This new, expanded edition nearly doubles the amount of music to be savored; the score has been filled out with a great deal of music not on the original soundtrack album as well as portions cut from the final film. The CD has a breathtaking clarity that brings the subtlest sounds forward and makes this essential movie score even more exciting. I was delighted to discover that a few new inclusions, like "Father and Son," "Into the Estuary" and "Between Attacks" contain some of my own personal favorite musical cues in the film. Collectors will notice that some of the tracks as heard in the movie ("Montage," for instance) are slightly different - sometimes briefer, often much better - than their corresponding analog (LP) selections. Many thanks to Laurent Bouzereau, Shawn Murphy and DECCA for presenting us with this holy grail - the complete and definitive "Jaws" - at last.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2010
I am giving this disc 4 stars and not 5. I will give my reasons shortly. But let me clear up a few things for people considering buying this disc.

First off: You should buy it, no doubt about it.

I have a very expensive high resolution "audio only" reference system. It has the capability of producing a full range majestic sound stage if the recording has the chops.

This re-master of Jaws has the chops. The 24 bit re-master is superb. I hear a real orchestra with depth, clarity, delineation of instruments, accurate timbre and real dynamics. As far as quality of recording, on this disc we are hearing Jaws with more clarity than we are likely to ever get.

Secondly: Don't be confused. This is the "actual" music from the "movie." This is the music that played "in the movie," the "actual" music, not a reinterpretation of the themes. So what you hear on this disc is exactly what you will hear if you throw on the DVD and watch it. It is a pleasure to finally hear this music that till now has never been available on CD.

Some wonderful musical moments from the movie that were never presented on the MCA disc are finally here on this Decca release. One of my favorites is,

"Into the Estuary" This is the music that compliments the attack on the son of Brody that is playing in the "pond" which is believed to be a safe body of water separated from the ocean. This is the moment we first get a glimpse of the massive size of the shark as it grabs a man in a tiny row boat and pulls him into the depths. The cue ends with Brody looking out at the dark and mysterious sea after pulling his son from the water who lies safe, but in shock at his feet. The music swells and emphasizes the ominous power of nature and how small man is before its movements and Brody's mounting desire to hunt the shark.

Now my gripes and why I can not give this disc 5 stars:

Gripe 1: The cues/cuts on this disc are not in the order they appeared in the film. So you can't throw the disc on, close your eyes and relive the movie. John Williams decided to put the songs in an order that would create a complete orchestral suite of sorts. But in my opinion he did not succeed. He should have left well enough alone and simply put the cuts in the proper order so we could relive the movie through the music. This is a small gripe as it is easy to rip the disc and reorder it, but why should I have to do that?

Gripe 2: John Williams did a wonderful thing, he made that incredible MCA reinterpretation re-orchestration of the movie cues, and it is amazing as many of you know. The original MCA CD is not the music "in the movie" it is the music of the movie transformed by John into 12 full size, glorious, full bore, take no prisoners, orchestral works. These are original and unique arrangements of the main cues of the movie, and they are powerful.

MCA vs. Decca comparison,

One of my favorite MCA cuts: "Preparing the Cage," is a 3:24 masterpiece of power, it builds and builds and builds. On the Mecca CD this cut is only 2.00 long and does not blast into the stratosphere like it does on the MCA CD. The MCA CD despite its very poor recording quality is nevertheless a unique and powerful presentation that must be owned along with the Mecca CD to have the full Jaws experience. If only they would do a 24 bit re-master of the MCA version.

Another comparison: I love the MCA 2:46 Promenade. But on the Decca it is only 1:31 and though perfectly accurate to the movie, it never gains the thematic glory that the MCA version does.

I have been spoiled by the MCA power themes but I still love this new Decca CD as well.

For a pure orchestral power experience the 12 cuts on the MCA CD are without a doubt complete themes that succeed. But for a movie reliving experience the Decca disc is the CD to have, though a rip and reorder of the cues will be needed if you want the cues to follow the logical progression of the movie.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2006
For those who have watched the movie Jaws (ask yourself, who hasn't) will know that one of many key elements that made the movie a huge success was the fantastic score John Williams did for it. This cd captures all the music from the movie perfectly, with some new elements thrown in that are not found in the film.

The linear notes are bright and colourful and provide some interesting information, which gives the overall package a nice touch. The overall cd package is certainly not a rushed effort and is worth every cent. A highly recommended purchase for those who love their soundtracks or anyone who wants to relive the film through the music.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2014
Big fan of the movie and the soundtrack for many, many years and replayed the previous release a ton, but this is the one I'd always hoped to have. There was so much great music that was previously left out, like the touching scene between Brody and his son at the dinner table ('Father and Son'), that is finally here our enjoyment. Maybe John Williams at his best; I couldn't be happier with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2015
I've been searching for a very long time to find this particular version of this soundtrack. And what a bonus to have added music not on the original album (and a couple of things not in the movie). Very pleased with this purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2016
Good collection of the soundtrack for this interesting movie or yesteryears. The CD does not include Richard Dreyfuss' awkward but interesting singing of "Show Me The Way To Go Home." All fine thanks to John Williams' imaginative writing and skillful orchestration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2000
Finally, after years of waiting, John Williams' soberb score for one of Steven Spielberg's great films is presented as it always should be: complete and uncut. It is much more music from the first edition, and one of the best things in this anniversary album is the fact that the music is taken directly from the master tapes. The music composed by John for "Jaws" is one of the rare moments in film music history that a score is elevated on an art level. Since Bernard Herrmann, there has never been such a great composer, that could understand a film and capture all its essence. That's what John Williams does in every work he puts his hands on, but "Jaws" is probably the summit of his creativity, sense of humor and talent. An exceptionally illustrated and carefully colorful blue booklet comes with the CD, presenting us some exclusive stills from the film plus a wonderful photograph of a recording session at the time of the making of the film. The best of John Williams, the film composer of our time; an experience, as Laurent Bouzereau puts it on the text of the booklet, that should make your own jaw drop!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2011
for the real original soundtrack recording of JAWS to come out. It took twenty-five years but it finally happened
and I could not have been happier. I bought the original MCA album (actually, I was only 13 in 1975 so my mom got it for me) and was both happy and disappointed. Happy that I actually had the music from the film and not so happy that it wasn't the "whole damn thing." It was only Williams' re-recording of portions he selected and upon hearing them I thought it was a bit different than what I heard in the film. only later I found out why.
JAWS did a couple of things for me. First, it made me aware of film music and the power it can hold and I considered Williams my favorite composer until a year later. Second, it made me aware that Robert Shaw is still my all-time favorite actor. But here the music must take front and center.
It is truly one of the most iconic musical compositions of the last century that became so heavily entrenched in popular culture that virtually everyone knows this music when they hear it. John Williams really hit it out of the park and the Decca release of the actual session performances is one of the most significant album releases of 2000.
After scoring perhaps the three most successful disaster films of the 1970s it was only with his music for JAWS did
Williams become a force to be reckoned with. The original recordings contain a more raw primal element in the performances with the most ominous being the two note shark ostinato which is the main theme of the film. It was so
simple in execution and so effective that it earned an Academy Award despite its similarity to Bernard Herrmann's jarring string motifs from PSYCHO.
JAWS is a much more accessible film score in my opinion and has reached a far-reaching audience and rightfully so.
While some may argue that the score is not really an easy listen in its complete form then try listening to Elliot
Goldenthal's ALIEN 3 music. The music that Williams composed here is much more melodically enjoyable and it is easy to hear some homages to Korngold in some of the shark hunt music ("Man Against Beast" and "The Great Shark Chase"). I always termed Williams as more of a traditionalist in regards to his scoring style as opposed to the more modernist leanings of my top favorites Jerry Goldsmith and Alex North. By traditionalist I mean that a lot of his scores are leitmotif driven as the composers of Hollywood's Golden Age were.
Not that its a bad thing. I personally think that Williams best works are this score, BLACK SUNDAY, THE FURY, and
SUPERMAN. His music for JAWS displays his more groundbreaking ideas: the simplicity and primal power of the shark theme, the eerieness of "Quint's Tale", and the swashbuckling shark hunt music. His music here has a rawness that his later scores after STAR WARS no longer seem to have. Like any true artist his style has changed over the years and I find that I prefer his fresher sound in scores such as this one and BLACK SUNDAY. Personally, I don't find the complete score a hard listen at all. It even features some music that wasn't even used in the finished cut of the film so it comes as a pleasant surprise. Nowadays I find a lot of music in his scores to be a bit on the decorative side but here he really got at the guts of the film which is what every composer working in film is supposed to do. JAWS may well be one of the few perfect scores written for a film and works ingeniously well while at the same time stands on its own as a serious musical work.
For those who think his music for JAWS 2 was better I strongly disagree. The music was a bit over the top given some of the plot elements of the sequel but it just doesn't hold the raw power of the original. The Decca release should be in any self-respecting film music lovers collection. They just don't write 'em like this anymore!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse