Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 83 reviews
on May 25, 2017
I thought this book was well written and dealt with a lot of different perspectives and events,very much worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2007
I'm a long-time Star Wars collector with a definite focus on Jedi/Sith and the Force. This is a great resource for anyone looking for the history of both the Jedi and the Sith, as well as a detailed overview of the Force itself. The in-universe perspective told from several authors' points of view is well-written and very true to the characters' established personnas.

The art is extremely good, with lots of great pictures detailing most of the important events in Star Wars history. I'm not an art-first person, but this book easily blows one away with it's incredible pics.

If you're a causal Star Wars fan who always wanted to know more about the Jedi, the Sith, and the Force, this is for you.

As a GM, I'm getting this as a Holiday gift for my entire group. I feel it's that useful for my players to have as a reference.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2016
Gave a detailed explanation for different era in the old timeline and jedi involvement throughout each era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2015
This Star Wars source book is a great insight for any fan into the two opposing sides of the Force , and the users who wield it and their history , as well as other force teachings . The book has beautiful artwork that depicts notable events and characters of both the Jedi and Sith , personally a must have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2016
Great book. Love how it fills in the gaps and fleshed out the events of the Star Wars Universe...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2008
This book is necessary for all fans. It's like.. the Star Wars Bible!
It's a canon in-universe source as well!
------

Wookieepedia Page - [...]

------
So Basically This is a Historical (in-universe) Text. It is written by Tionne Solusar in the year 40 A.B.Y; for those who do not know she is a Jedi Historian. Her subject is to explain the conflict between the Jedi and the Sith from it's beginnings to as far as she can tell (40aby, but another takes over in the end to tell the Legacy comics stuff which is RAD). She is a Historian first and a Jedi second she says basically and she takes a neutral stance on the facts.

There are also, First-Hand Accounts from characters. Like just straight-up transcripts of Holocrons. There's things like Mace Windu explaining Vaapad, Luke Skywalker expressing his views on the Dark Side and the mistakes he made during his training (Episode V), Dooku giving an account of pretty much everything he did becoming a Sith and his views on the force. [some of these have completely changed the way I view parts of the movies]

Part 1 is an incredible timeline, and the basic history of everything from the 100yrs Darkness, the Great Hyperspace War etc up to Luke Skywalker's Duel with Lumiya.

Part 2 is about the Jedi. You get things like Cin Drallig's actual classes (from a recording), Descriptions of Force-Abilities, all the different lightside views on the force, Lightsaber Combat etc.

That's all I'll go into for more info check out the Wookieepedia Page

The best part is the Index in the back. If you aren't convinced you need this book. Go to Borders or whatever read the Intro by Tionne Solusar and lookup some favorite characters in the index to see how many pages they are on cause they really crammed almost everything into this.

Oh and the art is just.... Incredible. When I got mine I spent 2 hours just looking at the pictures alone.. It's amazing
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2014
Way more fun that I could have imagined
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
I did thoroughly enjoy this book ... mostly. I like to try to stay close to what is most commonly considered as Star Wars canon and unfortunately this book destroys that on too many occasions. One of the worst examples is a story told by Leia about how she and Luke fought Vader side-by-side AFTER the battle of Yavin. Worse, they didn't yet know they were related to him. Come on people, did you even see the movies? And even worse still, this unbelievable story was actually saved into a Jedi Holocron. Did I miss the "alternate reality" movie which completely changed Star Wars history? And of course, Leia died during this battle with her already dead dad, but Luke resurrected her with a crystal. Come on authors, Star Wars is a great story as-is. It's not necessary to reinvent it into something different.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2015
I'm a big Star Wars fan. This however, blew my mind. Star Wars as a whole has developed from just 7 movies into a whole parallel Universe. Everything from simple to even complex details were planned out and created.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2016
Thank you for this item! It shipped fast, and came as described. I highly recommend this seller to anyone! Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse