Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Gifts for Dad Shop Popular Services twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now Ellen

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 35 reviews
on December 1, 2015
I have read the other reviews very care fully, and therefore my comments are as follows.
Without doubt Jo Stafford was the very best at all of her interpretations. Other singers did not have her wonderful control and expression.
To the lady who gave this collection 1 star, just because this version of "Blue Moon" did not have the Pied Pipers as an accompanists, it
is available but on another 4 CD set released I think in 2011. To give this collection 1 star is ridiculous, just because 1 song is not what you expected.
So, let me say this is a superb set, very well restored. To those who didn't like the recorded quality, go out and buy some better audio equipment,
yours is obviously deficient some where. Nigel
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
This was the only collection I could find that includes every classic by Jo Stafford. I didn't want a greatest hits collection that left out "Autumn In New York" or other romantic ballads like "No Other Love", "Make Love to Me", "Moonlight In Vermont" and "Wouldn't It Be Lovely". Each disc represents an era in Jo's career and follows it chronologically with the hits of that time. It's a comprehensive collection of songs sung by the smoothest female voice I've ever heard.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2016
Growing up in the 40s 50s etc. Jo Staffords voice was the voice that I remember looking forward to listening to. Her warm clear singing came from a trained background.On playing these discs time disappears and every nuance and note comes back. Thanks for giving us what good singing and lyrics mean in this time of vulgar loud and empty entertainment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2012
Jo Stafford's clear, clean, perfect-pitch voice has entertained generations now, and rolls on with this excellent collection summarizing the major recorded performances of her career. During WWII an American officer in the heart of the Pacific battle zone wrote to Stafford telling her that her recordings were the only thing that kept him calm, retained his focus, and reminded him that there was a world back there worth fighting for. Superb voice, superb pitch, superb American songstress--you'll value this economical but extensive collection of her top recordings!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2015
love it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2010
Wow! This is an incredible 4 CD set for a very reasonable price. If you're a fan of Jo Stafford's it's a must have and if you're not familiar with her music but enjoy music of the '40s and '50s with great lyrics and the big orchestra sound, and a singer with an incredible voice, you can't go wrong with this set. It's been remastered so the sound quality is terrific.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2015
Excellent album by this fine singer - songs are varied, instrumentation is first - rate!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2015
It just doesn't get better than Jo Stafford, every song is delightful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
Whatever Jo sings, turns out to be a classic!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
My Dad is a fan of Jo Stafford, so I bought him this collection of CDs. He has listened to the collection twice and has picked out some of his old favorites. He did say that not all the songs are great, but he likes his favorite songs. Thanks Amazon for these old classics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse