Listen Now
Go Unlimited
Start your 30-day free trial
Listen to any song, anywhere with Amazon Music Unlimited. Learn More
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Buy Used
FREE Shipping on orders over $25. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Vintage Box
Condition: Used: Very Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

John Barleycorn Must Die Remastered

Extra Tracks, Reissued, Remastered

4.7 out of 5 stars 174 customer reviews

See all 21 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
John Barleycorn Must Die Amazon Music Unlimited
New from Used from
Audio CD, Extra tracks, Original recording reissued, February 27, 2001
$5.78 $4.62
$79.95 $14.90

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

After his short-lived Blind Faith project, Steve Winwood re-formed Traffic with Wood and Capaldi and released this 1970 classic. But what's really special about this reissue are the unreleased tracks: the songs I Just Want You to Know and Sittin' Here Thinkin' of My Love , and Glad and Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring recorded live at the Fillmore East in November 1970!

Traffic's third studio album is also its third best, ranking below the band's superb second record (1968's Traffic) and its psychedelic debut (1968's Mr. Fantasy). The depth of those albums came from having two superior songwriters, Steve Winwood and Dave Mason; by John Barleycorn, Winwood was leading a trio that included Chris Wood on horns and Jim Capaldi on drums. Winwood now supplied guitar as well as keyboards, and songs such as "Glad" and "Freedom Rider" reflected the trio's fondness for instrumental jams. But the 1970 album is remembered most for the title tune, a traditional folk song blessed with one of the finest vocals of Winwood's long career. --John Milward

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Glad
  2. Freedom Rider
  3. Empty Pages
  4. I Just Want You To Know
  5. Stranger To Himself
  6. John Barleycorn
  7. Every Mothers Son
  8. Sittin' Here Thinkin' Of My Love

Product details

  • Audio CD (February 27, 2001)
  • Original Release Date: February 27, 2001
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Extra tracks, Original recording reissued, Original recording remastered
  • Label: Island
  • ASIN: B000059T1E
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 174 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #4,354 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Traffic Store

Customer Reviews

Top customer reviews

January 10, 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
December 14, 2011
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
March 19, 2011
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: dave mason, the blues band, blues band live, studio albums