Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning animestrike animestrike animestrike  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 13 reviews
on February 16, 2005
In 1974 Johnny claimed this episode as his favorite show, the trouble was that the tapes of pre 1972 shows had been erased by NBC. Because of that, this was never included in his anniversary specials. Then a color kino-scope 16mm print was discovered at the Armed Forces Radio & Television Service archives. This was great news!

The AFTRS kept all of their shows on half hour reels, so this show would have been on three reels. The trouble here is that the middle reel is still missing. 20 some minutes in you go to a commercial break while talking to Judy Carne, and then come back to Bob Hope sitting next to Johnny. Later Bob makes a quick reference to a "comedy sketch" which we never saw. Hopefully someday the missing reel will be found.

Another problem is the sound quality, it is so muffled at times that dialogue is hard to hear. Audio Engineers should have been able to clear this up some. I would suggest not listening to this from the small TV speakers.

Otherwise this is a MUST HAVE for any Johnny Carson - Tonight Show fan!

It IS the BEST show of the series, and it is even mentioned in the TV Guide Johnny Carson Tribute issue of 2/13/05.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2002
This classic "lost" episode of the Johnny Carson show from March 6th 1969 is really an edited version of the show. It is an interesting time capsule of the Johnny Carson show but is only 38 minutes long and the DVD has no extras.Instead of a proper DVD case,it comes in a little booklet style foldout container which is thinner than normal DVD cases.This copy came from a film print that was made of the show for the US Armed Forces Television Network.The picture is slightly grainy but is OK.Dean Martin talks about preparing to go off and act in a new film about to be made called "Airport" with Burt Lancaster. He gets some laughs with George Gobel and a quick-witted Bob Hope. A young Judy Carne of "Laugh In" fame also guests as well as a young Robert Wagner coming on at the last minute. Johnny Carson became part of Americana with his name known world-wide. When he made his last show in 1992,it made the news on entertainment programs around the world. I learnt of him as a child in Australia in the 1960's when his name would pop up in different things like American comic books,entertainment news or on different TV shows like "Get Smart". He had become part of popular culture. His name was even on a Beach Boys song in 1976 on "The Beach Boys Love You" album.This program is interesting and funny but with the short running time is for true Carson fans only. The nostalgia of it all is nice.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2006
as seems to be par for the tonight show releases, as well as others,this dvd is edited so we can see what they deem as the best stuff from a whole episode. i get tired of people deciding for me what i don't need to see. this dvd is billed as a lost episode. the implication is you will see the whole show start to finish...we get about 35 minutes. if i want clips i'll go to a barbershop.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2015
I never bought this. Not sure why its on my page. Wonder if the lady in Texas with same name got this and accounts were switched temporarily. Interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2012
Without a doubt, one of the funniest shows ever to air on broadcast television. Bob Hope, Dean Martin, and George Gobel hijack the show from Johnny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2002
Even though these segments are from film elements...this DVD is well constructed and entertaining! What a GREAT time in TELEVISION! This is when HOLLYWOOD was full of GREAT stars....real stars with Talent! Johnny was the BEST! Leno doesn't even compare to what this show like. At least this DVD will be proof of what a REAL 'TONIGHT SHOW' was like!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2006
This DVD is just awful. The picture is blurry and the voices do not match the lip movement....the volume is low. It's not good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here