Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. Get 10% back on select Bang & Olufsen products Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on March 28, 2015
An extremely well made film, with care for each scene and interaction. The actors are all flawless, and Thandie Newton is exceptional in an early role. The story does not overload you with slave masters' cruelty, so it is something that can be shown to various ages. However, the tone of oppression and slavery at those times in North Carolina is always present - it's clear there was no escaping the social agreement about blacks as less worthy human beings. If you truly feel this, then you can feel the fear inherent in a society of oppressive authority. The important element in the story is August King's awareness of his own moral standards, and his growing determination to follow them against the tide - even when it will cost him more and more of the tangible things that constitute his security in life. This inner dynamic between him and the girl as he comes to know her and understands her experience is the essence of the story. It is wonderful that the story ends on a note of hope for this young girl. Beautifully made and with an impressive musical score as well as the cinematography.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 4, 2016
This is a great film about a Appalachian farmer who finds himself helping a runaway slave escape bondage. In the process he has to undergo many trials and losses. I don't want to spoil the film so I will stop discussing the plot, but the cinematography is great (shot in NC mountains-Pisgah National Forest and the Appalachian trail), the animals/environment are spot on and the "love" story is one that is thankfully touching and not sexual. Honestly I use this film in my classes and it is the "best film you have never seen." This is a must watch and well worth you time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 9, 2014
One of the best films you have never seen! I use this film in both my American History and Appalachian Studies courses. Great cinematography, dialog and character development. The story is of a young man who has recently experienced the death of his wife. He travels down the mountain to trade goods and pay off his farm. On the way back he helps a young escaped slave (Anna). I do not want to give away the film, but it teaches many important character traits. The film was filmed in North Carolina and specifically Pisgah National Forest and Shinning Rock Wilderness area. Well worth the purchase.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 23, 2017
It was a sweet movie that showed the human side of slavery. Jason Patric is a doll of course and I love his seriousness and kindness he portrayed as August King. Thande Newton was lovely as well. It showed that the underground railroad wasn't the only way out of the horrors of slavery and how friendships were also made above ground.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 15, 2014
This is an excellent movie. It shows the development of a good man into a caring and strong man. His own tragedy has made him sensitive to the young slave girl's plight. He also learns that material wealth is not the most important thing in life.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2009
I really enjoyed this movie. The cinematography was breathtaking even while revealing such an ugly subject of slavery and, torture of fellow human beings thought to be no better then animals by an uncivilized mentality of a people who like any other race has sprinkled through out it loving individuals who give hope and possibilities of change for the better within that particular races tragic and debilitating ignorances to a people like themselves. I loved all the actors especially Thandie Newton, she is such an exceptional actress in everything that I have ever seen her in. Jason Patric took my breath away and even provoked a spark of change in my thiking about the possiblities of interracial love, respect and honor. He would change any women of colors mind especially if that character he played was alive and in living color....Oh boy, my goodness!!!!!! The story was refreshing in the end to me showing another story told about slaves who found freedom at the hands of human beings helping other human beings no matter the race or cost to them. I believe there were such like people in that era of pain and Thank God for them then and now.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 19, 2012
At first look, both Jason Patric and Thandie Newton give great performances in this period piece about a widowed young farmer who chooses to help a young runaway slave girl. But this film offers so much more. Beautifully written and filmed the journey is rich in symbol and a powerful story of sacrifice, authentic love and redemption. It demonstrates both the best in human nature, as well as, the worst . . . ultimate goodness and love . . . ultimate evil and selfishness.
Should have been an award winning film!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 28, 2018
Very tasteful depiction of the tragedy of slavery. Very good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 6, 2003
after recently seeing "The Truth About Charlie", I was captivated by a great actress-Thandie Newton. Iwent online to find more of her films and after reading reviews purchased this film. I watched it 5 times the first week. what a phenomenal film about humanity and redemption. jason patric is out standing as a farmer driven by his conscience to help a runaway slave girl. larry drake is so real as the evil slave master, but it's thandie newton who steals the movie becoming so believable as the desperate slave girl. she's an incredible actress, far superior to any out there. i've never seen such chemistry between inter-racial couples in film as mr. patric and miss newton. the reviewerwriting this is of white descent and consider myself very impartial.giving credit to great actresses such as hepburn,fonda,streep,hayward etc. i've never seen an actress get more into character than Thandie Newton.Move over Halle Berry and every actress in film, Thandie Newton holds her own and is a true talent. see her in "Flirting"' "Truth About Charly", "M.I.-2" and see a great talent who is much under-rated.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 19, 2018
Great service Great product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse