Buy new:
$7.99
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Arrives: Sunday, July 12
Fastest delivery: Wednesday, July 8 Details
In Stock.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$7.93
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: SuperBookDeals--
Add to Cart
$11.93
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: Book Depository US
Add to Cart
$7.99
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Magers & Quinn Booksellers
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Juana and Lucas Paperback – March 5, 2019

4.7 out of 5 stars 32 ratings
Book 1 of 2 in the Juana and Lucas Series

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Paperback
$7.99
$3.74 $8.77

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Juana and Lucas
  • +
  • The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind, Young Reader's Edition
Total price: $16.15
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review

Medina’s beautiful, vivid prose conjures the Colombian setting with tactile language...Juana’s narration is also peppered with easy-to-figure-out Spanish words.
—The New York Times Book Review

Through this strong, adventurous, and smart female protagonist, Medina presents an extraordinary story about the many opportunities learning a new language can bring. Full-color illustrations provide excellent depictions of Juana’s life in Bogotá and allow readers to connect with her character and culture. The artwork playfully interacts with dynamic text, which often arcs across the page, employs large fonts for emphasis, and smoothly incorporates Spanish words. Fans of Judy Moody and Lola Levine will absolutely love Juana. This upbeat new series for young readers is a must-buy.
—Booklist (starred review)

As both author and illustrator, Medina is able to integrate the text and illustrations in unique ways, including spreads in which Juana tells us why, for example, she strongly dislikes her school uniform or why Mami is the most important person in her life. Font design is also used creatively, such as when Medina traces the arc of a soccer ball hit hard enough to be sent “across the field.” An essential selection that creates multicultural awareness, has distinguished and appealing design elements, and has a text that is the stuff of true literature.
—School Library Journal (starred review)

Both comfortably familiar (this will be an easy sell for fans of Pennypacker’s Clementine, for instance) and keenly specific in its setting and characters, Juana & Lucas is much needed for the gap it fills in American children’s literature, but it will be much beloved for its warmly depicted family relationships, eminently read-aloud- able high jinks, and sunny protagonist.
—Horn Book (starred review)

Told from Juana's point of view with humor and drama, using capitalized words, periods separating words for emphasis, and a good sprinkling of Spanish words throughout, the book makes clear there's a universality to Juana's story. The ink-and-watercolor cartoon-style illustrations are charming...The real gift of this book comes from presenting a different point of reference to American children who hear only stories of poverty and need coming out of South America.
—Kirkus Reviews

A Colombian girl takes on her greatest challenge—the English language—in this cheery series opener...Medina’s loose, full-color cartoons and interspersed profiles of the people in Juana’s life add to the overall playfulness of the story. It’s an inviting look at life in Colombia, and readers will probably be struck by just how much they have in common with Juana.
—Publishers Weekly

Juana is certain to join spunky, spirited independent young girls like Judy Moody, Junie B. Jones, and Clementine as a beginning chapter book favorite character. A twist on the value of learning multiple languages from a non-American perspective is welcomed.
—School Library Connection

This delightful easy chapter book has much to recommend it: a lively and likable child narrator (entirely credible in her ambivalence about scholastic endeavors), a strong plot trajectory and quick pacing (and a page count that will pass muster with reluctant readers), and a generous number of engaging illustrations that will be in color in the finished book...Both edifying and entertaining, this solid title is a winner.
—Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

The author-illustrator grew up in Colombia and draws on fond memories to lend energy and heart to the many vignettes. Juana expands a sometimes limited view of South America.
—San Francisco Chronicle

“Juana and Lucas” is the kind of book I’d like to see a lot more of.
—A Fuse #8 Production (blog)

About the Author

Juana Medina was born and raised in Bogotá, Colombia. She is the illustrator of Smick! by Doreen Cronin and the author-illustrator of One Big Salad. Juana Medina has studied and taught at the Rhode Island School of Design and now teaches at the Corcoran School of the Arts and Design at George Washington University. She lives in Washington, D.C.

Product details

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
32 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on January 9, 2017
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 8, 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on June 5, 2017
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 23, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 22, 2016
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 27, 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on December 13, 2017
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on January 24, 2017
10 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Amazon Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much for a 6yr old to read
Reviewed in India on October 23, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse