Oil month Automotive HPC Spring Reading Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Country Heat PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Hostiles available to rent Hostiles available to rent Hostiles available to rent  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry



VINE VOICEon April 28, 2007
judy holliday was a unique performer. her uniqueness also painted her into a corner she was able to finally get out of when she recorded her two albums. 'trouble is a man' shows her off as a smoky chanteuse, but 'holliday with mulligan' shows her as a woman with wit, a woman capable of passion not found in her well-known collection of film characters, a woman that was willing to experiment and a woman that was much in love with her collaborator, gerry mulligan. she co-wrote some of the tunes and sings against the non-string arrangements with style and economy.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2013
Known more for her work as an actress and musical comedy star, Holiday was also a fine singer as revealed on this jazz oriented work. Muligan provides the jazz backing and they have chosen pieces that are seldom heard as well as popular standards.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 23, 2013
I wasn't aware she sang until I read her bio. It isa nice addition to my cd collection. I listen to her as I soak in my tub
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 27, 2014
I saw a play about the life of Judy Holliday, and learned that Judy wrote and sang her own songs. Unfortunately, the woman playing Judy sang 100 times better than the real Judy. Mulligan is as brilliant as ever, but then, Judy must sing. I don't recommend this record.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 11, 2016
Great actress but not a great singer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 24, 2015
I greatly respect Judy Holliday and Gerry Mulligan and found this a moving historical record because they wrote and performed some of these forms while she was dying of cancer. She was a great help to enable Mulligan to conquer heroin. But the actual results wasn't okay record. Very spotty but worthwhile for an aficionado
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 11, 2002
I just adore Judy Holiday! As an actress, she was magic. As a singer she is just as magical. True, she doesn't have an amazing range, but she has the ability to sell a song.
This album is such a find, along with the even better "Trouble is a Man". I just LOVE her version of "Lazy" and "What's the Rush" is such a clever sweet tune.
Do yourself a favor and pick up this CD...as well as "Trouble is a Man", and see for yourslef what a truly gifted song stylist she was.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 23, 2003
This album is so good!! It's so good you would think that broadway pianists would know all about it and would have informed their significant others of its existence a little bit sooner!! But no matter - the music is beautiful! It's a shame that so very few of today's artists still listen to this sort of thing and take note of it. It clearly resides in some sort of cultural black hole. And that Judy Holliday! She is one cat that can never be topped, replaced, imitated, mimicked, paid tribute to, emulated or referenced ever again! That's how good she is!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 26, 2014
Judy Holliday was a wonderful actress and sported an I.Q. that went off the charts. Gerry Mulligan loved her. And she died far too young. Having said that, Judy did not have a voice that could sustain an entire album. The arrangements by Mulligan are superb, played by an all-star orchestra. (Listen for the fills by Mel Lewis.) But the album just doesn't come off. Judy is wobbly at times, slightly ahead or behind the beat, and sometimes simply stabs at high notes. Nice try. But acting was her profession.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse