Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 288 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 381 reviews
on September 12, 2015
this is a quote from the back cover: "The original book, published in 1902, contained more than thirty of Kipling's own brilliant illustrations, all of which have been faithfully reproduced in this Aziloth Books edition." "BRILLIANT" and "FAITHFULLY REPRODUCED" IS TOTALLY INACCURATE. The book itself is not large and the inside illustrations are ALL BLACK AND WHITE and SO RIDICULOUSLY SMALL that the reproductive quality is non-existant. The stories and poems are fine. I am SOOOOO DISAPPOINTED when the ILLUSTRATIONS, just as delightful as Kilings writings are impossible to enjoy..even the larger ones are reproduced so badly, fuzzy B&W lines. Some are as small as <1/2" by <1/1/2 " !!!
22 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2017
“Just So Stories” is a collection of 12 children’s stories. The theme that runs through the dozen stories is that they are mostly tall-tale answers for questions that children might have. All but two of them focus on animals and nature, and the two divergent stories deal with the origin of written language. Since it’s such a small collection and the titles tend to synopsize the stories, I’ll include the table of contents below, which may give one greater insight into the nature of the stories.

1.) How the Whale Got his Throat
2.) How the Camel Got his Hump
3.) How the Rhinoceros Got his Skin
4.) How the Leopard Got his Spots
5.) The Elephant’s Child
6.) The Sing-Song of Old Man Kangaroo
7.) The Beginning of the Armadillos
8.) How the First Letter Was Made
9.) How the Alphabet Was Made
10.) The Crab that Played with the Sea
11.) The Cat that Walked by Himself
12.) The Butterfly that Stamped

The edition that I have has a number of black-and-white graphics (block print and line drawn style)—one or two per story. Given the genre, I imagine most editions have some kind of pictures, but your edition’s graphics may vary. A number of the stories include short poetry—usually at the end. The poetry is part of the original Kipling product and so are likely included in all unabridged editions.

I’d recommend this book for those looking for short stories that are relatable to young children.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2016
My criticism is specific to the Kindle format: The "illustrations" are mostly photos and artwork that often have nothing (or little) to do with the text. The formatting is horrible with missing chapter titles. And then there are the many, many typos (presumably from faulty OCR) that indicate no one ever proof-read it. The only reason to pay for a public domain book (like Just So Stories) is for quality control...which is completely missing in this case.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2017
This is a beautiful copy of Just So Stories. As others have mentioned, it is a small volume but the cover is embossed and the pages are gilded. The paper is thin--not due to cheapness but rather it is fine paper. It contains the original illustrations and their captions, and it is just lovely.

I ordered this copy because I was unable to find the copy my grandfather had given me as a child, which was a rather sizeable volume complete with colored illustrations on glossy paper. This copy is nothing like that volume, which held up well to the repeated use of a young child. This volume is meant for the caring, gentle hands of an older child or adult. If your child cannot use tissue paper without tearing it, this is not the volume for him or her.

That said, if your child loves the stories, this would be a wonderful book to give him or her when she or he grows up.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2016
Illustrations are black and white, very small and very few. Please click on the "look inside" before purchasing!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2015
The Just So Stories are best when read aloud to a child. My son and I have fond memories of these stories which I read aloud to him over and over 50 years ago. There's a sing-song rhythm to many of the passages that ring delightfully in memory. How can one not love the round tones of lines enunciated slowly: "Son, son, said his mother, graciously waving her tail" or "Down by the great gray green Limpopo river all set about with fever trees" or .."the precession had proceeded according to precedent." Kipling called them the Just So Stories because when telling bedtime stories to his daughter, he had to repeat them "Just So," as children are wont to do. Delightful.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2016
This is the correct , and original book , laid out in a modern cover. It is the only one worth buying, the rest are modernized with various rubbishy and non original nonsense. This is the only work of The Just So Stories that also has Kipling,s own watercolors on the jacket...which i have never seen before, and i had an early 1930,s example as a child.
So , go for this book , it is special.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 19, 2016
Kipling wrote for a more leisurely age. The stories make use of a wide vocabulary and literary devices such as repetition and alliteration. It is hard for a modern child to fully understand. But there is something going on at a deeper level. They love the rhythm of Kipling. The story lines are exquisitely crafted. They like to ask questions about the vocabulary. They are fascinated with the subjects of the stories. You can read the story as written, then retell it often in your own words. For instance, I told my son the story of the insatiably curious elephant child this week when he was pestering me with questions. Then pretended to pull his nose.

Also at a deep level, Kipling teaches traditional values and shares deep wisdom. The females in his stories (First Woman in The cat who walked alone, the Tailor Bird's wife in Rikki Tiki Tavi) are fully drawn and quite intelligent.

It is a classic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2013
I really wanted a more original copy of this book and this one fits the bill. I think it's important to teach my children that people used different words, were racist, and that the world used to be a different place. I didn't want this book to be censored so that when an issue arises I can discuss it with my children. Life is not perfect and I can't protect them from everything so why not teach them about it through reading.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2015
The papercopy of this book has a beautiful front cover but the illustrations inside the book are terrible. It looks like they were printed on a very old printer as they are extremely pixelated. I can hardly make out what is going on in the pictures. This book is available in the public domain with illustrations so I really expected more when paying for it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse