Customer Reviews: Justice League: Doom [Blu-ray]
Amazon Vehicles Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 New Professional Skin Care Cozy Knits STEM Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  All-New Echo Dot Introducing new colors All-New Kindle for Kids Edition Lady Gaga Shop Cycling on Amazon

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$11.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 253 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on February 27, 2012
I will give my review without trying to ruin the movie for fans of this genre, this review may contain spoilers, but I will do my best to not go in depth. This movie is a loose adaption of comic book writer Mark Waid's accliamed 2000 miniseries Tower of Babel, with a little bit of the more recent New 52 from DC comics. This film was directed by longtime DC Universe veteran Lauren Montgomery who was also responsible for bringing us Wonder Woman and Green Lantern: First Flight, which just happens to be one of my all time favorite animated movies.

This movie like all the previous animated movies are a animated feature which are always nice and has the feel to it of the Justice League animated series series. This film also introduces Cyborg which is a character some people might not be familiar with, even though he was a hugely popular character in the animated cartoon series of Teen Titans and has had some good success in comics recently, and is a nice change of pace to the story. This film does a good job of plot twists and those not familiar with the Babel story will be shocked at some of the things that happen.

The film is rated PG-13 like the other films that DC has released so parents with younger kids should be aware that it is given this rating not only for intense action and some blood, but several of the heroes weaknesses are used against them in a dark way, and some are tortured, so there is some emotional drama going on that you do not previously see in the other animated films. You also have the usual Superman beating up on villains type of action. The basic premise of this movie is what would happen if villains new about each members of the Justice Leagues greates vulnerabilities and knew exactly how to exploit them all in a plot to get rid of them for a even more sinister plan. Even worse, how did they find out about their weaknesses and come up with the plans necessary to make it happen? You have to watch this movie to fid out.

Longtime fans will be excited to know that Justice League: Doom boasts a lot of voice veterans that they will be familar with. Tim Daly (Superman), the great Kevin Conroy (Batman), Susan Eisenberg (Wonder Woman), Michael Rosenbaum (Flash), Carly Lumbly (Martion Manhunter), and the newest addition of Bumper Robinson (Cyborg). For the hardocre fnas it has what they believe to be the best Green Lantern in Hal Jordan voiced by Nathan Fillion, and fans of the Justice League animated series and Justice League Unlimited will recognize some of the villains in Mirror Master and Vandal Savage.

My final review is I found the movie highly entertaining and hope that they continue to make movies like this. I do wish that these movies were longer, maybe even feature film length in the 2 hr range, or at the very least the 90 min range escpecially with the PG-13 rating and darker content it is possibly geared more towards adults and pre-teens and they are trying to find the right mixture of violence/action for the adults that they can still watch with their children, with that said, another 20 minutes would have been perfect because they do such a great job of setting things up to it to only feel rushed in other parts. I found the animation to be on par with the previous films, and in Blu Ray it looks even better.

I recommend this film!
55 comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2012
In a series of videos based on important comic story lines, this one stands out. What I like about this is each character was depicted accurately showcasing his or her strengths and weaknesses. The story was a solid one back when it was first printed, and the writers did a good job transferring it to the screen. The director did a good job taking the audience through the action scenes and plot points, and it was nice to have the voice talents back from the 90's animated series.

I also really enjoyed the character design. The stylization was just enough the make the drawings more handsome.

This movie and JLA: The New Frontier are my 2 favorite DC releases over the last 12 years.
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2016
I choose this rating because the movie is good. What I like about the movie is that Batman has planned for the unexpected, but is he prepared for the unthinkable? The Justice League consists of Earth's finest super heroes and protectors of humanity. But in the mind of the Dark Knight, it contains potentially the most dangerous people on the planet. Over time, Batman has compiled top-secret contingency plans should any of them go rogue. When these files are stolen by a rising group of super villains, the Justice League embarks on a collision course that will test the very fabric of its alliance. With a stellar voice cast headed by Kevin Conroy, Tim Daly and Nathan Fillion, this thrilling DC Universe Animated Original adventure will challenge what you know about the Justice League as well as redefine what heroes are made of! What I dislike about the movie is that I wanted to see more of it. I would recommend this movie to other people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this movie -- far more than we expected to. We really like the Batman Animated Series, and some of the other DC animated movies ("Batman and Mr. Freeze", "Superman VS. The Elite", for example), but have been disappointed, so far, with the Justice League animated series (though we're only halfway through Season One). Despite good reviews our expectations weren't very high for this, but we found that it's, by far, the best Justice League story we've experienced.

The animation is really good, the story is tight, and the action is nonstop. Add to that top-drawer voice characterizations and a fine sense of humor and the 77 minutes just fly by. There are also some nice special features. Highly recommended for fans of DC animation.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2012
Is Waid's story better? Heck yes! Did this movie do a good job of giving the general gist of what ToB was supposed to be about with only 77 minutes? Again, yes. If you only have enough money to buy one or the other, buy ToB. However, if you can spare a few extra bucks, I recommend getting this movie as well.

Moving into the movie, I liked the new plans/altered plans that Batman came up with in this film just as much (if not more) than ToB and so have no problem with the changes. In fact, Bane beating Bruce's a** was one of the more wonderful parts of the movie.

Overall, the plot wasn't amazing (again, 77 minutes) but for what they had it told a decent story. (Remember, ToB didn't just span its 4 issues, but was also told with follow-up JL issues and it even had repercussions for the younger heroes like Robin in Young Justice.)

Also, for those fans in-the-know, there were several hints throughout the movie to previous things that had happened in the comics (Bane, anyone?) which I'm just nerdy enough to get a real kick out of.

The artwork was great and it looks as if they were drawn by the same person that does Young Justice. The music is again by Christopher Drake and the main theme is a sort of remix from the awesome Crisis on Two Earths song.

One thing I did find odd is that Flash is Barry Allen but voiced by Michael Rosenbaum (who voices Wally in the Justice League cartoons). Nothing wrong with that since I do like Michael's voice, but it threw me for a loop until they definitely confirmed that it was Barry and not Wally as the Flash.

In case anyone is wondering, the line-up is such: Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Flash (Barry, obviously), Green Lantern (Hal), Cyborg (not a member of the JL, for you whiners!). For baddies you have Vandal Savage, Bane, Cheetah, Mirror Master, Star Sapphire, Metallo, & Ma'alefa'ak, as well as a minor appearance from the Royal Flush Gang. As much as I love Luthor and Joker, I'm glad they decided to go for some different villains for once.

As for the special features (on the Blu-Ray), the ones I've seen so far were just ok. The preview of Superman vs. the Elite was cool and I can't wait for it, but the Guarding the Balance: Batman and the JLA had more commentary about American history and politics than Batman. :( The episodes that Bruce Timm Presents are Wild Cards Part 1 & 2, which is cool but I already own the entire Justice League series. I haven't watched the other features yet.
1212 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2016
Well-written, crafty, really captures the character of the heroes well. The problem with DC heroes in general is that many of them are virtually invulnerable, making it difficult to make challenging villains or threats. The Martian Manhunter, like the Vision (Marvel) is one such character whose powers are far too broad and vulnerabilities never well-explained. The DC universe, and this movie, could do without him. This, however, is a minor quibble. These movies should not be viewed as lesser works because they are "comics" or "cartoons." They rival the best of what cinema has to offer, and are an art form that should be respected as such.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2015
Batman is always prepared...or is he? The JLA has always been the toughest superhero team ever. However, Batman has prepared for the worst. What if they turned out to be evil? Batman has prepared for that as well by keeping data secretly hidden on all of the heroes' weaknesses. Now, a group of super villains has stolen the data! This is a DC Comics thriller that will test the boundaries of what animation is expected to be! This is not the Superfriends anymore! This is some of DC's newest that shows very violent and graphic fights. Flashpoint Paradox and Batman Assault on Arkham are two other examples of the MUCH more violent version of the DC Universe. This...changes...everything. PG-13 for a REASON.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2012
Top-quality voice narration, great Blu-Ray picture quality, a good story, decent features - there's not much to dislike in this latest addition to the JUSTICE LEAGUE series. The storyline is good, there is plenty of action, and you don't need to be a JL fanatic to appreciate or understand the storyline and characters. And in one of the best improvements - maybe the folks at DC or Warner actually read their e-mails ?? - the Bruce Timm-selected cartoon episodes were upconverted so the picture quality is light-years improved from previous offerings on earlier Blu-Ray releases. The cartoons fill a Hi-Def TV screen naturally and are almost as rich in detail as the movie.

If you are like me and a fan of the old "Legion Of Doom" episodes from the 1970's and 1980's, or even the recent incarnation from JUSTICE LEAGUE, then "DOOM" remains faithful to the original: a group of super criminals collaborate together to take down the Justice League and wreak havoc on Earth. That said, you have Vandal Savage and not Lex Luthor leading the group, and the super villains here are mostly 2nd or 3rd level super criminals (I did not know who "Vandar Aag" was since he never appeared in earlier cartoon series). Kevin Conroy, Tim Daly, Susan Eisenberg, and Michael Rosenbaum all reprise their characters from the JUSTICE LEAGUE series (not sure why Flash is Barry Allen and not Wally West, though I was glad they kept Rosenbaum for a slightly different DC timeline). Bumper Robinson does a good job voicing Cyborg; I wouldn't mind seeing more of him in future movies. The only storyline that was a bit confusing was the relationship between Carol Ferris/Star Sapphire and Green Lantern; this was never covered in the recent JUSTICE LEAGUE series so unless you read GL comic books you might be a bit confused over those scenes, small as they are.

That said, there are a few annoyances with the way the disk is outlined. First, I am getting tired of having useless promos and advertisements load before I can get to the Main Menu. Second, don't give me promos about other TV or cartoon series coming out on DVD or Blu-Ray -- if they want to entice people to buy them, put a free episode on the disk, maybe even Part 1 of a 2-part episode. Most people buying the disks are already fans of the other cartoon series so we have either seen the shows or purchased the DVD's/Blu-Ray's. Third, while there is a 2-part JUSTICE LEAGUE episode ("Wild Cards") included, there is plenty of space on the 2-disks to include more episodes from that series or from some of the newer series.

A few minor quibbles: If you are going to create a movie called "DOOM", I bet some of the older buyers wouldn't mind seeing the old cartoons from the 1970's or 1980's included, which featured The Legion Of Doom. If there are future movies playing on older cartoon themes, then include those cartoons for nostalgic fans. The artwork is out of the current YOUNG JUSTIC format; I still prefer the art style from the recent JUSTICE LEAGUE series on Cartoon Network. Phil Morris (aka "Jackie Chiles" from SEINFELD) does good work voicing Vandal Savage but considering he actually played the Martian Manhunter on SMALLVILLE I would not have minded him voicing the same character here. Claudia Black ("Vala" from STARGATE: ATLANTIS) does good work here as Cheetah.

Pros: Action-packed movie with good story, decent bonus features, DVD disc basically `free' with the Blu-Ray purchase, digital comic included, nice Dwayne McDuffie tribute, upconverted JUSTICE LEAGUE cartoon episodes.

Cons: Could have more cartoon freebies, annoying disk interface leading to previews and purchases, ultra-violet feature of little use to anybody but tech geeks, very drab Main Menu interface

Overall, a quality addition to the DC Comics/JUSTICE LEAGUE universe, and the improvements outweight my personal dislikes which will not be shared by all JUSTICE LEAGUE and DC Comics fans. You definitely get your money's worth with this purchase, and the decade of continuity from Bruce Timm and Andrea Romano and the other folks behind the scenes is most appreciated. And yes....LOVE those upconverted JUSTICE LEAGUE cartoons - keep `em coming !
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2016

The DC animated films have been excellent for the most part thus far. Each one has been fun and most have been pretty good adaptations of the comics they were based on. This one is a reimaging of the story “Tower of Babel” by Mark Waid. This ended up being a pretty good take on that story adapted by the late Dwayne McDuffie.

Batman always has a plan, he always has a plan followed by a backup plan just in case. Those plans even go towards his fellow heroes in the Justice League. He has a contingency plan for each and every member in case they go rogue for whatever reason. Vandal Savage knows this and plots to take the League out using Batman’s plans, he succeeds in obtaining them. He builds a team using one member from each hero's past to personally take them out using said plans. With the perfect plan for each member to be taken out is there anyone who can overcome what could be the final moments of the Justice League.

This was a fun watch that featured one of my favorite villains, Bane. All of the voice acting was perfect for each and every character as was the writing, direction and animation style. I also enjoyed the special features as I always do with these DC animated releases. We get a great documentary on the late Dwayne McDuffie, an excellent writer that most fans will remember from his work on Ben 10. We also get looks at Cyborg, and the stories that inspired this film in the “Batman and the JLA” feature. Then of course there is the digital comic from “Tower of Babel”, the sneak peek of “Superman vs. The Elite” and two wonderful episodes of the Justice League animated series involving The Joker. But of course my favorite thing is the excellent commentary from the creative team here. Over all this is a wonderful addition to any collection and I highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2012
What would you say if your best friend whom you have trusted for the longest of time was discovered to have known all your deepest and darkest secrets? If that day ever came, he or she would use them against you to take you down. Enter the newest DCAU film `Justice League: Doom.

A secret society of super villains led by one of the most mysterious of them all finally has discovered how to bring the Justice League to an end, by turning them against each other. It turned out that one of them (you can probably figure out who) had files on each and every one of them, just in case. By using those secrets each of them is exposed and their vulnerabilities tear them up from within. Eventually as always evil is punished, but at what price?

This film is one of the better in the ever growing DCAU library. Unlike `New Frontier `& `Crisis On Two Earths', `Doom' individualizes each of these super-heroes and shows a very human side to them. There are moments in this film that make you feel a bit uncomfortable as you watch each of them fight their inner demons. Of course, the action is great and when you see the easily predictable final good vs. evil showdown, it's hard to disappoint. The film also ends on a very different note, more of a melancholy ending which is also something I have not seen in these films thus far. Finally, the voice acting, it was great to see the original cast back in action. Bringing back Nathan Fillion to voice Hal Jordan is always a treat. It was a bit weird to see Michael Rosenbaum giving his voice to the Barry Allen Flash and not the wise cracking Wally West. It shows how much these guys have grown together as a collective group.

As I thoroughly enjoyed this film, I am always excited for the next DCAU film. The two disc edition includes a very heartfelt and in-depth look into the legacy of Dwayne McDuffie. It is definitely worth the extra money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse