Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 206 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 270 reviews
on August 1, 2012
Back in the 1970's when I was growing up, Super Friends passed for the Justice League. I wish Filmation's animation studio got the chance to make that legendary series. The Justice League's producer, Bruce Timm, was man behind Batman: The Animated Series and Superman:The Animated Series. This has to be the ultimate adaptation of the League ever done for TV. The only thing that tops this would be some of the recently released DC animated movies. All the characters are faithfully portrayed. I'd have to put JL:Animated in the don't miss category, because it doesn't get any better than this. I've seen the episodes multilple times and still watch this show!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2011
Justice League, and its successor series Justice League Unlimited, are together quite easily the best superhero cartoons ever made - or at least that I've ever seen.

Justice League has its roots in Bruce Timm's original Batman: The Animated Series, and his not quite as successful Superman series. Both shows are part of the same continuity as Justice League, as too are less well known animated programs such as Static Shock,Batman Beyond, and The Zeta Project. But in my opinion, it's the Justice League shows that are the apex of the arc.

The art is stylish yet functional, following almost seamlessly in the style Bruce Timm first defined in Batman: The Animated Series. The characters and the world they inhabit are at once sleek yet densely solid, and everything has a certain visual gravitas. This fits perfectly with the writing, for unlike so many superhero TV-shows and movies, Justice League is a show with a great deal of self-respect. I actually stole that term - self-respect - from Steven Myers' review of Batman - Mask of the Phantasm, a feature-length production from the same continuity. It is the term that, perhaps better than any other, describes what makes this meta-series what it is. Within their own frames of reference, all of the shows within it take themselves seriously. While not without their own moments of humour, there is no camp parody, and there are certainly no moments where the writers give a nudge and wink to the audience to let us know that it's time to have a bit of a giggle over the absurdity of it all.

Perhaps the most astonishing thing for many adults then will be the fact that Justice League succeeds brilliantly on this entirely serious level. As incredible as it may sound to some people, this is a really good, intelligent, serious superhero cartoon. In episodes like Legends (parts 1 & 2) there is a combination of real pathos together with a quite casual, almost incidental implied social commentary; both of which are so lightly and deftly handled as to render ridiculous even the idea of comparing this show to old seventies horrors like Super Friends.

Finally, the series is graced with a full orchestral score for both title and background music. Again, this compliments the overall tone of the show perfectly.

So where does this product, Justice League Season One, fit into the picture?

Well, in my opinion, as good as Justice League is, Justice League Unlimited (which follows on more or less immediately in the same continuity) is better. On the other hand, because this is indeed very much a continuity - a cohesive universe with its own history and cosmology - it is best to start with Justice League and watch the entire thing through from the beginning. Bear in mind that there were two distinct seasons of Justice League before the switch-over to Justice League Unlimited, and you do now have a choice as to whether to buy the two Justice League seasons individually or together. Surprisingly, at the time of writing, it is actually slightly cheaper to buy them separately.

I cannot talk to you from personal experience about the DVD extras you'll get if you buy the two seasons together. However, I can tell you that the extras you get with Justice League - Season One (DC Comics Classic Collection) are superb. Both in the included "featurettes" and in the voice over commentaries, you do very much feel like you're getting a genuine insider's view from behind the scenes. You do feel like you're gaining real insight into how this show was made, and why things are the way they are in the final, finished version. Of course, I didn't always agree with the choices the writers ultimately made. For example, in the Legends episodes I mentioned earlier, I do wish they'd gone with their original creative impulse regarding the identities of certain "alternate" superheroes; I do believe that this would have greatly deepened the emotional resonance and undercurrents of the story (I won't say any more than that because I don't want to spoil things). But the point is, whether you agree with the writer's choices or not, you do come away feeling as if you've at least been privy to the discussion.

For me at least, that's what DVD extras are all about.

Theo.
44 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2011
I have been a fan of this cartoon series for several years and have watched them repeatedly. I did not think that they would be all that different on blue ray but managed to find the blue ray discs cheaper than the regular discs so I decided to go ahead and see what blue ray would do to them. I was pleasantly surprised by how much cleaner and brighter the episodes are in blue ray. There is a marked difference and it makes the episodes jump off the screen. I am very pleased with the blue ray discs and find a whole new enjoyment in the episodes I already know and love.
For those of you who have not watched the Justice League series before here is a brief glimpse off all that you have missed. Justice League season one shows the creation of the Justice League with Batman, Superman, Wonder-woman, Flash, Green Lantern, Hawk-girl and Martian Manhunter. This season follows the characters as they learn to trust each other and work as a team. The league is challenged by alien invaders and the well known villains of earth who struggle to out do the League and unite against the joint forces of these powerful super heroes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
This set was well worth the money I paid for it. This landmark animated series followed in the tradition of both Batman: The Animated Series and Superman: The Animated Series, but expanded the characters to include the other DC Fan Favorites like Wonder Woman, The Flash, Green Lantern, Martian Manhunter, and Hawkgirl.

This series tends to go in short 2-3 episode story arcs, allowing the writers to go deeper into the story, and develop the characters more fully. The stories feature a variety of classic comic book villains and heroes, all represented in stunning HD in this Blu-ray set. I really can't recommend it highly enough.

This series was two seasons long, and was followed by Justice League Unlimited, which expanded the team roster into a gigantic team of coordinated super heroes. Sadly, Justice League Unlimited was never released on Blu-ray. It is, however, available on DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2014
Unlike Season 2, to which I gave 5*, this feature is presented in 4:3 aspect ratio. While I know this technically offers more image (as 16:9 would just cut the top and bottom) I would have liked to have the whole screen filled with the incredible animation. Even more so as the show was produced with 16:9 in mind so anything that would be missing would be filler, trivial stuff.

The image and sound quality are both top notch, this fully digital series really shines on Blu-ray! Although I only gave this 4*, I fully recommend this to all Batman, Superman, DC and Bruce Timm fans!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
As an adult, my favorite memories of growing up were Sat morning cartoons. My favorite one was the first one to come on so I had to get up earlier than I did when I went to school just to make sure I saw it. (Before VCR's) and it was the Super Friends. Childhood memories of a great cartoon that is cheesy in today's standards. This series blows them away. I got my favorite heroes and arch-enemies going toe to toe and beating the crap out of each other and telling redeeming stories between characters for the most part. Great stories and hours of entertainment. It has been seven years since this series first aired and it is still good. The only close comparison is Young Justice on Cartoon Network (but not for much longer...(sad now)). Both Season 1 and 2 of Justice League plus the follow up Justice League Unlimited Seasons 1 and 2 are all worth owning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2017
Classic Justice League animation at its best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
The transfer itself is phenomenal at times, especially considering how old the show is, however, I would have appreciated it if the lines were more thick or bolder but I can by pass that. Also it is in it's original 4x3 AR, which is a shame, glady s2 is 16x9!

Now on to the packaging, the disc are incredible hard to take out, I feel like I'm going to break the disc somehow, and the final disc doesn't stay well in it's slot it keeps getting loose, glad to say Warner have improved their packaging on other releases I have bought so that's something I guess.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Some of these heroes have been around since before most of use were born, no matter how old we are. Therefore if you aren't familiar with the characters of Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern (etc.) you either didn't like comic books much as a kid, or you were exclusively a Marvel fan. LOL

This series is a visual delight on blu ray. The stories are interesting to fans of all ages. My wife and I enjoy them, our son and daughter-in-law enjoy them, and our grand-daughter enjoys them. To find entertainment like that to apply to one sitting of three generations is priceless.

The stories themselves are quite captivating, and when they come as a series of connected episodes, you'll have a hard time breaking in the middle of the sequence. There are quite a variety of superheroes spread amongst the episodes, and although you'll see the "name" heroes most often, there are always some interesting minor heroes sprinkled in ... either in combination with the big names, or sometimes featured in their own stories. You'll also find that not all of the heroes "get along". Rivalries and disputes are common, and add even more depth to the episodes.

If you were/are a DC Comics fan, or wish to become one, you can buy this set of Blu ray discs with confidence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2008
The first season of Justice League is an achievement and a definite must-have for any superhero fan. It certainly sheds the corny, clichéd writing and cheap animation of its embarrassing relative "Superfriends."

The disk starts out of the gate strong with an entertaining, three-part episode tracing the League's origin. Superman confronts an overwhelming alien power and soon realizes that he can't protect the world on his own anymore. The remaining episodes are generally well-written, certainly by animation standards, and then some. Some fans criticized the first season for presenting an all-too human Superman, who appeared to be getting his rear-end kicked at every turn (reminiscent of Superfriends' Superman: "oh no, this net must be made of some type of Kryptonite alloy!") Although it's understandable that writers wanted to give Superman some good challenges lest he dominate every battle, some fans - this one included - thought it went a bit far.

There are a few weak spots, namely "In Darkest Night" and "War World," (the weakest of all the episodes) but these can be dismissed as but minor aggravations. (And, on an interesting note, the featured villain in War World makes a comeback in Season 3's "For the Man who has Everything" - an episode which received some great reviews (and strongly based on the 1985 comic book Superman Annual #11).

The first season attempts to develop the bonds of friendship and note some of the awkward strains created when seven, very independent and powerful individuals team up together. Former Marine Jon Stewart (Green Lantern) routinely becomes aggravated with the younger and quite immature Wally West (Flash) and frequently questions the aggressive Hawkgirl's judgment and tactics. However, these tensions evaporate over the season, (and Jon and Hawkgirl develop a friendship that ultimately turns to romance in subsequent seasons). The King of Atlantis (Aquaman) makes an entrance, and he is anything but Superfriendly (The Enemy Below). Diana (Wonder Woman) learns about "man's world," trusting her team members, and makes a difficult choice that results in exile from her home world of Themyscria (Paradise Lost). "Injustice for All" features Lex Luthor's faltering attempts to fashion a league of villains against the JL, with Bruce Wayne (Batman) in rare form, nearly losing his life on two occasions. Some team members think he is trying to prove his mettle, dangerously so. And, if you look carefully, you'll see the beginnings of Bruce and Diana's growing affections for one another (The Brave and the Bold).

Each of stories are either two-part or three-part episodes, which I thought was a plus. Look for various heroes (and enemies) to appear later down the line in subsequent seasons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse