Oil month Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13

on August 30, 2015
I have long loved this book - checking it out many times from our local library just to gaze at Karsh's wonderful capture of the portraits within. I love the prints, and the photographer's comments about how he managed to capture just the right expression, just the right poise, posture, and pose of his subject to best reflect the wholeness of his person. This photographer is my very favorite. I was delighted to find the book via this wonderful used book store.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 23, 2014
I own several copies of this book. I really love it. The gravure prints with their almost velvety blacks and amazing tones just give every black and white photo an almost three dimensional depth. Fantastic portraits of some truly remarkable people.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 31, 2017
Beautiful book in Good condition as promised. The pages are clean and Karsh's work is inspiring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 22, 2016
Best Karsh book ever published. The printing quality is exceptional.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 17, 2013
this was a replacement for a book I had had for years, soi I knew that I liked the book. His images are great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 15, 2017
very happy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 26, 2016
brilliant portrait book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 14, 2011
Karsh was a master in Portraiture shooting. This masterpiece (Karsh Portraits) is a classic which will last as long as portraits will be taken. When a professional or someone just starting out wants to learn from the best, this is the book to reference.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 27, 2009
(This review is about the hardbound University Toronto Press edition)

Iconic. Period. The image in your head of Hemingway? Came from this photographer. Einstein? Oppenheimer? JFK? Ditto.

This is a whirlwind tour of the 20th century. Picasso, Krushchev, MLK, Helen Heller, Castro, Shaw, Steinbeck, Joan Baez, Apollo astronauts, Henry Moore, Churchill, Chagal, Albert Schweitzer and on and on.

Photographs of great clarity, portraits brimming over with personality, works that embrace the legendary nature of the subjects while exposing wrinkles and imperfections. For every portrait that delivers what one expects (Castro, staring straight at the camera, a little threatening, a little wry) there are incredibly unnerving works (Sibelius with his eyes closed? Prince Charles in some sort of safari jacket with a shiny ring on his finger looking like a fey, condescending sportsman? Kruschev in furs...smothered in furs?)

As has often been remarked, Karsh's attention to the surface details: the silvers, the textures, the play of light reveals a great craftsman at work.

ANYWAY...this University of Toronto edition is a quality piece of work: large format on heavy paper, almost four pounds, red cloth over hardback boards with a sewn binding, dustcover, 202 pages. And Karsh's commentary on the making of each portrait is included as well.
review imagereview image
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 28, 2017
Must have book for any photographer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here