Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
27
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 27 reviews
on December 5, 2013
Great help for my research.project for my doctorate in Holistic Theology. Topic is a difficult one and this made it a little easier.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2017
Good book must-reads full of knowledge
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2014
Using it for study group
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2016
This is not an exact reproduction of the original. I wouldn't recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2006
This book is an excellent introduction to the views of Theosophy, which in many respects is not a religion or a philsophy; it is a helpful guide to distinguish and compare theosophy both to the world religions as they are practiced and the "secret wisdom" that is also found in all world religions. As another reviewer remarked, the Glossary is a very helpful set of definitions for learning further about the theosophical perspective.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
Very fun read!

It's a great introduction to the esoteric. It filled in holes in my thinking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2013
This is a great book that I am studying in a study group. This particular printing,
ISBN-10: 1484839404,
ISBN-13: 978-1484839409,
the blue cover w/ the Mandala, is not a good printing. It has ONLY the main text of the book; No cover page, no copyright page, no table of contents, no glossary, no index, nothing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2015
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2013
A great read and a must have.Helped to bring to light several answers i needed.It is in a Question(from Student) and answer (from Theosophist) format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2014
This book gives a very nice introduction to the Theosophical movement.

Theosophy, to me, is a religious focus that does NOT disagree with any religion, but which is, to me, a way to think about God in ways that extend beyond any normal or regular system of faith.

Years ago, my Dad was into Theosophy, and I attended some of the conferences at a regional park. (I crashed the program, not paying an entrance fee, and they acted as if I was a full member. They were more interested in my attending than they were in getting a few dollars in the pot. (It helped that I lived a mile away at the time and got free meals from the people who ran the conference center where they shared meals, so it didn't cost them anything.)

If you enjoy studying alternate religious points of view, get this book.

Like I said, the only thing that keeps me from giving it a top rating is that it is written at a very high reading level, NOT like USA TODAY which is written at an eighth grade reading level.

John
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse