Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 893 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,213 reviews
on September 9, 2017
Always wanted this movie just never had it in my collection. Now i have it in blu ray and dvd combo. A great price made it even better. Comes loaded with special features and bonus material.
The movie has some brutal scenes. But that's a given if you have read the original comic book. Makes it true to the material. Great action. Really enjoyed it.
Glad i got it at the price and special version.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2017
I took off 1 star because Todd got no one in the end. I feel bad for him because he was the cutest one of all. The movie was really surprising. I thought it was going to be so stupid, but Chloe Grace Moretz's character shows up and makes the whole movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2016
Not for the faint of heart, this movie has a chilling overtone of often graphic comic-book violence. The premise is intriguing: What if "super" hero crimefighters were actually just a bunch of talented but very dysfunctional anti-social misfits running around in outlandish homemade costumes and armed to the teeth? Oddly enough, the frequently disturbing graphic violence actually works: it's doled out in appropriate (at least for THIS film) amounts that serve to move the plot along and add credibility to the characters motives. This is a very iconoclastic rendition of comic book heroes and villains: ripping away the clinically sanitized facade of the genre, it comes across as a more believable version of what it might be like for REAL super heroes battling REAL criminals. And besides... it's just a lot of fun to watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
A great adaption of the comic book, the casting is spot on, with good nerd-to-hero transition taking place. And come on, who wouldn't love to have Hit Girl as their little sister? Cage is just simply awesome as Big Daddy, and while I'm repeating myself the casting really just nails it. Its not a "serious" comic book movie, but its still great entertainment, well worth your time especially if you like the supers genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
Kick-Ass is cool but Hit Girl stole the movie. She is incredible. A great family movie about "outcast" nerdy teens becoming heroes. I wish they'd have made more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2016
I would never have chosen this movie from its title, but because I saw a preview it looked kind of cute and funny. Which it was.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2014
Dave (Aaron Taylor-Johnson), a teenage comic fan decides to become a superhero and discovers how real life differs from the comics. Then he runs into a father daughter duo (Nicholas Cage and Chloe Grace Moretz) who are doing the same thing, but are taking it to extremes he hadn't reached.

I did like this movie a lot. Moretz is shockingly funny as the dirty-mouthed, crime-fighting, child dynamo, Hit-Girl; Cage is just right as the father who's raising her wrong. They have a relationship that reminded me of The Addams Family. The only part I didn't like about it was the contrived romance between Dave and Katie. She seems a little too forgiving of his deception.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
I remember when this film initially was released in the theaters, I didn't think much of it. I kinda remember glancing at the trailers when it aired on T.V., and, like I said before, I didn't think much of it. I just thought it was another cheesy kiddie kick-butt flick. It didn't register that you wouldn't think that they would name a film "Kick-Ass" if it was truly geared toward the kiddie population. A couple of my former co-workers who are movie buffs were talking about this flick after they had seen it at the theater, and they were raving about it. So, I said to myself, "Maybe I ought to check it out", and so I did. This movie definitely has it's share of bloody violence, foul language, and some sexual situations. Definitely not a kiddie flick, not something you would see on Nickelodeon. It's not one of the greatest movies I've seen, but it was pretty good. I might go see the sequel, it comes out today.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2012
Vulgar, crude and virtually without any meaningful dialog, this would be a typical summer movie if it wasn't for Chloe Grace Moretz, the ten year old Hit Girl with a mouth that would embarrass a sailor. A teenage boy (Aaron Taylor-Johnson) decides to combat rampant crime in his city by becoming a comic book style hero he names Kick Ass. With a scuba suit and two police batons sets out to fight crime and right wrongs. Predictably, he gets the stuffing kicked out of him every night until he is mentored by purple haired Hit Girl (Chloe Grace) and Big Daddy (Nicholas Cage). An apparent competitor in the hero game, Red Mist (Christopher Mintz-Plasse), uses Kick Ass to lure Big Daddy into an ambush. Nicholas Cage is Nicholas Cage: Taylor-Johnson and Mintz-Plasse are so-so but Chloe Grace Moretz clearly displays an acting talent that will propel her to starring in the remake of Carrie only three years later. The movie works as a story about courage but it didn't have to be so gross. BTW, did you know that Chloe Grace Moretz has starred in four movies she is not, as of this writing, old enough to see (rated R)?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 16, 2011
This movie is an exercise in sheer insanity. It's incredibly violent for one and the idea that a little girl (the appropriately named "Hit Girl" and played by an astounding Chloe Grace Moretz) could be portrayed as a sadistic murderess who undoubtedly enjoys killing bad guys in horrific ways is enough to offend anyone who can't see past the idea that it's not to be taken seriously. Her father, Big Daddy (played by Nicolas Cage in his trademark strange delivery), is another beast altogether. This film is a great take on the normal people thrown into extraordinary circumstances theme and while I personally feel the film loses it's way a little bit near the end, it's still very entertaining and worth watching. Aaron Johnson really nails the role of Kick-Ass and does a great job of making you root for him while Christopher Mintz Plasse is great as Red Mist as well. I'd think twice before letting little kids see this, in case you thought this was family friendly fare.

I would recommend this Blu Ray solely on the strength of the extensive making-of documentary included, which shows you in detail just about every facet of interest regarding the film's production. I was hooked once I started watching it and if you are interested in well made behind-the-scenes documentaries, I would gladly recommend this. It's long and exhaustive but really does a good job of showing what film productions are like and just how much of a risk on the part of the filmmakers was taken to bring this film to light.

If you like the film and/or the comics, do yourself a favor and pick up this disc as they did justice to it. The audio and video transfers are top notch and you get a good amount of content here to justify a purchase and addition to your library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse