Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Kidde i9040 Fire Sentry Battery-Operated Ionization Sensor Compact Smoke Alarm
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM

Size Name: 1-pack|Package Type: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$9.39+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon February 23, 2008
Here's a quick video to show you what comes in the box, and how easy it is to use this compact smoke and fire alarm.
1818 comments| 350 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2012
As a professsional firefighter/paramedic for nearly 13 years, I see a lot of fires. I do know that most detectors out there are NOT dual sensor....they are mostly only ionization detectors that detect flame. Remember it's usually not the fire that will kill you, it's the smoke and it's deadly component carbon monoxide. Photoelectric detectors detect these smoke particles and alert you.......ionization rarely do if it's a slow smoldering fire. If your sleeping, by the time the ionization sensors detect the actual flames, the smoke and the CO will most likely have already gotten to you and you will be dead. That's why it's so VERY VERY important to have a dual-sensor smoke detector. This item is NOT a dual sensor and the manufacturer clearly states every home should have both types of sensors to protect you 100% from fire related death/injury. Always look for a photoelectric/ionization detector and buy one. Have one in your hallway, in the main living room at the very least and I always like to put one in each room because I am overly cautious. Also make sure to have a B-C extinguisher on hand near the kitchen to put out kitchen grease fires....the #1 cause of residential structure fires. Hopefully you can put a small one out, but if you discharge the entire extinguisher and the fire is not out......evacuate the house immediately and make sure you or someone called 911 prior to exiting your home. Stay safe !
2323 comments| 732 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2011
I bought a home in October that didnt have smoke detectors in the bedrooms so I bought these. Install was easier, they look nice and clean. They come with batteries which is a big plus. All of the batteries had power, they tested well.

My first run in with the alarm was actually Christmas day when my family burnt bacon in the kitchen. Sure enough the entire house was SCREAMING, these things are loud. If there is smoke in your house, honestly these sensors will detect it WAY before your nose or eyes do and mine were all on the second floor!

For the money you cant go wrong, they definitely do their job.
11 comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon March 7, 2012
Although I list more cons than pros, the pros far outweigh the cons.

PROS
> The i9040 comes with a "saucer"-like base (which the instructions call a "bracket) you install on your ceiling (hardware included). It is much easier to install this featherweight plastic bracket than other designs.
> To install the detector in the saucer, you put the detector in place and twist. You can deinstall it with a twist in the other direction. So if you are planning to do alot of smoky cooking, you can simply take the smoke detector down and put it in a drawer or another room.
> Because you can easily de-install the detector, you can replace the battery on your countertop--which is much easier than fumbling over your head.
> The unit has a "hush" function. If you push the test button when the alarm is going off, it will "hush" for 8 minutes. This is a nice function when cooking. Of course, you'll need a ~ 2' stick to push it. A ½" diameter by 18" dowel rod works well, and fits in my kitchen utility drawer.
> Battery installation is easy: A plastic ribbon makes it easy to pull out an old battery. The contacts are simple metal strips--you don't have to pry a 9-volt snap-socket apart.
> A 9-volt battery is included. A no-name brand, but it works. (Otherwise, at the very low price of this detector, a new battery could cost nearly as much as the detector. So, the "free" battery is notable).

CONS
> The i9040 is much smaller (4" in diameter) than my previous alarm (5 ½"). Not a problem for a new installation, but in my case, one of the old mounting holes is visible and needs to be filled it. If your old alarm is also 5 ½", then maybe a non-compact model would be better replacement.
> A diode flashes every 40 seconds to acknowledge that it is receiving power. Undoubtedly that saves the battery, but 40 seconds is a long time to wait to see if the light flashes.
> The battery contacts are identical, not polarized. That means you can easily install the battery wrong. Doing so won't damage anything, but the detector won't work. So press the test button after installing a new battery to test. Note that you have to push and hold for a while.
> The alarm is loud!!!. As a reflex action, I nearly tossed it across the room the first time I tested it. My ears are still ringing. If you are holding in your hand when you test, you might consider wrapping it in a heavy towel.
> The battery contacts are just strips of metal, not a solid 9-volt snap-socket, which make a "touch" contact. In kitchen ceilings, even battery snap-socket contacts are easily contaminated by cooking grease etc. I probably could have saved my repaired my old smoke detector simply by cleaning the contacts---but doing so would have been difficult. I recommend smearing silicon grease on the battery contacts and the detector contacts when installing a battery. The silicon grease will protect the contacts. Permatex 22058 Dielectric Tune-up Grease - 3 oz.
> There are no instructions on installing a new battery. Apparently you have to rotate a spring-loaded plastic lever so that it is underneath the battery.
> The alarm is loud!!!. If you install it a baby room, put it as far from the baby as possible.
> Because the unit is so compact, cleaning dust from the interior is difficult. You probably need "canned air" to blast the dust out.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2007
I've had five of these in my house for a couple of months now and haven't had a problem with any of them. I've had many, ahem, opportunities to test them thanks to my cooking skills (or lack thereof). They're very easy to install and, thanks to their small size, are less noticeable than the larger ones.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2011
I've had my alarm for 5 years. Its main advantage is its small size, especially these days where each bedroom is supposed to have its own smoke detector. It gets good battery life as well, I only had to replace the battery it came with just once. However I did have a problem with false alarms due to dust building up inside of it. The fact that the room has a ceiling fan did not help. This unit is difficult to clean inside. The small slots in the front of the unit go to the horn, not the ionization detector. A vacuum cleaner will not be able to throughly suck up the dust that will eventually build up inside the front cover. There front cover is not meant to be removable.

If you've got pets and/or a ceiling fan then, maybe a bigger unit with lots of slots for easy vacuuming would be better.
22 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2002
We needed a few more alarms around the house and these were priced right.
They have a mount which secures to the wall, the sensor unit can be taken down by rotating off the mount. They even come with batteries.
11 comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
These got great reviews which was why i ordered them. I have also had this brand in my apartment prior to purchasing a house, so i was familiar with this brand.
This may sound petty but i only had them about a month before the low charge batteries started beeping. which shows they work however, i would think they would send newer batteries. Hello?.
Taking them apart was easy enough but i could not reapply/retwist them after i changed the batteries, in the apt of course, maintenance replaced the batteries regularly.
So i had to wait to get someone, a week, to replace them back in the holder for me. :(
As a disabled person i have to constantly access items for safety amd user friendly, i.e. climbing on ladder, durability, how long an item will last, easy to reach...things like that. While all things may not be easy to work with, i still expect something like a decent battery
On the good side, they do work, which is the main thing. But i do perfer the type you can plug into the electric socket, easier and not unsightly. I dont know how long these last, but i will stick with the plug ins in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2013
This was dead on arrival. I tried to return it, but the post office wouldn't accept the package because it contained a battery. So I went to the hardware store and purchased one that was a bit more expensive, which is probably what I should have done in the first place.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
Great price on 2 of these vs home stores. I was hesitant on purchasing and wondered about the quality since they seemed so inexpensive compared to other models. These are well made! I put one in the Kitchen and one in the Bedroom. They both do there job well. If there is Smoke then off it goes just like it should. No false alarms. Easy to install. I also have a wood stove and it caught a slight smoke leak from it just like it should.

The batteries it came with lasted the entire year and I just replaced them on the fall back schedule.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 27 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here