Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(2 star, Verified Purchases). See all 443 reviews
on December 28, 2012
An alright foray by James Patterson and Marshall Karp, The characters are as two-dimensional and thin as the paper (or eink?) the story is written on. The big twist is, while unpredictable, so utterly painful to read and to watch. The protagonists are painful caricatures and ultimately, just painful.

In the authors' defense, the book's action is fairly tightly knit and pretty solid. But other than that, this book is painful, art-student -wannabe cosmopolitan consumer porn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2011
"Kill Me If You Can" is a novel written by James Patterson and Marshall Karp; of the action thriller genre.
The story is written in the first person by the main character with collateral dialog from other characters. The writing style is straight forward simple prose.

The story plot involves an assassin, ex-marine Matthew Bannon, who also is an aspiring artist, his girlfriend art teacher Katherine Sanborne, a Russian mob boss, Chukov and thirteen million in stolen diamonds. Witnessing the execution of a Russian mobster, Bannon absconds with the mob's diamonds and that begins the cat and mouse chase from New York, to Paris, to Venice and to Amsterdam where the diamonds are converted to Euro's in a dangerous clandestine exchange. The mob still holding out for the return of the stolen diamonds descends upon Bannon in his New York apartment and takes Katherine hostage in the final fast paced conclusion to the saga.

This is an entertaining read if you feel like engaging a fast paced thriller tainted with a gratuitous incestuous relationship and that doesn't require any imagination to stroll through. The entire plot is a cookie cutter cliché; a half-baked pie crust taken from the fridge and filler added. An excerpt from the novel pretty much sums up the character of the protagonist Matthew Bannon and sets the tone for the rest of the book: "You are not only drop-dead amazing to look at, fantastic in bed, and wildly spontaneous, but you are also ridiculously romantic". Really?!

I don't recommend this novel and rate it "forgettable".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2015
just "eh"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2011
This would have to be classed as a written "Spaghetti Western" - Implausible plot, ridiculous character profiles. I think the closest James Patterson came to this book is the name on the front. You will see under his name a ghost writer. It's a shame well known writers resort to using back up writers having input themselves just adding their name to make a dollar. I am a crime thriller fan and I know I won't be buying any James Patterson in the future. I am sorriest mostly that I paid so much for a kindle version. Don't even bother buying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2012
The story started off pretty good from my perspective, but soon, I began to wonder "How could that have happened?". For one, how did "The Ghost" make it all around Europe with a Glock? In addition, when did he hook up with this guy who happened to be waiting along side the excursion boat with, what, a raft, for "The Ghost" to hop into. All the while, the antagonist is shooting up the boat in chase! Sorry, I know it was just fiction, but too improbable for me.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2011
I am a big fan of James Patterson. My biggest problem is that I read his books in about two nights and then have to get another. Not the case with this book. It is not keeping me wanting to go from chapter to chapter and I find it very easy to put down. I am not a prude, but this book could do without some of the strange relationships and language. Hope we will see more of The Women's Murder Club soon. That is my favorite series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2011
This is the first book I read from J. Patterson. An interesting story . Have purchased three other novels from this author but I find the writer too involved in grisly murders with too many in one novel . I have moved on for the time being.
I am an avid reader and read at least one book a week. Have read all the books from Brad Thor , Vince Flynn and Lee Child and all from Daniel Silva including most recent releases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2011
I have read almost every book that James Patterson has written or cowritten. This is the first book that I haven't sat down and read in a day or two. I seem to be having a hard time following the story line here. I have been reading on this book for almost a month now and still am only about half way through it. I just keep losing interest. I guess everyone is allowed a dud sometime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2011
I got this book not expecting much but it delivered even less. The writing is very "basic" and the story very shallow. Makes me really wonder about who is rating this book on amazon and giving it 4+ stars...
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2013
Maybe I've been spoiled by some of his earlier books or grittier authors...I really found this one to be a bit of a snooze-fest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.64
$9.97
$9.39

Need customer service? Click here