Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 48 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 62 reviews
on January 16, 2014
Gary was a man's man. He was very intelligent and brave. He had one or two character flaws but no one could fault him
for his courage in continuing his investigation. The media is supposed to inform the public not lie to it. Everybody that was with him on this journey was promoted and Gary died by "2" gunshots to the head. I know he made the arrangements and wrote the letters but who could shoot themselves in the head twice? I came of age in the 60's and our media has never been more evil. They lie, lie, lie.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
This is a very important book about a time in US history that has been swept under the carpet and shrouded in secrecy in the intervening years. The story is made more poignant because telling the truth destroyed the authors career and ultimately his life as despair took away his hope and he left this world. But we need these brave soldiers of truth who stand up to the powerful and speak truth to power. He should be a hero. His book should still be in print. This era should be studied in political science classes in universities. Instead, Oliver North has become a hero of the right wing even as a convicted felon and the truth of this shameful era has been shrouded and covered up. This extraordinary book and ground breaking history the author made by breaking the story are awesome but the corporate takeover of all forms of media is serving to silence this voice and many others.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2016
I like this book a lot because it was very evenhanded. I thought it was going to be like most biographical accounts with the author fawn over their subject and shows none of their flaws. Nope not with this one, everything is laid out and we get a sense of what really happened.
Also it was great that the author talked about the journalist life before and after his seminal piece. He even discussed all the previous investigative reporting that he did before he got his big scoop.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2014
I bought the book because of the movie. The book fills in a lot of details and gaps that just can't fit into a movie, which is good. What is bad is it is kind of dry reading. Remember - this is about the reporter, not the guns and drugs. Things that looked exciting and scary in the movie, like bribing your way into a prison or drug airfield in Central America are missing or only very briefly described. The incidents where people try and break into Gary's house are left out as far as I know. So...where they movie fictions to liven things up or just left out or what?
I really thought I needed diagrams and charts at some point to keep track of the players. There are so many ex-CIA agents, sort of CIA hangers-on, pretend CIA agents, and so on it is about impossible to keep track. Bottom line is an unsavory bunch ran drugs, sometimes funded the Contras, and the CIA *at best* did a Sgt. Schultz ( I see Nothing I hear Nothing).
What the book DID do right was show how utterly venal the establishment press was. The NY Times, LA Times, and Washington Post all decided that some combination of hating to be scooped and fearing for loss of CIA inside contacts made it imperative to utterly destroy Gary Webb. They succeeded at it quite well and the Washington Post *is even now* still at it. The really weird thing is how old school this all seems. Just a few years later and Gary Webb would be the star of some anti-government web site and the media wouldn't think twice about tabloid style coverage of anything and everything. Look what MONICA is doing in the OVAL OFFICE OMFG! Anyone seen the President's birth certificate? Poor Gary was born 10 years too soon.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2014
After all these years since Gary Webb was found dead from a rare, two-bullet "suicide," the grand poobahs of American journalism have once again organized a dance-off on his grave in order to protect the republic from the truth about their heroes and Gods: John Poindexter, Oliver North, Edwin Meese and other "true believers" who committed treason by trying to suspend the United States constitution and drown African-American communities in crack.

My message to young reporters is: gets the facts straight, shout down poobahs, and throw yourselves in front in the train, for yours is a higher calling and we need you. Never back down.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2014
Schou's portrait of Gary Webb is stirring. His narrative of the "Dark Alliance" series is captivating. His indictment of Big Media jealousy and institutionalization is damning. The history of Gary Webb's work, crucifixion and subsequent--mostly--exoneration is a reminder that government narratives are almost always false. It's also a reminder that the Fourth Estate has largely been sold to the highest corporate bidder and given a 99-year lease to the federal government.

May Webb's tribe, embodied in people like Glenn Greenwald, increase exponentially.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2015
Love it? Yes but love for the man who basically gave his life for what he believed was right I love more. I have always believed that suicide was for those who were afraid of life. Afraid of living. But now I have to rethink that view.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
Very good! A true story that deserves to be known. All governments have their secrets. I really think that Gary Webb was a great reporter, and it's sad what they have done to him. Saw "Kill the Messenger" and then i read the book, and i found myself admiring this extraordinary man.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
While Gary Webb was researching and writing Dark Alliance, he and I conversed on several occasions. He was aware of my investigation into the murder of Col. James E. Sabow, USMC at Al Toro MCAS in 1991 and the cover-up that followed. The common denominator was our government's involvement in the drug trade. Subsequently Nick Schou and I met and shared our experiences. Nick courageously wrote several article in the Orange County Weekly about Col. Sabow for which I am ever thankful. It is a more than a shame but I deem criminal that the major media including the New York Times, Washington Post and Los Angeles Times panned and degraded the efforts of Gary Webb. I well remember Cokie Roberts and Sam Donaldson also dismissing Gary Webb when it was obvious that they knew absolutely nothing of the San Jose Mercury News three part series on the subject but simply discredited him on the basis of the media bias.

John David Sabow, MD
Board Certified- Neurology
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2010
THE STORY OF GARY WEBB AND THE DETAILS OF HIS DEATH ARE FRIGHTENING...AND TRUE.
HIS INVESTIGATION INTO THE DRUGS FOR GUNS CONNECTION IN LATIN AND CENTRAL AMERICA INVOLVED VERY HIGH LEVEL GOVERNMENT OFFICES...HE PROVED THEIR COMPLICITY AND DARED
TO WRITE ABOUT IT. THE CONSPIRACY REACHED TO THE HIGHEST LEVELS OF OUR GOVERNMENT AND WEBB WAS A HERO FOR THE TENACITY WITH WHICH HE PURSUED THE TRUTH....WEBB'S BOOK 'A DARK ALLIANCE' FOLLOWS THIS WEB OF DECEIT BY THE C.I.A. AND THE D.E.A.,FROM START TO FINISH...WEBB PAID A TRAGIC PRICE FOR HIS COURAGE...HIS LIFE!! READ THE BOOK TO FIND OUT HOW MANY LEVELS OF AUTHORITY CONSPIRED TO END THIS REPORTERS' LIFE.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse