Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Kill Shot: An American Assassin Thriller (A Mitch Rapp Novel)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 31, 2014
Mitch Rapp, Vince Flynn's super hero, super sleuth, super assassin, and super read. Rapp has been loosed on CIA listed terrorists, tracking them, learning their daily habits and eliminating them without leaving anything behind that would connect his identity to their deaths. In Kill Shot, he has been set up, is trapped in the room of his victim, is attacked by a killer group, is able to diminish the numbers of attackers, but is wounded, and only manages to escape at the last best moment. He knows that he has been betrayed and that he was setup, but has the moment to attend to first. In his escape, severely wounded, fleeing the scene he does not make his usual calls to his handlers, suspecting that one of the people may have given his whereabouts and intentions. He devotes time to healing his wounds without making contact, therefore causing them to believe that the nine person death scene including innocent people is a total foul up on the part of Rapp. How the police, the CIA, and the terrorists, all intertwine, makes a very enjoyable read. A must read from Mr. Flynn, who has since died, but has set the bar for those of his genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2012
I have read every book Vince Flynn has written. Until American Assasin, I relished each read. The characters and the complexity of the stories were riveting. When I read American Assasian, I was disappointed but assumed every great writer deserved a break and I enjoyed the simplistic read of how it all began. Sadly, Kill Shot is another sub-standard thriller ... a single thread plot with zero imagination and a predictable outcome. Sadly, Vince has become the Brett Favre of thrill authors. I suggest he start a new series not to further damage his "Mitch Rapp" legacy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2012
I hate to say it, but the only reason I gave this book two stars instead of one is because of Mr. Flynn's body of work and the fact that he is ill. I am just about half way thru it and I don't know if I'll finish it. It's boring. He spends too much time developing stories for minor characters, in my opinion. It's just boring. It is very disapointing. I love the Mitch Rapp series and have been anxiously awaiting this book. I'll wait to read the reviews for the next book before I consider getting it. Epilog.....I finished it cuz I paid for it, and my opinion hasn't changed. It needed a lot more of Mitch Rapp.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 10, 2012
Immediately on the heels of American Assassin: A Thriller, the story of Rapp's earliest days with the CIA, comes "Kill Shot", in which we follow Rapp on his first solo foray in the field.

Rapp is working his way through a list of targets sanctioned for execution, and when he approaches his current target in a Paris hotel room things go drastically wrong. Rapp is ambushed by a team of killers, wounded, and barely manages to make his escape. Innocent civilians are killed in the gunfight. The French police and national intelligence organizations respond immediately, creating a problem for Rapp's bosses at the Agency and setting the stage for a possible diplomatic crisis. Rapp's on the run, wounded, and doesn't know who he can trust, as it's obvious there's a leak in his own organization.

On the home front, concern mounts as young Rapp fails to contact his superiors. What happened? Has he gone rogue? Is he even still alive? Will he have to be executed to prevent a diplomatic break with France? Can this disaster be salvaged?

This is an exciting story of the development of America's premiere intel operative in his early days while he's still earning his stripes. Fast-paced, never a dull moment, this book was thoroughly enjoyable.

It's different from the rest of the series in that at this point in his career, Rapp is still a low-level weapon used by his country to achieve tactical, rather than strategic, goals. So we don't see the high-level political machinations that are the norm in the rest of the series (with the other exception being "American Assassin", for obvious reasons). So in that respect, it's a less complex story than the usual Rapp fare.

But don't let that deter you; there's still plenty to like in this high-octane offering from Vince Flynn. A solid 4 stars.
1313 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 28, 2015
This is a good, solid thriller. CIA assassin Mitch Rapp makes a hit on a target in Paris, the Libyan oil minister, only to find out he’s been set up. He doesn’t know by whom, but suspects the very few people at the CIA who know of his existence. He’s wounded, kills most but not all of his assailants, and goes to ground. Meanwhile the big pile of bodies found at a major hotel creates a sensation.

Rapp’s major internal adversary, veteran spook Stan Hurley, blames it on Rapp, and sets in motion a plot to capture or kill him, aided by his own toughest hitter Victor. Rapp’s controller Irene Kennedy and her boss Thomas Stansfield don’t know what to make of it and must go to Paris to investigate.

The French police find their investigating progress stymied by their own intelligence agency. Lead detective Francine Neville suspects her own former boyfriend, French intelligence agent Paul Fournier, is tied to whatever is going on.

It’s a fine, tight read as the CIA leadership tracks Rapp – and Rapp tracks his trackers, using all his solo-operator resourcefulness. Flynn uses the Paris setting to great advantage – from modern hotels to medieval catacombs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2012
If you like Vince Flynn novels, you will love this book. This is about Rapp's early carrier in the CIA, and adds depth to his character's development. This is not the typical Mitch against terrorist thugs, but a conflict within his own organization. If you are a fan, you know he survives, but the ending opens up options for novels about his later career. I have read all of the Vince Flynn novels, and look forward to his next. Vince - many prayers coming your way for a complete recovery.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 19, 2012
When you have written over a dozen books based around the same character (Mitch Rapp) there must come a time when an author starts to run out of steam. Having got to the end of the original time-line, in American Assassin Vince Flynn wrote a prequel of the early days of Mitch Rapp - this book is the sequel of the prequel! Some authors can get away with this (so far Lee Child has changed the timing of his Jack Reacher novels pretty successfully) but with this book Vince Flynn is starting to run out of steam.

No longer do we see the Mitch Rapp who gets involved with doing great things that impact the government of the country (including his close relationship with the fictional US President and battles with Cabinet and Congress leaders). Here we see Mitch in his early days as an assassin with a kill list of persons associated with terrorism.

Because of betrayal one of his kills goes badly wrong. The action is fast and furious, the old characters are there in less senior CIA positions, but it lacks the important panache and settings of the earlier books in the series.

I read recently that Vince Flynn is being treated for advanced prostate cancer. He seems to be facing up to this in a Mitch Rapp way when he says that it is "a battle I do not plan on losing". I wish him well and hope to read more of his books in the future.

I purchased this book from Australia on pre-release at a low price and was sent the US edition - and I have posted this review on that edition's ASIN number, which already has 140 reviews (average 3 stars). I am posting this review again on the Australian ASIN number as there is only one review so far on that edition (not surprising as there may not be many sales as the Australian price set by the publisher is 66% higher than the current price for the US edition).
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
A fan of Flynn's, I love reading Mitch Rapp adventures which are always fast moving, interesting and fun to read. "Kill Shot" moves swiftly with intrigue and characters who are entirely deplorable! Thanks, Vince Flynn, for a great story!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2012
Not up to Vince Flynn's previous standard. I looked forward to this and was very disappointed. It seemed to me that there was an extreme amount of foul language that hasn't been present in previous Flynn books to the extent that I wondered if he really wrote this one. Last two historical Rapp stories not great.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
I discovered Mitch Rapp one day nosing around on Amazon and bought it and fell in love with Mitch!! I went and printed off the Mitch Rapp books in order off Vince Flynn's site and started buying and listening to them in order. Armand Schultz is the perfect voice for Mitch!!! I was about to book #9 when someone told me that Vince Flynn had died during the summer of 2013, I was heartbroken. Such a brilliant man cut short in his prime and when I was done with book #13 Mitch would be gone. I have since finished the series and still miss Mitch very much
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse