Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Killer Clan
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports STEM

Price:$5.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 6, 2012
Where do I even start? The costumes are fantastic, the sets are gorgeous, the fighting (what there is) is good stuff, the performances are great (especially Ku Feng and Yueh Hua)...but the plot and the script are mind-blowing. This movie has enough plot twists and double-crosses (and triple crosses - all I can say is pay ATTENTION to what's happening and who's who) to bend your brain permanently into the shape of a pretzel. Secret passages, a brothel/clearinghouse for assassins, archers and ninjas waiting behind every door and pillar...this movie is a near-fatal overdose of adventure and intrigue injected directly into your eyeballs. And a few seconds of tasteless nudity! What more could you want?! Tragedy, you say? Some o' that...keep the kleenex box nearby. Stand-up-and-cheer villain-comeuppance? Check. The pimpest of pimpdaddys? Ku Feng, sucker. And a pinch of romance.

The word "spectacular" comes to mind. I'm not being sarcastic - it's an all-out entertainment assault. This is one I can't get tired of.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2011
This movie has a lot of good fighting scenes and the movie is very well acted. There is so many twist and turns in this movie, I would called them power struggles. I really enjoyed this movie, especially the end.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2014
I own over 300 martials arts dvds and it is very unlikely that I will ever watch this one again, First, the good news is that this film does possess an interesting storyline. A storyline that goes beyond the standard, "You killed my Master" revenge film. There is plenty of trickery and deception in the script to keep you guessing just who the good guys are. Now the bad news, the fight scenes are extremely anti-climatic, and that's being polite. And to make matters worse the movie seems to end in the middle of the story. There is zero hand to hand combat, just special weapons. The editing of the fight scenes was poorly done causing you to guess how they got from one position to the next.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As I have mentioned in my previous reviews, I have had a lifetime love of anything to do with the martial arts and numerous weapon systems. I also love most of the Asian martial arts films, even though many times the fight scenes do not resemble in anyway real life combat. Nevertheless, I do find most of them entertaining and fun to watch.

This one (Killer Clans) is one of the Shaw Brothers classic collection. They are probably the most well known of the early Asian martial arts film producers. After the classic movie Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon came out and won tons of awards, interest in the Asian martial art films increased greatly. These older films, like this one came out on DVD and are still popular today.

This film is about two battling clans who are competing to control the martial arts world. There are various complex deceptions and double crosses going on in this movie and it is sometimes difficult to determine who is supposed to be the good guys or bad guys. This same kind of theme is often seen in these Asian martial art films. Nevertheless, the weapon fight scenes in this DVD are well worth seeing. The story moves along at a fast pace with plenty of martial art and weapon fighting scenes. This is a fun movie to watch in my opinion.

In conclusion, if you like Asian martial arts films you will enjoy this film.

Rating: 4 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Season of the Warrior: A poetic tribute to warriors)
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2011
i really enjoyed this movie. 2 thumbs up. a lot of fighting scenes the storyline was good. a great buy for any martial arts viewer.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2012
This is a classic movie. Classic shaw brothers.. i really enjoyed it. Would recommend to any other people who loke martial art movies especially the original ones put out.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2013
I am a true fan of Maritial arts movies and the action is great. I love Shaw Brothers their movies never gets old to me.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2014
Great action, great fight scenes, skillful actors. The plots tend to always be the same (avenging a murdered master, rescuing a kidnapped girl, challenging a drug lord, etc….). But I watch them for the great choreographed fight scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2013
This movie was fantastic! Especially for the price! Reminds me of watching Kung-Fu Theater with my father. Can't beat less than $10 for a little childhood nostalgia.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2012
Run Run Shaw another classic for the collection. Great story line, chorograph, an plot all that good stuff that makes this a good movie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse