Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Killzone Mercenary
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$26.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 11, 2013
Many had already played the Multi-player beta and most of the people loved it. Now, with the full release gamers will discover than there is more to this game than the MP.

First of all, Killzone Mercenary looks beautiful and runs without noticeable slowdowns on the PS Vita's impressive OLED screen. The game's graphic engine is a modified version of Killzone 3 rendering engine, a PS3 game. With some obvious textures and effects downscaling still, Mercenary is the best looking game on the PS Vita and the best looking portable FPS shooter I've ever had the delight of playing.

So, for those who were not able to enjoy the beta the multi-player is pretty much standard comparing it to a console game, you've got 3 modes (Mercenary Warfare, Guerilla Warfare, and Warzone). The first two modes were not available to play while the game was on closed and public beta. The first two modes are Death Match and Team Death Match respectively. Warzone is a team based mode with set strategic objectives in each of it's 5 rounds. You have to collect valor cards (dropped by an enemy when you kill it, or by an ally when it gets killed), interrogate enemies, hack van-guard capsules (twice), and kill as many enemies as you can. All of these 3 modes can be played in 6 decently proportioned maps. Multi-player is as robust as it gets for a handheld game: collectibles, ranks, a variety of weapons, and the van-guard modules.

Now, aside from the Multi-player mode, the game includes a 5-6 hour 9-mission single-player campaign that can be played in 3 difficulty levels plus contracts, which will take you back to single-player campaign missions to complete various objectives and get some extra money for it, which will help you to level up (leveling up depends on your total accumulated money) and buying new equipment from the arms dealer.

Money, money money... Everything you do on the game gives you money. From killing an enemy to just grabbing some ammo from the floor, you get a reward for almost everything you do in-game, in single-player mode and in multi-player mode. Your cash, equipment, and rank are shared between the single-player mode and the multi-player mode. This gives a chance to players that prefer to mostly play the single-player mode to enter a multi-player match whenever they want and not be humiliated by players who had been playing MP only and have already unlocked everything there is to unlock or max-leveled.

Unlike the two big shooter games that came for the PS Vita before it (Resistance: Burning Skies and Call Of Duty Black Ops: Declassified)Killzone Mercenary has done it! It has created a console-like FPS experience on a handheld that has been through some tough times because of the lack of games like this. This game is a technical marvel and a game every PS Vita owner who enjoys FPS games should get. The reviews from the critics do not seem to get the fact that this is pretty much a revolutionary portable FPS done right, extremely right. In my humble opinion, the critics reviews absolutely DO NOT make this awesome game the justice it deserves. You just have to try it by yourself. I guarantee you, you won't be disappointed.
1212 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2013
Killzone Mercenary is the Vita game we have been waiting for. This game is a battery killer because you wont want to put it down! You will be hooked for hours on the first play through until you get a headach like me! As soon as you start playing it you get excited because of how beautiful it looks and feels. It feels like a real FPS in the palm of your hands. It's fun, engaging and satisfying

Let's dive deeper:

Controls- the controls feel great. The buttons are set up just like a FPS would be on the PS3. You can use the buttons or the touch screen/ rear touch pad. Touch the screen to open doors, pick up ammo, set a bomb, and kill your enemy with a mele. Also, you can use the rear touch pad to run faster. You think it would feel weird, but it actually works since your fingers are closer to the back pad than to the O button.

The only issue I have with the controls is that after playing for a while, my hands hurts. But I think that's only because playing multiplayer for a long time will do that to anyone.

Graphics- This game looks like a console game. Maybe not as good as recent PS3 games, but at least as good (if not better) than older PS3 games. So just like every new console, the graphics will only get better from here. But don't get me wrong, the game looks beauitful as is. Multiplayer looks amazing! And the funny thing is, it looks better than Call of Duty game I have ever played on my PS3.

Multiplayer - Multiplayer just has 3 modes. Pretty much it's Free For All, 4 vs 4 death match, and Warzone (which some of you played on the Beta) My favorite? The free for all! It is so fun to have that "every man for themselves" feeling. The scoring isn't by points. It's by cash. For every kill you get, you get cash that you can spend on new guns (same for story mode) The maps are wonderful! The one in the Beta felt small after a while, but the other maps feel too big for only 8 players. But they are fun to explore.

Spawning is fast and sometimes you will get killed as soon as you come back. But that never happened more than once in a match.

Single Player- Haven't played more than the first mission, but it was really good. So far, the story seems pretty bad ass and its keeping it simple. It takes place between Killzone 1 and 2, so thats cool as well. I can't wait to play all the missions (even though I hear it's a short story).

Overall, as soon as you start playing this game you are going to realize it is one of the best games for the Vita. I can't wait to finish this review so I can go play it again!
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2013
It is simply amazing how beautiful this game is in the PS Vita. I still can't believe the game looks almost as good as its PS3 counterparts.

And most importantly, it is a lot if fun. The combat is fast, frantic, and challenging. The controls on the Vita work great and allow for some cool melee attacks with the touch screen.

Multiplayer is very smooth and varied enough to keep you coming back for more.

If you own a vita this game is must own. If you don't, it might be worth picking one up to play it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2013
Killzone mercenary has had a lot of hype since it was announced a while back. Now, the game is here, and it is a must buy.
Story: the story is outstanding and takes place just after the ending of the original killzone. You take control of the mercenary name Arran Danner. No spoilers to the story, you'll find out after the evacuation of the ambassadors son what will happen. Although, it felt fairly linear. Overall 4/5
Gameplay:
A neat thing about this game is the options you have of whether going to be fighting with isa specialists or helghast forces. Also, you have a money reward system, which gives you money for Everything. That's pretty cool because you feel the progression, but it could've been toned down a bit.
Overall 4/5
Controls: the controls feel spot on with this game, and we could thank that to the 2nd analog stick and touch screen controls. I felt like everything was brought together in harmony. Overall 5/5
Presentation/graphics: the producers said mercenary is running on killzone 3's engine, and yeah, but it's been toned down a lot. The game will stutter occasionally, but only in heated combat. The graphics, I felt could be better, but are good.
Overall 4/5
Multiplayer; this is another stand out feature of this game with 3 modes and strong maps I felt this really nailed it. Felt fun and rewarding.
Overall 5/5
Replayability is totally here, thanks to rewards and troughs, and with multiplayer, makes a solid package.
Overall 5/5
Overall, killzone mercenary is a must buy, despite its minor flaws. It has a lot of things going for it. Would I recommend it? Yes. Should you buy it? Yeah! Stop reading reviews and go get it. The best experience on ps vita to date.
1010 comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2013
Seriously, has the best graphics I have seen yet on the vita and is on the same level as with some FPS shooters I have played on ps3/pc. Definitely worth the price! Buy this game to support the developers who took a risk by making a game for a system that isn't selling well and hopefully by buying this will increase sales and show other developers to make games for the vita. Only way we can get more great games like this one is if people support the system and spread the word.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2014
I'll rate the game based off my Normal difficulty play-though.

Graphics: Great (what I've come to expect with the powerful new hardware)

Offline campaign: Surprisingly long compared to what I've heard about Black ops declassified. The offline campaign (for me, an average/hardcore gamer- not just an fps fanatic) ran around 8 hours.

Online multi-player: Addictive.

Without spoiling too much, I'd like to add that there are a few neat features they added to the game such as power ups and weapon upgrades that can help you complete certain missions, they did a good job mixing up the gameplay in some areas of this game.

Things I didn't like.

Controls: The controls can feel a bit stiff in the heat of certain combat situations. It's a FPS (First person shooter) game which means it can get control-intensive at times, and it's not always easy for me to move my fingers around the smaller button layout on the vita, but that's more of a personal issue, I don't know that everyone will have the same problem, but for me the controls felt a bit clunky at times. Which brings me to the gimmicky controls-

Gimmicks: Ok.. So, if you're a core gamer (You like traditional videogames such as racing games, FPS's, action/adventure games that DON'T have motion controls etc.) You'll know what I'm talking about. There are needless touch screen commands that you are required to master in order to perform many basic things in this game. Such as melee attacks. A core function in any decent fps, but in this new game, instead of just hitting a single button to melee, they also add random quick time events which require you to swipe your finger across the screen at whichever direction is indicated. For me, it just felt like they went out of their way to add touch screen functionality when it really wasn't needed. It felt tacked on and in most cases, made the gameplay feel sloppy. Touch is also required for basic things, like reloading however, these are less annoying. Sadly, turning the swipe controls off are not an option. So because of this, I have no choice but to subtract a star.

Last but not least, The gameplay: As I said before, it's an FPS, so the gameplay gets a bit repetitive at certain points, especially towards the end of the game. Seemingly endless waves of enemies simply mob you at times, leaving you wandering, how on earth are you to survive a scenario like this? Grinding repetitive gameplay is something that plagues just about any shooting/action game nowadays but it's still annoying to me.

Overall, it's a good game. If you have a ps vita already, and if you like fps games at all, this is a no brainer, especially for under 20 bucks. Hopefully this info steers you in the right direction. I wanted to put a few more details out there, something other than "The game rocks. The graphics are great" or "This game sucks or, it's ok" lol, happy gaming.
33 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2013
A really capable FPS with a great control scheme and one of the best games to buy if you own a Vita. Having played all of the Killzone series, I can honestly say that this truly captures the spirit, intensity, and fun of the PS2/PS3/PSP versions. The graphics on the OLED screen are excellent (I frankly forget I'm playing a handheld). The only minor concern would be a more limited number of maps for multiplayer (perhaps fixed by DLC later?) The single player part of the game is very engaging and I am finding it has plenty of replay value as I try different paths through the maps as well as different tactics and load outs.

For gamers (like me) who are NOT totally hardcore shooter players and don't have nano-second reflexes, don't worry. The game has three difficulty settings and you can still clear a level with guile, good weapon choices, and a good plan.

Note about saving: Although there are check points throughout each level (and you can create your own checkpoint by stopping at the weapon seller's crates), you do need to complete a level in order for the game to be "saved". Levels usually take me ~30 minutes. If you need to stop BEFORE you have completed a level, just put the Vita into sleep mode rather than turn it off. You'll be able to start right where you left off. Once you've cleared a level, it's saved and you can rerun it at anytime for fun and profit.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
This really is a console quality FPS. The graphics are excellent, the sounds are good. It's not too easy and it's not too hard. You will spend a lot of time building your load outs, learning maps, etc. I was skeptical at first, especially after COD for Vita was so weak, and Unit 13 lost appeal quickly. However, this is the game you will play until the sequel comes out. It's the COD MW2 of the Vita, really. You'll play it for years and not care about any other games.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2013
I've played this game more in two days than I've played anything else on the vita up until now.

It's fun, a great addition to the vita, the first really good shooter for the vita, and a nice game to tide you over until the big killzone game comes out on the PS4 in a few months.

Vanguard system is very useful, combat is amazing, love getting headshots and earning money to buy more weapons.

I find the melee gets repeative actions very quickly, and it sucks that your missing progress isn't saved until after the mission, so don't turn off you handheld. Also, multiplayer is very hard since you die with one shot instead of having the ability to heal. Also, you need like 5GB on your memory card if you download from PSN so having the cartridge is necessary until the 64GB memory card comes out. And I wish you could skip the movie cutscenes, because I don't care about the story, the story isn't great, but the gameplay is!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
I played the beta and was excited by the multiplayer aspect. it was fast and stable. I finally got the retail version yesterday and let me tell you- this game delivers!! the graphics are incredible and the controls are tight with just the right amount of touchscreen interaction. go buy this game for your Vita now!! you wont regret it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 18 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here