Amazon Vehicles Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Gifts for Dad Shop Popular Services twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
37
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$49.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 37 reviews
on January 28, 2017
Be very careful when ordering. I purchased this DVD through Amazon and received it from Zoverstocks in England. I mised the note that it may not work on Equipment in United States. They will allow a return for credit but not shipping fees and you have to pay the shipping fees to return it. Be sure to read the "FINE PRINT" before ordering. Cheap prices do not always mean that the product is good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2016
This is not a typical western but it is very entertaining. I saw part of this on TV but it never came back, so I bought it on blu ray. Well worth the price and the blu ray is great. It is not one of Cables best movies but it is a good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2017
Had to return the dvd, not for use in the USA, really looking forward to seeing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon July 12, 2009
After co-starring in 1955's "The Tall Men", Clark Gable and Jane Russell (along with her husband) formed their own company, Gabco (in association with Russ-Field Productions). Jane Russell's "The Revolt of Mamie Stover" was one of the first features under the Gabco banner, closely followed by Clark Gable's THE KING AND FOUR QUEENS in 1956.

In THE KING AND FOUR QUEENS (directed by Raoul Walsh), Gable plays con-man Dan Kehoe, who learns of a fortune in gold buried by the four outlaw McDade brothers--three have been killed whilst the fourth is still missing. The treasure is guarded by the brothers' gun-toting mother (Jo Van Fleet) and her four daughters-in-law. Determined to keep everything in order until the surviving brother returns, Ma has forced all four McDade wives to remain at the family property. When Dan arrives to stake his own claim on the McDade gold, the girls (led by Eleanor Parker, Barbara Nichols, Jean Willes and Sara Shane) provide a perfect distraction...

To be honest, the main reason why I picked up this disc was because of Eleanor Parker. Funnily enough this is the third western starring Parker that I've reviewed in the last few weeks (following "Escape from Fort Bravo" and "Many Rivers to Cross"). Whilst she's top-billed with Clark Gable in the credits and delivers fine work, her role is only slightly larger than the other three women. In truth, the biggest part goes to Jo Van Fleet as the crusty old mother; she won the Academy Award that same year for her performance as James Dean's mother in "East of Eden".

The DVD is bare-bones (there isn't even a menu!), but the anamorphic print is in great shape with little damage.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2005
Raoul Walsh, one of the greatest action movie directors ever, must have decided to turn the Western genre, which he knew well, on its ear. The King and Four Queens is not your typical Western, or your typical Walsh film.
Gable plays fugitive Dan Kehoe, who ends up in a town with only five inhabitants, all women. Four are the wives of a notorious group of outlaw brothers who stole a fortune and hid it out somewhere in the town. The fifth woman is the boys' mother, played by Jo Van Fleet. All of the women are waiting for the boys to show up.

The young women are all fighting over Kehoe, while the mother constantly holds him at gunpoint. Kehoe says he just wants to be on his way, but the mother and one of the wives are very mistrustful. Much comedy and maneuvering ensues.

This is not an action western. Instead, it is one of hijinks, quips, and repartee. Gable and Van Fleet are particularly entertaining. If you want gunplay and fisticuffs, stay away, but if you want a solid western comedy, check this film out.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2016
Any Gable movie is worth watching. But he this toward the end of his career. He looks great. The story isn't the greatest,
but I would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2009
Released in 1956, "The King and Four Queens" provided another role, tailor-made for the "King of MGM", Clark Gable. As the title suggests, Mr. Gable had four leading ladies in this western ( Eleanor Parker, Jean Willes, Barbara Nichols and Sara Shane ),and plenty of opportunity to turn on that famous Gable charm.

Four young women had all married outlaws--three of these men, all brothers, are dead, but a fourth may still live. Somewhere on their property, $ 100,000 in gold lies buried, and they know that the husband who may still be alive will likely return to dig it up. Guarding the four women with a very itchy trigger finger is the mother of the outlaw brothers--Jo Van Fleet, giving us the best acting performance in the film. "Ma" also knows where the gold is buried.

With the smell of gold drawing him like a moth to a flame, Mr. Gable's rascally character enters the women's property, only to be greeted by a bullet from Ms. Van Fleet's rifle ! Of course, over her objections, the four, lonely young women are only too pleased to nurse him back to health, where he is soon "charming" them all in turn.

I like Clark Gable as much as any classic film buff, and Eleanor Parker is one of my favourite leading ladies. However, although the film is handsomely mounted, and directed by Raoul Walsh, I have to say I was disappointed. "That's it ?" I said to myself when it was over. The plot is pretty sparse--apart from the four women competing for our hero's attention under the disapproving eye of Ms. Van Fleet, it is pretty slow going. "Frankly My Dears"--nothing much happens !

The DVD has beautiful, widescreen colour--the sound what you would expect--there are no extras.

I'm sure there are other viewers out there who will disagree with my negative comments, but this surely has to be one of Clark Gable's lesser films. My three star rating is largely based on the Gable charisma, Ms. Parker's attractiveness and Ms. Van Fleet's acting--otherwise, considering the talent involved, this one is quite routine.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2017
Item arrived on time and as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2017
It was recieved right away. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2016
I really enjoy the old classic movies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here