Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $13.96 (82%)

kindle unlimited logo
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

King of the Roses: A Horse Racing Mystery by [V. S. Anderson]
Kindle App Ad

King of the Roses: A Horse Racing Mystery Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$2.99

Length: 370 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

Intricately plotted, filled with interesting track types and vivid descriptions of what the author calls "the Derby week buffoonery," this is an impressive debut by a superb writer. In addition to the never-lets-down suspense, there are two elements that deserve special mention: the bitter, pungent dialogue and the magnificently exciting description of the race itself. --Publishers Weekly

No racing novel since the advent of Dick Francis's series of mysteries has captured my admiration like this book. Highly reminiscent of Francis's work, King of the Roses is a mystery with a racetrack theme. . . . I have always felt that Dick has no peer. Now I'm not so certain. V. S. Anderson (be the author a man or a woman?) is first class. . . . To those of you readers who enjoy Dick Francis, I rate King of the Roses a must.--Maryland Horse

The suspense grows on every page following the bribe offer. There's plenty of romantic interest, skullduggery and violence. . . . Finally, the Derby is run in less time than it takes to describe it--but the description itself is one of the most exciting whodunit chapters you're ever likely to come across. San Diego Magazine

Fast-paced and realistic, this first novel is entertaining. Library Journal

Dick Francis had better look to his fetlocks with V. S. Anderson's arrival on the racing track. London Times

[Anderson] bares the soaring spirit of the great animals bred to run and the men who race them this tense, suspenseful drama of the racetrack. . . .Anderson's words roll onto the page, vivid, stark, powerful and perfect. Associated Press

I don't recommend it for bedtime relaxation; the suspense will keep you up much too late. St. Petersburg Times

[A] better than average mystery. Atlantic Monthly

From the Publisher

King of the Roses is one of the most exciting novels of racing ever written. It overflows with the glory and heartbreak of the way of life it recreates, from the first page to the last.

Product details

  • File Size: 1272 KB
  • Print Length: 370 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publication Date: June 30, 2015
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B010QWR6DA
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #571,488 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 3 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

November 15, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
May 22, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
April 10, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

King of the Roses: A Horse Racing Mystery
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: King of the Roses: A Horse Racing Mystery