Kindle Price: $5.99

Save $2.00 (25%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

King of Thorns (The Broken Empire Book 2) by [Lawrence, Mark]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

King of Thorns (The Broken Empire Book 2) Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 589 customer reviews
Book 2 of 3 in The Broken Empire (3 Book Series)

See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$5.99

Length: 458 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Save on all things Kindle
click to open popover

Complete Series

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

It’s been four years since Prince Jorg avenged his mother’s death by killing his uncle and taking his throne. In that time, the young prince has matured mentally and physically and has prepared his small mountain kingdom for war. Opening with the arrival of an army of more than 20,000 soldiers and Jorg’s hasty wedding to a young princess, the novel is split between the war in the present and lengthy flashbacks to earlier years; the source of the flashbacks is a mysterious copper box that Jorg keeps with him at all times. The box, which holds the king’s memories, is designed to keep his past safe from his dream-walking enemies. Lawrence masterfully builds tension here, using the few frantic days of battle as the framework for his larger story. Readers who first met Jorg in Prince of Thorns (2011) will cheer for the return of one of fantasy’s most violent, yet strangely likable, antiheroes, and those new to his story will find it easy enough to start here (but they will be eager to jump back to book 1). Set hundreds of years in the future after a disaster ended the time of the Builders, this is epic fantasy only lightly touched by science fiction, and the combination of dark fantasy, male characters, and plenty of violence makes it a perfect read-alike for fans of Brent Weeks and Joe Abercrombie. --Jessica Moyer

Review

“This dark and gritty fantasy adventure should please fans of military fantasy and no-frills action.”—Library Journal

“The whole book is really like one action scene that doesn’t end...King of Thorns is epic fantasy on a George R. R. Martin scale, but on speed.”—Fixed on Fantasy
 
“An excellent novel...King of Thorns is very good, more complex, perhaps more ambitious than Prince of Thorns.”—sffworld.com
 
“A tour de force. ‘Impressive’ doesn’t even begin to describe its content. Truly a phenomenal series so far.”—Choice Book Reviews
 
King of Thorns is a novel that solidifies Mark Lawrence’s place as one of fantasy’s most talented authors.”—Fantasy Faction

“This is a dark story that demands attention from its readers but also rewards them immensely for their attention in the end. Read King of Thorns to be shocked and awed by the boy who would be king.”—Fantasy Book Critic

 


Product details

  • File Size: 1697 KB
  • Print Length: 458 pages
  • Publisher: Ace; 1 edition (August 7, 2012)
  • Publication Date: August 7, 2012
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0072NWJ3Y
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #25,413 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Fantasy Books
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Sports Books
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Science Fiction Books
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

August 30, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
December 31, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
April 19, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

King of Thorns (The Broken Empire Book 2)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: King of Thorns (The Broken Empire Book 2)