Industrial Deals Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$25.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 471 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 566 reviews
on August 24, 2013
One of the best things I can say about the 3DS is that the hardware is amazing, allowing for a handheld gaming experience equivalent to a slightly scaled back PS2 game. This all works in 3D's favor, as it provides fans with an experience not held back by hardware limitations like the DS games were, and provides a similar feeling to the original 2 games as well as Birth By Sleep.

The confusingly named Kingdom Hearts 3D Dream Drop Distance has to deal with a powerful goal: combining the huge cluster storm of a story that has been told in the previous handheld games, and somehow tie them all together, while setting up the highly anticipated third installment in the series, no matter if it has to use multi-layered storytelling, insistent terminology of its mythology, and ret-cons. Loads and loads of ret-cons.

3D takes place after Kingdom Hearts 2, and follows directly after the secret ending of re:Coded. Sora, Riku and the gang have to deal with the fact that (spoiler alert) Xehanort is coming back. To prepare, Master Yen Sid has Sora and Riku take what is known as the Mark of Mastery exam. Unlike the one seen in BBS, however, this is different. Sora and Riku must travel to 7 Sleeping Worlds, worlds that have returned after being attacked by Heartless but are still in a "sleeping state." In order to do this, they must enter a dream state themselves. Things get... complicated, to say the least, and eventually Riku and Sora are split up and they find themselves encountering old foes and an even bigger plan than they thought.

3D takes what was already a complicated story and makes it even more complicated. New elements are introduced to advance the story, but as a result end up complicating previous events in the story to make it work. The overall result is something very confusing. Luckily, the developers realized this, and they added flashbacks and journal entries that summarize all the previous games, just in case there was something you missed. For the most part, they're not bad, and they do an okay job, but the problem I seem to have is that they never really get into the terminology and definition of the previous games. What exactly are nobodies? Why are memories so important? What is all this talk about hearts and the X-blade? It does an okay job, and by the end I'm sure you'll understand, but it's still something worth noting. Furthermore, most of the important story exposition is reserved for the very end, meaning a massive amount of the story is spent trying to figure out exactly what's going on, and then the end is spent trying to make sense of all this new info you've acquired.

If I'm making it sound like I dislike the story of 3D, I apologize, as I actually really like the story, especially near the end, when everything comes together. It introduces new elements, advances and develops our protagonists in believable and natural ways, and makes the stakes actually feel severe, which is a problem a lot of recent (ex: re:Coded) Kingdom Hearts seemed to have. It gives a lot to work with for the third game, and makes me excited to see the path they go down.

Gameplay wise, there's very little to complain about. It's Kingdom Hearts. It plays like Kingdom Hearts. It uses a slightly simplified command deck system from BBS. Keyblade upgrades are the same. Kingdom Hearts 3D is different in two matters, however: Flowmotion and the Dreameater system.

Flowmotion is similar to the reaction commands from 2, but with more emphasis on movement and (as the name implies) flow rather than a button that just lets you do cool things. Flowmotion is an interesting idea itself, but I found that the more I continued playing the game, the less I used it. Getting stuck in Flowmotion makes you more vulnerable to enemy attack. It's main benefit is that it's a quick way to do some damage, but it won't do you much good if you get killed before you finish it.

The Dreameater system seems to be this game's replacement for Donald and Goofy, as well as a mix of a Pokemon/Nintendogs system. Basically, throughout the game you gather supplies and recipes to create dream eater companions, each with their own set of skills and inevitable cuteness. With these, they can fight with you, heal you, and do special limit attacks similar to the Drive forms from 2 in a way. Also included is a mode where you can play VR games and have a giant petting session with your Spirit Dreameater. They're very interesting ideas, and maybe it's just because I didn't play the game right, but it sort of seems superfluous in a way. I couldn't really see any benefit to participating in it, and for the most part I didn't have the desire to. My main focus in the game was Kingdom Hearts, not the Nintendogs system that comes with it. Then again, to each their own. I'm sure there's some that love it and really got into it, and it's really a rather well made gamemode, but it just wasn't something I was interested in.

Another change is the drop system. The game shares a campaign with both Sora and Riku as playable characters, but rather go the BBS route and have you play each character's story separately, 3D has you switch between characters while you're playing. I mean literally. Next to your health bar is a meter that slowly decreases over time. When it reaches zero, you switch over to the other character exactly where you are. The drawback is that this happens against your will everywhere. Even in boss fights. The aggravating thing about being dropped in a boss fight is that when you return, you have to start the entire boss over again. There was a time where I so close to defeating a boss, only to suddenly be dropped before I could get the final few hits. This ended up with me having to replay the boss fight 4 additional times past that fact. Surely they could have devised a way to either return you as you left off in the boss fight like they do everywhere else in the game, or turn off the drop meter as soon as you enter a boss fight.

Luckily, the drop system isn't all bad because of the DP upgrades. Throughout the game, as you slay enemies you get what are known as "Drop Points." The drop points are a currency that can be used to purchase temporary advancements, items, and slowing down of the drop meter when you switch to another character. This is a mechanic that can, with enough motivation, can be abused enough to where if you feel under powered in a boss fight, quickly drop, collect some DP as the other character, use the DP to upgrade whatever you want in the drop menu, and then face the boss as the original character.

The worlds of Kingdom Hearts 3D step the bar. It's refreshing that the 7 Sleeping Worlds (minus Traverse Town) are all based off of previously unused Disney properties, meaning that for those who have grown tired of Agrabah or Olympus Collesium can finally get some kind of change. All of the worlds are rather fun to play, each very interesting in its story and design. Special mention goes out to the levels based on Fantasia. The lack of sound and the use of orchestra music, as well as famous imagery from the film, makes it one of the best levels Kingdom Hearts has seen.

If I did have one gripe about the worlds in 3D, it's that they feel far too small. Most of the time worlds amount to a handful of separate areas where you simply go straight, fighting enemies along the way. The end result makes most of the worlds feel slightly repetitive. It would be nice to see some wider areas, or some more complex areas like Traverse Town. Although, to be fair, it is already pushing the limits of a handheld system, so I'll cut it some slack in the size regard.

Reading this you may get the impression that I think 3D is a very flawed game. While the game certainly does have it's flaws, I'm jmerely nitpicking it in comparison with the others. In reality, it's one of the best games available for the 3DS at the time being, and a very worthy Kingdom Hearts game. For the most part, it closes up the Handheld Saga well and gets everything ready for 3. Highly recommended.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2017
My game came as described new in box. Shipping was very fast. Kingdom Hearts is a game with an enduring storyline and whimsical graphics. The presentation is always top notch and Dream Drop Distance does not disappoint. The new moves are very impressive that you can pull off in this action RPG. Music is also a staple of the Kingdom Heart Series and this version might very well be the best ever for the series. Any fan of action RPG's will love this game. To me it's not quite as good as a Zelda action RPG but it holds its own as an excellent experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2015
Kingdom Hearts- Dream Drop Distance is a different edition of Kingdom Hearts. It draws away from the classic Final Fantasy orientation to characters of the game "The World Ends With You." Throughout the game, you follow Sora and Riku as they explore worlds through different 'dimensions.' You cannot play as either character for too long, or you will "Drop" to the next character and go through their individual storylines. This feature is somewhat annoying, because if you drop during a boss battle, you will lose your progress during the battle and have to start it over.

The new enemies are called "Dream Eaters." They put a new spin with them. There is a type of Dream Eater that you can own as a battle companion. You train it like a pet, as it resembles real animals. They can actually help during battles, but more often than not, they get in the way.

There is a new transportation system, which brings your character to jumping off walls, spinning around poles to travel the worlds incredibly fast. It's a great way to get around when you're in a rush, or are playing for story rather than adventure. I use it a lot, and it's quite intuitive when you get used to it.

The levels include the likes of an expanded version of Traverse Town, which includes a significantly larger version of the level to explore, including a fourth district, and the ability to explore a massive post office. It also includes Tron, Prankster's Paradise (An amusement park,) the Humpback of Notre Dame, and many other levels. They're all very well designed.

Graphics compete with the PS2 games. The textures are all very crisp, the effects are all very well done, and the only thing that possibly lacks is the antialiasing. However, that is understandable due to the 3DS's low resolution. I cannot comment on the 3D effects because I played this game on a 2DS.

I think the story felt like a plot filler to hold people over till Kingdom Hearts 3. But then again, all of the mobile Kingdom Hearts games feel that way.

Overall:
Graphics: 9/10
Gameplay: 8/10
Storyline: 7/10 (This is debatable, however.)
Level Design: 10/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2015
The Kingdom Hearts series is my favorite franchise of all time. This particular game is very fun, sporting the best combat in any of the games.
The new Flow Motion ability which allows you to use your environment for awesome attacks will have you jumping and swinging all over, on top of the countless numbers of attacks, skills magic and other powers that Kingdom Hearts games are always loaded with.
You do not fight heartless in this game, but a new type of enemy called Dream Eaters. To aid in this fight, you get a whole slew of partners...no not disney characters...but the anti dream eater. They are basically Pokemon that you collect and customize, each providing you with perks and attacks. You can care for these creatures by petting them, feeding them and playing with them, which is kind of annoying some times, but it helps them level up and become more powerful, which is always a good thing.
You visit a lot of new areas, probably the most new disney worlds since Kingdom Hearts 2, which grants you many new characters to visit. They even put the characters from "The World Ends With You" (another square enix game for DS) in it, though they serve no purpose other than fan appeal.
The "Drop" system in the game has you switch between Sora and Riku as regular intervals. You have a drop meter, which constantly empties,and can be sped up or slowed down. When the meter runs out, you switch characters, which can be annoying, because I then forget what I was doing with that character when I come back to them. Sora and Riku both have different abilities and fight styles and pokemon things and different storylines. Which speaking of storyline...if you have played every other game in the series, you will know the story is very confusing the way they tell it out of orders, leaving many holes to keep you wondering. This game FINALLY fills in all those holes, even answering questions I've had since the first game. It leaves you with no other questions except "What happens next?" The game sets you up directly into Kingdom Hearts 3, and even has a secret movie at the end to set you up even further.
Now we just have to play the waiting game to finish of the Xehanort Saga
Overall I think it is the best handheld game in the series, though nothing will beat the two on PS2 until Kingdom Hearts 3 comes out
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
This game is something you definitely have to play if you want to understand the full Kingdom Hearts series. It focuses on Sora and Riku in the Sleeping Worlds as they are trying to pass the Mark of Mastery exams. The gameplay is reminiscent of KH 358/2 Days, but with the added factor of the flow motion functionality. It can be a little hard to control at times, but once you play for a little bit it gets easier to understand the combat system. If you expect it to be super easy right off the bat and basically have everything handed to you at your own pace, you will not enjoy this game.

If you're a huge story nut like me and you are only playing this game in preparation for KH III, then you might want to try Beginer Mode. The enemies are a lot easier to fight and it moves along pretty quickly. If you are expecting the battle system to be close to the original PS2 game, you're sorely mistaken. The new battle system in this game is a little tricky, as you have to cycle through your Deck to use your magic, items, and special abilities. If you don't think you'd like that, maybe wait a few months for the Kingdom Hearts 2.8 ReMIX on the PS4. If you don't mind, then this game is with the money.

My only complaint and the reason for the 4 star review is the fact that I did not get the AR cards that were said to be included in this game. These AR cards are used to create Spirits, a friendly type of Dream Eater. Dream Eaters are the enemies you encounter in the Sleeping Worlds, which is what this whole game is about. The Spirits act as your companions, replacing Donald and Goofy from other Kingdom Hearts games.

Dropping. A new function in this came is the Drop meter. This is a meter that sits by your characters health. It slowly depletes as you play, and when it reaches zero your character will fall asleep, and you'll be switched to a different one. Riku and Sora are in different parts of each world and must do differnet things to find their keyholes. There is no way to stop yourself from Dropping, you can only stall a little bit by using certain moves or defeating enemies. This can be very frustrating at times, but if you remain vigilant you can get a lot done before you Drop. So far I can play each character for about a half an hour before they drop and I switch to another. There is a way to upgrade this meter and make it go longer. If you think this will be a problem for you, then you might want to check out some playthroughs on YouTube.

This is a really good game, and while it's a little short, you can't expect much for a 3DS game. It is plenty to explain Sora and Rikus Mark of Mastery exams. If you're a big KH fan, I highly suggest you play this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2016
Totally in LOVE with the graphics. It was kinda hard getting used to the Flowmotion actions and moves but once I did, I use them all of the time now. I don't really like the random searching for the treasure chests that are hidden in each area. If you are suppose to find all the chests in each area, then at least show how many are in each area instead of wandering about the area hopelessly lost and not even sure you got all of them in that area! Also, if you haven't at least played one of the games in the series then you might be a little lost about whats going on at first but there will be hints and such sprinkled throughout the game and explainations in the glossary. I didn't get the reasoning for the DROP mechanic. I mean, just make where you can play as Sora or as Riku. Trying to play as both at the same time is confusing. You're playing as Sora on minute and making progress and then all of a sudden Sora "falls asleep" and you're now playing as Riku from the last spot he also "fell asleep", completely throwing off the progress and flow you've made previously. It wasn't easy for me to switch gears so quickly. Even so, the game is enjoyable and I would recommend it to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2016
This game did not disappoint! It arrived on time, well packaged and I immediately opened it and started playing it. The graphics were great, the story line was wonderful and it's an easy game to follow along with. I am a huge Kingdom Hearts fan and I 100% recommend this for any other fan or any parent buying a younger one a game for a DS. It's not inappropriate or too difficult and would be great for kids that have prior video game experience.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2016
it came in a good time. the game itself is not what i expected at all. i expected something more like the kingdom hearts franchise; maybe a bit of a 358/2 days mixed with classic kingdom hearts but what i got was game developers that were given too much tech and these video game standards of 2016 that they felt they had to meet and exceed. they could have dialed it back a bit and focused more on the game like plot/actual fighting. i felt past games had a certain flow to them where your level progressed naturally as you went through the game rather than having to devote a specific portion of your attention to leveling up. with this new game system i found myself more focused on endless grinding in certain areas rather than actual playtime against big bosses... five stars because it's not amazons fault i was dissappointed in the game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2015
This game has a lot going on. Probably too much, but I've enjoyed getting back into KH games. My last one was playing the original on the PlayStation. My son and I even went head to head on completing it, and I won by a matter of hours (getting all the stuff and the Ultimate Weapon and such). Since then, I did play the disappointing card version on another Game boy platform and my son has played KH2. This game made me forget all about it.

First off, it's gorgeous looking to play. The 3D really works nice in the game, and the colors are bright. Tron world and Traverse Town are stunning. The battles have a fantastic interface, and I admit that was my biggest worry with such a small screen - you are auto targeting the closest mob and then hitting it. Add to that the deck, which once you get used to it is pretty straightforward, and you have a crazy amount of commands and options in only 2 buttons. Also, Flowmotion is crazy fun. I thought it looked stupid in videos, but I am heavily addicted to fighting in that mode. Ricocheting off walls, posts, etc to do an outlandish battle mode is just plain fun.

Like I said, the game has a lot going on. You have the start of each world which is a dive (falling mini game), then trying to find every chest in the world you visit, and then the seemingly endless Spirits (virtual pets) that you have to create, unlock, and nurture. Toss in some story, the usual keyblade assortment, the somewhat quirky Drop system, and you see that this is a full party.

One thing I was pretty impressed with is the developers' decision that this game was the last one before KH3 (my guess), because as you are playing it, another story is going on in the background. You keep seeing snippets of it, and as you do, you get explanations of lore from the dozen or so KH games, tying them together into one story. Pretty hard, since some of them are way out there, but thus far it all makes sense. I have not finished it yet, as I only get a few hours a day play time, but I am heartily enjoying it. Definitely would recommend for someone looking for a solid KH game on portable, and perhaps even for someone looking for a basic RPG.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2014
Before I start, I'll just say I absolutely HATE the drop system of this game. When I first started playing and came to the first boss on Riku's end of the dream world, I was just about to stun it when the drop system sent Riku into sleep and I was then ported over to Sora's part of the dream world where, after awhile, I was then ported back to Riku's end and I had to start the boss all over again. Hence, I had the level on hard mode. I'd advise you stock up on Drop Items in place of potions as that can be very useful when you go against hard bosses. Just a thought.

The plot picks up from the end of Kingdom Hearts II and Kingdom Hearts Re:Coded. It begins with Sora and Riku embarking on a quest to complete the Mark of Mastery exam to become Keyblade Masters, which fans of the series might recognise from Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep. Sora and Riku must then journey to the Realm of Sleep, and awake the sleeping worlds: Traverse Town, La Cite des Cloches, Prankster’s Paradise, The Grid and Country of the Musketeers. If all of this makes little sense to you at the moment, don't worry too much; you don’t need to be able to understand the complex plot behind the series in order to enjoy the individual games, but it still helps!

In Kingdom Hearts 3D the usual enemies, the Heartless and even the Unverse, have been replaced by Dream Eaters, who look--SO ADORABLE JESUS STOP IT I NEED TO PUNCH A WALL TO GET MY MANLINESS BACK UGN. While lacking the scare factor, there is a plus side to these colourful characters, as you can recruit friendly Dream Eaters (known as Sprites) to your party to help in battle. Sprites are customisable, with lots of different paint gun colours to collect and spray to your heart's content. There is also a new ‘petting’ feature, similar to that in Pokémon X and Y, where you tap the lower screen with your stylus to give your Sprite a stroke, earning you ‘Link’ power-ups to make your compadre stronger in battle. You can also feed your Sprite cakes to boost its abilities and also take 3D photos of your Sprite, but only if you really want to. Personally, I never took pictures with it but I did feed my Meowow a lot (If you're first using Sora, your Sprite is named Meowow unless you want to change it's name).

As usual Square Enix has done a great job with the visuals; Kingdom Hearts 3D looks absolutely stunning. The facial detail on Sora is particularly impressive, and all of the environments and movie flashbacks look fantastic. While the 3D effect is not pivotal, it does add a sparkle to the beautifully detailed cut scenes, most noticeably when flames rise in the Cite des Cloches stage — make sure you have the 3D slider set to the max for that scene because hot damn, in this particular game, that is always my favourite world to visit. Like all Kingdom Hearts games the voice acting is also spot-on; even where the original voice actors from the movies are missing, an impeccable replacement has been found, making the change barely noticeable.
Even though Kingdom Hearts 3D may look incredible, the gameplay is rather tedious. You must play as both Sora and Riku, undergoing each world twice and therefore defeating the same bosses twice too. This is where the new ‘Drop’ element features, as you're only given a certain amount of time playing as one character before you're dropped out and wake up again as the other. Having a time limit is essential, as it stops you from leveling up and progressing too far as one character. However, the drop counter continues to tick down even during boss fights, meaning you could be grinding down a big Dream Eater for ages only to be suddenly dropped out, forced to replay the whole fight over again when you next wake up. As I mentioned in the beginning, I HATE that with a burning passion.
The combat has been improved with the addition of free-flow, an acrobatic feature which adds speed to the many street brawls you encounter and becomes a very powerful tool once you get the hang of it. There is also a new Reality Shift system which allows you to perform a special command or attack depending on the world you are in. For example, in Traverse Town, when you use Reality Shift mode you execute a Slingshot attack.
Once you're fully immersed and battling it out against never-ending streams of Dream Eaters, you'll soon notice that potions aren't very easily accessible. You can't retrieve them from the main menu — which would force the battle to pause — or even select them on the touch screen; instead you have to flick through the X button menu using the D-pad while the fight still continues. For those who've played Birth by Sleep, you know exactly what I'm talking about. The battle system is exactly like it is in Birth by Sleep. So if you were good with that, you'll be fine with the battle system in Dream Drop Distance.

Overall, I love the game. There are not many KH games that I don't like, except for Coded/RE:Coded but that's for another review. If you are new to the series and want to know what it’s all about, then try Kingdom Hearts I or II before diving into this one. However, if you are a series veteran then step this way, as there is still a lot of fun to be had if you can overlook the small gameplay problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 25 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here