Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Kingdom Hearts Re:Chain of Memories
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Water Sports

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$20.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 2, 2008
Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of memories starts off exactly right where Kingdom Hearts left off. It connects Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts II and explains the beginning of the second installment.

Sora, Donald, and Goofy, follow a mysterious man in black coat Castle Oblivion, a place where 'to lose is to find and to find is to lose'. upon stepping into the castle, you are approached by the hidden man who gives Sora a card, stating, ' The more you find out, the more you lose.' The card he gives he shows a familiar place- Traverse Town- and upon activating the card, Sora is transported to the town where his adventures first began. Once he gets there, however, he realizes that this place isn't real and the friends he's made and the people he'd met had forgotten him. As he continues to revisit the worlds he had once saved from the ebbing darkness, Sora finds himself unable to understand if the memories he has are real or if they're make believe.
As he continues his journey, Sora finds is hard to remember the faces of the people he had traveled with-even forgetting about finding Riku. As you go along your adventure, stringing together lost memories and discarding old ones, you'll meet the characters from the first game- and even some new faces will appear. You'll encounter Organization XIII, realize what's truth and what's fiction, and, given the chance, unlock the second part of the game.

There are many things that separate this game from its prequel and sequel. The battling system is unique, how you play is absolutely genuine, and the very story line of the game is compelling. Now lets address these topics so one does not get confused as to exactly how different this game is.

First off, Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories isn't like your typical role playing game. It combines tactics with fighting and introduces a new way of defeating your obstacles: cards. In this games battle system you must use cards to release your attacks. There are many different types of cards ( ones for attacking, ones for combos, ones for magic, and ones to release finishing moves ). These cards can run out and to replenish them you have to 'charge' them so to speak by holding in a button. If you run out of cards you can't continue fighting. You can collect the cards, make decks, get rid of the ones you don't want, and combine them to form more powerful cards. Not only do these cards allow you to fight, but they allow you to proceed in the game. Certain cards unlock rooms and you can use these cards to 'synthesize' a room, changing it. They allow passage into other worlds-or memories of that world. And, if you give it enough time and patience, find secret cards to unlock sealed rooms that hold valuable treasure.

Another major change in the game is how you play it. Instead of fighting alongside Donald and Goofy, Sora fights solo, using his friends as special battle cards that come and aid you during battle.
Leveling up is, refreshingly, up to you. Once you achieve a level, you decide what you want to level up. Whether you want to give Sora more hp, allow him to hold more cards, or learn new abilities, is completely up to you.
The layout of the worlds is slightly different then Kingdom Hearts fans are used to. Each section of the world you are in is a room made out of Sora's memories. Now, what's interesting about knowing the layout of a room you'll only be in for a few minuets? Everything. Strategy is a crucial part in deciding the rooms you are in. For example, the cards you collect from enemies are used to unlock the door to the next 'room'. And each card has a different type. Green, red, blue, or yellow. And each type has a title which allows certain things to happen. If you use a card that slow heartless down, then that 'room' is designed to follow that card. As stated before, cards completely rule the game. So when the time comes to unlock a door, choose carefully as it can be in favor for you or against you.

Once you get the hang of the battle system, you can complete the game easily and then focus your attention on finding the hidden secrets through out the game. But even then, you're not quite done.

Once you finish the game, you're not completely done. Once you return to the main menu There will be a third option to choose from: Reverse/Rebirth. By selecting this option, you have engaged yourself in Riku's story. Playing as Riku you battle the darkness in you and try and stay discrete as you unknowingly fight in the same memories as Sora is. Playing as Riku is exactly like playing as Sora: cards as the battle system and playing solo, choosing what you want to level up ( Hp, dark power, or attack. )

Both sides of the game are equally challenging and engaging, promising a never before experienced game play.

Overall, Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories was a worthwhile experience. It features the voice cast of the original Kingdom Hearts and engaging music from all three games. The graphics are eye pleasing and the cut scenes allow you view the game as if it were an actual anime. However, if you want to forge ahead and skip these scenes, you are given the option if you pause the scene. Reaction commands are given when needed, and you choose the difficulty of your game.

The game itself comes packaged in a holographic game case, displaying Sora and Riku along with fragments of memory that display other important characters such as the artistic girl shrouded in mystery, Donald and Goofy, and the ever reliable King Mickey. Along with the game you receive three beautiful Kingdom Hearts postcards, each displaying a different image, along with a full color booklet that gives you all the information you need to start of. My only quelm about the game is that map system you are given. Basically it only shows you which way you're pointing so make sure to take note of the room your in as it can get confusing as to which door you have and haven't used yet.

Originally the second disk in Kingdom Hearts II Final Mix, North America finally presents: Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories.
88 comments| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2008
The Kingdom Hearts series is synonymous with fun gameplay, eye-catching environments and an interesting story. Unfortunately, Square/Enix & co. decided to throw one third of that mix out the window when they made this game. This game (which is a remake of the Game Boy Advance title Kingdom Hearts Chain of Memories) features a truly odd spin on combat, in which cards are required to do ANYTHING in battle. You can't even swing your Keyblade without using cards to make that happen! It hampers the fun, action-intensive element of combat with a whole lot of fumbling around to get the right cards lined up at the right time.

The game still features pretty (if somewhat limited) scenery, and of course it's great to fill those pesky story-gaps that were left between KH and KH2...but why did they have to do so in some sort of bizarre Yu-Gi-Oh card-flinging fashion?? I'm sure there's those out there who enjoy this change but I feel that it's an unnecessary revamp of gameplay that detracts from the overall experience, instead of adding to it. In a 3-D world with full range of motion, restricting even your most basic attacks to what cards you have in hand is ridiculous. Imagine...you're in mid-air, pounding some justice into an enemy, when suddenly you run out of cards and can't do much of anything until you've had a chance to run away a bit and reload your deck.

I do like the story and I will get as much use out of the game as I can, but I really don't like the changes. It's like having a driving game which you control with your abdominal muscles, or a facial-gesture-controlled martial arts combat game...an unneccesary amount of abstraction from the natural jumping-dodging-and-swinging-my-weapon-at-lightning-speed action/adventure vibe.
88 comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 18, 2009
First, like many reviewers have already stated, this is not the Kingdom Hearts you have experienced on the PS2. If you expect somthing like those games, or forget to take into account that this game was originally released for the Gameboy Advance, you will constantly be shaking your head in a "why did they do this" kind of way.

Some history, this game - the remade PS2 version of the GBA game - was originally a bonus feature to a director's cut of Kingdom Hearts 2 released in Japan. (The Japanese market actually gets a lot of these. I think that is because as JRPGs are usually released in Japan first and then tweaked for the NA market, they feel the need to go back and re-release the game in Japan with the tweaks and possibly some added features, who knows.) Because of this I think it would be a bit much to expect the entire GBA game to be completely remade.

That said, this game does sport some impressive production values, i.e. some actual voice acting by many of the original actors including Haley Joel Osment as Sora. The use of the KH1 engine bring most visuals up to par as well.

But this is where things can get confusing. Many people will wonder "why do I need to use these cards - wouldn't it just be easier to have the old control setup back????" Well the truth is, without the card battle system this game would be almost TOO simplistic. This game is really a dungeon crawler with a veneer of strategy derived form the card system. Gone is almost all the exploring and platforming bits from the first 2 games. So without the card system to occupy a lot of your time, that is thinking about your deck, you would spend a LOT more time complaining about just how generic that individual rooms are.

Which gets us to the dungeon crawling bit of the game. Each "world" is a floor in Castle Oblivion and you complete the world by using a map card to "generate" a room. The number of rooms and the general layout is constant but what is in the room is generated by the map cards. Progress through the rooms to unlock the story elements. Wash, rinse, repeat.

What keeps this from getting repetitive and old is the strategy of the card system and the unlocking of the story bits. The worlds themselves generally follow the same storyline as that of the first game, i.e. the Queen is still irratated with Alice and you need to help her, and so on. The real meat of the story, which keeps you playing, is the bits that are revealed about Organization 13 and what happened between KH 1 and 2.

Downsides? Well, the camera is still pretty hectic though nowhere near as bad as KH1 if you don't lock onto the heartless. I never did as locking on seemed to keep you targeted to a single enemy where you seem to attack the closest enemy without lock. Not really a problem as most magic still hits without the manual lock and combos attack the same enemy as well.

Breaking stuff in the room reveal goodies as well but the fact that these acquired goodies don't register for a couple of seconds after grabbing them can be very frustrating. This is because battles aren't random per se, but engaged after you touch an enemy in the room. The issue is that enemies appear or "pop" on screen when you get close. This is only problematic of course you are waiting for that magic card you just snagged to register when a heartless appears nearby and bee-lines it for you, touching you before you collect the card. The common Hearltess (those little black guys) are really fast making this happens more than it should and can be very aggrivating when it does.

Still, nitpicks aside and understanding what you are purchasing can make this game a good experience. The gameplay value is here lengthwise as well.

3.5 stars. Bump that up to 4 if you are very interested in knowing more of the KH storyline and have an affinity for a little strategic thinking with your dungeon crawlers. 3 stars if you don't fit the above description; fun but you won't be getting the most out of it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2009
Yeah, sure, game producers think they can sell just about anything in any form by tacking a well-liked/popular game title onto it. Translating a DS game onto the PS2, however...not half as easily done as said, though you'll probably be just as deceived. As we know, few if any sequels of incredible games (KH, in this case) live up to our expectations 100%, and, to be honest, I went with the crowd on this one and bought Chain of Memories just because it was KH and I wanted to get filled in on what went down between KH and KHII. But let me just say I did that several months ago, and I haven't played any further than Hades (which, let me tell you, is not far).

For those of you who don't mind, maybe even enjoy, card-based games, this is for you. I, personally, cannot stand it--in fact, I think it's a ridiculous concept, especially to introduce to a real-time RPG game that was incredible AS IT WAS. My opinion: if you're going to make it for PS2 and you're already overhauling the graphics and almost everything else about it--why not go all the way? In fact, I'd LOVE to know why they DIDN'T go all the way...because had they, I would have seriously enjoyed this game.

That's it, though: I can't get past the stupidity, the irritating meticulousness, of the whole card-based aspect. (I mean, really? I have to toss down one of my very few cards just to swing the stupid keyblade?)And look, I'm a pretty quick learner: but this thing had me running in circles for more hours than I appreciated trying to figure out the stupid card-based map idea. I still don't even understand WHY you have to create your own rooms and maps--honestly, I prefer the game producers to do that, since THEY'RE the people I buy games from instead of making them in my basement myself, as if I could.

I guess what I'm saying is this: sometimes renovations are awesome. We latchkey kid gamers need a little surprise in our lives sometimes to divert us from the cruelly repetitive but oddly addicting monotony of every single "newly" released title by Nintendo (LoZ, Metroid, etc.). So for that, I thank you, PS. But if you're going to do it, do it right. This game goes unfinished for me.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2009
It's been about two years since I first played Kingdom Hearts II and went "WTF is going on here?" about the missing story arc found in Chain of Memories. I did not have a GameBoy Advance, so I had no idea how Sora came to be sleeping for a year at the start of KH2. Thankfully, though, after three years, Chain of Memories was finally released in the U.S.

My first thought when receiving it was "Yay! I can't wait to play it and see everything I missed!" And play I did. Anyways.

The game play is far different from either of the other two Kingdom Hearts games. The battle system has a deck of cards to be used for attack moves, healing powers, and friend cards, instead of having an unlimited amount of attacks the player can do, healing whenever needed, and team members staying and assisting throughout the entire battle. I suppose it may have been an attempt to make the game more of a strategy-based RPG, instead of one involving mindless button-mashing to beat bosses, but it sort of failed in that aspect. While, yes, the game is harder than other KH games, it does devolve from strategy to button-mashing about halfway through it. As the game progresses and the player levels, the choice is given of whether to upgrade health, card points (increases number of cards in deck), or earn a new sleight (a special move requiring three cards in battle, usually powerful and very useful). If one levels mainly CP and HP, then one will be allowed more cards in a deck, meaning more chances to button-mash.

Mainly this is true of regular battles, but the developers did succeed in making the boss battles require some strategy. As cards can be broken (meaning the player's attack can be over-powered by the enemy's) and the bosses able to use sleights, cards of special rank are needed to break sleights and prevent powerful attacks. For some bosses, using certain sleights is definitely recommended. Despite the at first confusing battle system, I found the change refreshing. This game takes more thought than the other two KH games, making it more fun, in my opinion.

The graphics are basically the same as in the previous KH games for the PS2, but the characters' movements seem smoother and not as jerky. This game is more refined in that aspect. However, there is no voice-acting in the different worlds visited throughout Sora's trip in Castle Oblivion, which made the worlds seem a bit uninteresting to me. I found myself rushing through the worlds and skipping any dialogue, just so that I could see more of the Organization members. By the way, the voices for the members are all extremely satisfying, except for Larxene's; I felt her voice needed to be a bit deeper, in order to match her role of sadistic and cruel.

No matter how fun I believe the game to be, however, it is basically just fanservice. It may have filled in a major gap in the series for PS2 users, but it was mainly used to garner extra profits over the Christmas season. Even so, I found it to be a great way to refresh my liking for the Kingdom Hearts game series until the new titles are released.

There is basically no replay value, though. After Sora's half of the game is beaten, the option of watching all the cut-scenes from the game again is given in the new theater feature. So, instead of replaying the game for the storyline, a person could just watch it almost completely in the theater.

All in all, I recommend it, if one wants to kill time and really enjoys the Kingdom Hearts game franchise. However, people who aren't exactly great at strategy-based games may not want to pick it up, as one cannot button-mash throughout the entire game.

(Sorry if there are any typos. I did not exactly proofread this.)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2012
The game starts right off as Kingdom Hearts 1 ended and the story is pretty cool. The battle system makes me think what was Square was thinking at the time. It has the same looks as Kingdom Hearts 2 (Sora still looks like his Kingdom Hearts 1 version though) but doesn't look bad when it's stretched out on newer tv's.

Story:

This takes place right after Kingdom Hearts 1 ended (literally), and follows Sora as he traverses the floors of castle oblivion. Each floor is a level from the first Kingdom Hearts, but it changes around a bit. Sora is slowly forgetting things along the way, so the levels seem familiar to him, but play out differently than how Kingdom Hearts 1 did them.

Along with that, you have Organization 13 running in the way of sora and we get to meet the members we couldn't fight in Kingdom Hearts 2. This is really the strongest part of the game (along with the soundtrack) and its worth finding out what happened in this game, as you get some important scenes at the start and end of the level.

Gameplay:

This is one of the more annoying battle systems I have played in a while. The idea is to take a card based system and apply it to an action RPG, but fail at the delivery of it. I don't mind games that are based on being as strategic as you can be, but I got really annoyed playing through this game. It does have one improvement over the original game, and that is a controllable camera with the right analogue stick.

Battles do start to get annoying because your normal attacks are cards as well. I'm fine with magic, items, and special attacks to be all card based, but I don't like when your normal attacks are penalized by tying them to cards. With all the iterations of the Kingdom Hearts games, this is the only one that doesn't allow you to attack normally.

When you level up you get to choose between Hp, Deck increase (more cards) or sleight (Abilities where you set up three cards in a row). Since the attack cards have numbers on themselves, you don't get increases on your strength so that you hit harder. This throws out level grinding before a boss if you're stuck and it does really take away that RPG feel for me.

One cool thing is how they control the rooms. You choose how the room is set up based on the room card you use (Like one is a moogle shop or a save spot, while another could have a ton of enemies for farming exp). Only problem with this type of set up is that some of the rooms require a specific number or type card and if you don't have that you're stuck farming enemies until you do get it (or use a roulette card to make that farming easier).

Soundtrack:

Just as good as the other Kingdom Hearts games, with the same songs from the worlds you visited in Kingdom Hearts 1. Even though I have heard them a ton already, they really don't get old because they fit the worlds so perfectly. The main theme/song are in the game as well and it wouldn't be a Kingdom Hearts game without them. All the spell animations sound great, and the Keyblade hits sound like they always do.

While the cutscenes in the worlds themselves are only text, the Organization cut scenes before and after each floor are fully voiced and its really cool to finally have voices to the organization members we didn't get to fight in Kingdom Hearts 2. Sora does sound older but this was recorded a while after Kingdom Hearts 2.

Graphics:

This game has the same look as Kingdom Hearts 2 and they really did a good job in recreating the entire game from the GameBoy version. All the summons, Sleights and magic looks really great on this game and even stretched out on a bigger tv. Some parts of the worlds in the story sections look the same, but the random rooms have their own distinct look to them.

Verdict:

The ONLY thing that kept me playing through this game was the story and if you don't care at all about that, than avoid this game. If you do decide to get it, I recommend playing the game twice; it's worth it for story. If you are interested in the story, you could watch a let's play of this game, that way you can find out what happens, without having to deal with the horrible battle system.

~ Written: 05-12

Positives:
* Right analogue stick controls the camera
* You can choose the type of rooms that set up the levels
* Leveling up only rewards you with HP, Sleights or Deck increase; Nothing else
* Still an awesome soundtrack
* Pretty good graphics for a PS2 game
* Great voice acting

Negatives:
* Card based action RPG does not work well together
* Only Kingdom Hearts game that penalizes normal attacks
* Cut scenes in the worlds themselves are only text based
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2011
Kingdom Hearts was fun and fresh and innovative. Even though we already knew the mini plots occurring in the Disney worlds, it was nice to see a little Square Enix/KH twist on classic events. But take Kingdom Hearts Re:Chain, essentially KH 1.5 and you get a version of a version of a plot. How many times do we need to see Aladdin free the Genie and Tinkerbell get pissed off at Donald? And how many freaking times do we have to fight Riku? (For crying out loud!)

Not saying that I didn't appreciate the change in battle system...briefly. It was supposed to be a way to prevent mindless button-mashing--which I actually kinda like--and force us to use a more tactical approach...while still employing a little of that button-mashing skill. Maybe in the boss battles you do have to slow down and actively try to break cards. But c'mon, while fighting the hordes and hordes of Heartless, do you really want to make battles three times as long by waiting for enemies to make a move so you can break their cards, or do you just want to go melee on 'em?

The new characters were interesting, especially those of Organization XIII, but there could have been a much better way to introduce them. The plot wasn't horrendous, minus having to re-experience Sora's time in the Disney worlds, but it wasn't fantastic either. And I felt Sora's reaction to Namine was a tad overdone. I liked Kairi; I didn't see a need to replace her with another inactive female protagonist.

All in all, while I appreciated one playthrough, I would never pick it up for another go. Which pains me because I am one of those "perfect gamers" that likes to collect and complete everything. But after what seemed like millions of battles resulting in only 1/10 of the total number of enemy cards to collect, I thought it just not worth it to keep trying. I'll just look up the super special hidden scene online.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2014
I originally played Chain of Memories when it was out on the gameboy advance. It was the very first kingdom hearts game I ever played and the story line got me hooked from the start (though because I hadn't played the first game I was VERY confused). Needless to say that I was VERY excited when I saw that they came out with the same game for the playstation 2.

With that all said the game is just as I remembered as far as the game play from the original. Cards are still a little difficult to fight with but if you have a strategy and you know WHO you're about to battle it helps SOOO much. However, the voices seem a little off to me. I know that the voice actor is all grown up now but I feel like they should have gotten someone who could mimic Sora's 14 year old voice rather than his current one from Kingdom Hearts II. I can't help but date the game wrong in my head because this is SUPPOSE to be right after he sealed the door in Kingdom Hearts but it's like he's gone through puberty in a couple of days. Just really odd.

Other than than if you're looking for a challenge and far different game play than any you've had before in the series this game is it. Though, be warned, fighting heartless after heartless is much of what you will be doing while you're waiting to get the card to the next room you need to get to. My advice for new players? Battle a lot of heartless from the beginning to get enough room cards to help get you through to only battle when you want to level up and worry more about leveling up your CP rather than your HP. If you have higher and better cards in your deck you don't have to worry about getting hit and killed in your boss battles.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2016
Great game for PS2. I had originally played it on gameboy advance, but this version is just as good. The delivery was a little delayed, but it was purchased during the holiday season, so it is totally understandable. This is definitely worth a play through if you have a PS2 and are a fan of the Kingdom Hearts series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2014
I played KH 1 and 2 so I got this one to see what it's about. I didn't like the way it uses cards but once you figure that out, the game gets real interesting. If you don't give up you'll love the game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here