Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 33 reviews
on March 4, 2014
I had originally purchased this for PS3 when it came out, but after playing through it and the DLC, I had traded it in.
There are hours to be lost in this game and when this one popped up on sale with the DLC, I picked it up for Steam to play again.

The artwork is unique and the combat is fast paced (3rd person) in the action sense.

There is plenty of gear to be found and many different weapon styles to be used depending on which main tree you want to pursue:
Might - Greatswords/Hammers/Longswords
Finesse - Daggers/Faeblades/Bows
Sorcery - Staff/Scepter/Chakrams

Or you can mix and match them if you want (you will need to in order to wear certain armor or obtain certain destinies.

The crafting system involves Sagecraft (crystals to socket into items), Alchemy (potions from plants you harvest all over the world) and Smithing (weapons and armor which you can break down into components and build into other weapons).

I loved that this was different than the standard RPG genre and took a chance at being different - it is refreshing.
The game moves quickly and once you visit an area on the map you can always fast travel back to it from the map.
Zones are large and colorful with enemies that match in a unique art style that only Todd McFarlane could add.

Despite all the hype that the company went bankrupt and that Rhode Island lost a lot of money on this game, I don't think thats a reason to not purchase this game. I for one loved this game and have bought it twice now and have no regrets. This game is a gem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
Granted it was released 2 years ago, but for a 37 yo, father of 3, budget conscienced moderate gamer, it's a great deal. The fact that this game has a easy save system and a relatively easy plot line, makes it a great game to play for 15 minutes walk away then come back.

I own an i7 Shuttle with mid-range graphics card, works great. Not the cutting edge visuals but nice.

My only complaint is the fact, even though you get a Steam code, you still have to signup with EA/Origins. Not to mention it will connect to EA servers every time you play. Not a big enough deal to remove a star but more of a peeve.

--CONCLUSION--
For $10, it's a great deal. Not to mention, you can have over 200 hours of game play... So that's 5 cents for every hour of gaming. Try to find that enjoyment anywhere else. Heck I spent over $20 waiting for my laundry to dry when I was in college. All I have to show for that is a 44th ranking with three lousy initials. A_A_S The low kick button was too overly sensitive.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2014
I bought this game prior under the Origin DOWNLOAD and install version.. and it froze after the first 5 min. I was so bummed as this game had a wonderful appeal to it from aesthetics to combat commands and quest/item management. Luckily a few Amazon post reader saw my comment on that version and told me about this STEAM DRM run version. I bought the "Online Game Code" version late last month and have been playing it every night now for the past few weeks and love it. No freezing, no hiccups, auto saves are appropriate spots. Until ElderScrolls online comes out, this game is a fantastic play... just make sure you get the version that has the DRM as STEAM (says it up top near the title) otherwise you will be very disappointed with the Origin version.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
So you don't have the ability to bone love interests and have kids and whatnot, who cares? This game has me hooked with the sheer amount of content it has to offer, not to mention the level of customization you are offered for you character in terms of play style. All of them have their unique quirks that make each new experience with a different character build fun and rewarding, and if you don't like going through the story to try a different build, you can reset your stats on the spot. I feel like if you really get the hang of the game mechanics and can master the use of the various skills and passive abilities you have at your disposal, the game rewards you for being a generally skilled player by letting you take on just about anything regardless of level. As a result, the game may give you this feeling that it's too easy, but I really don't mind that at all. It's expansive, it really makes you feel like "the hero" of the game by rewarding your skill, and overall it's just really fun to play. This game has been my new addiction as of late.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2017
A mostly straightforward fantasy RPG romp with fun and simple combat, a unique level up system, and a decent story I would recommend to anyone who is a fan of games like Fable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2014
I was looking for a Skyrim type of game after I finished that game. This game was recommended and I was not disappointed. It's the closest game to Skyrim I've found. The plot is well done, the quests are interesting, and the voice acting is acceptable. I also highly recommend the expansion packs for it. They were pretty good as well. The only detractor that I can give you for this game is that Reckoning is an automatic IWIN button.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
$10 for the game and dlc. Nice. :)

Read the other reviews, particularly on Steam. They range from 65% to 90% user review scores.
[EDIT: Amazon removed the link to the reviews on steam. Google "Kingdom of Amalur Steampowered" and it will come right up. Well worth the read.]

Was easy to redeem on Steam.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2014
I enjoyed the game quite a bit, and it has tons of stuff to do!
There's tons and tons of side quests and the DLC was quite good!
Although after a certain point, you become too overpowered and makes it kind of pointless. It is repeditive too, almost feels like an MMO that isn't online. I mostly enjoyed it and the leveling system is pretty interesting. Definitely worth checking out if it's on sale!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2014
The game was good for what it was. Price point was incredible including the DLC. Sad the studio did not last long enough-would have loved to see what it was doing. Contrary to others, you do not need to login to Origin-this is Steam and it should directly send you to the menu screen. It also has the elements of a good game including:
-story was interesting
-many quests and diverse ways to explore
-not-as-linear (can go focusing on side quests or do whatever pleases your fancy)
-interesting art direction

Some room for improvement:
-character customization
-mod adaptation
-game length started to drag and lose a little luster

Recommendation: For people that enjoy RPG and carved world environments.
NOT for people with little patience or do not want to sink time into the game.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2015
I have enjoyed many hours of playing with this game. It brings you right into the storyline and gives you quests a plenty to go on. Never boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here