Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEMClub17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 205 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 580 reviews
on June 12, 2017
This may be Bill Murray's last great performance. I dare you to try not laughing when he's on screen. And he's barely in the movie.

Kingpin is a great comedy about bowling that may have run into the bad fortune of being released shortly before The Big Lebowski, another bowling movie that's become a cult classic (the Coen Bros., who directed Lebowski, experienced a similar situation in 1990 when their excellent gangster film, Miller's Crossing, was upstaged by Goodfellas; both movies were brilliant, one just got a little more attention). Kingpin is also directed, interestingly enough, by a team of brothers, the same guys responsible for Dumb and Dumber and There's Something About Mary (Mary was the movie that brought these guys the respect they deserved for Kingpin). This is a good movie to own on DVD because a.) you can pop it into the DVD player every few years and the jokes will still work and b.) it's the kind of movie ruined by censorship when it's aired on commercial television.

This kind of comedy, a mixture of gross-out humor with melodrama, has become the standard in Hollywood. Nobody does it quite as well as the Farrelly brothers were doing it in the late 1990s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2015
Kingpin. The ultimate movie about bowling. The ultimate movie about a bowling whiz who loses his hand in a bowling accident. Quite some time later, or many movie-time seconds later, the whiz finds himself challenged to an epic bowling tournament by the new champ of all bowling champs played by Bill Murray, a hoot to watch, a joy to witness and the perfect reason why this movie is neither forgettable or bland. So, to prepare and most certainly win against all odds, he gets help from the most unlikely sources, such as an Amish whiz-man, played by Woody Harrelson of "The People Vs. Larry Flynt" as well as Haymitch in "The Hunger Games" franchise and "Zombieland" and the girlfriend of a certain millionaire, who abuses our two intrepid heroes and a whole lot of others. Then, it's all smooth sailing for our gang of heroes. Or is it? After all, there's that pesky yet all too important bowling tournament coming right up. Directed by the Farrelly Brothers, who were coming from "Dumb N' Dumber" and shortly before they made "There's Something About Mary", it is quite delightful with the way the plot moves and diverse, with its inclusion of Amish people and the girlfriend of a millionaire who's fed up with his abusive behavior towards her and our heroes. Plus, it's smart for casting Bill Murray in a role that'll most certainly make you root for him and the Empire he represents. That alone makes this worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2014
I can't believe how many times I've heard people saying they've never seen it. Peter Farrelly has stated that the movie was under marketed and released the same time as the 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games. But if you do watch it what you get is probably one of the best comedic sports films ever. It's brilliantly cast, Woody Harrelson is just a natural really. Yeah he might always play a guy who's a little left of center, but in this he's just a man who's been pushed down over and over and he's given it up. Randy Quaid(who is insane) plays a down to Earth but misunderstood and sometimes to him not as respected Amish man. Roy Munson(Harrelson) notices his bowling talents and decides to get his life back through Ishmael's(Quaid) skill. Along the way they meet up with Claudia(Vanessa Angel) who basically helps the boys because she's trying to scheme both. The entirely film is nutty, and what's most impressive is unike Dumb and Dumber, the jokes here are way more subtle. The humor is truly earned and it never feels forced. Plus Bill Murray as Ernie McCracken steals every single scene and improvised just about every single line.

If you really like Dumb and Dumber, or Forgetting Sarah Marshall, The Forty Year Old Virgin. Humor that doesn't have to have all it's guts and tricks given up just so you don't have to think then this is for you. Make it happen because this is truly a lost gem of a film. For the rest of you watch it anyways you could learn a little about subtlety from this movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2016
I bought this movie for my boyfriend and we love it. We both watched this movie years ago but seeing it again was amazing. My boyfriend has recently taking up bowling for fun and he thinks that he is a pro bowler so this was a great gift. Anyone who enjoys bowling and thinks they are a pro at it should purchase and watch this movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2002
In a rare instance of the UK getting a movie before the US, Kingpin was a surprisingly pleasant discovery on a Saturday afternoon back in the sunny July of 1996. It has since gone on to be one of my favorite comedies and showcases Bill Murray's evil, sarcastic humor at it's finest.

Woody Harrelson is Roy Munson a young, up-and-coming bowler who falls foul of 'Big' Ern McCracken (simply by beating him). Ern executes a cunning revenge on Roy which results in the loss of his precious bowling hand. Flash-forward 17 years and Roy is living a truly grotty life and is a complete and utter loser. His hustling attempts fall flat and it looks like he's destined for a future of failure until he meets naive Amish 'boy' Ishmael, who just so happens to be a bowling prodigy. Roy and Ishmael team-up and head to Reno, Nevada for a big bowling showdown with the diabolical 'Big' Ern.

Part road movie, part profound life journey, Kingpin is probably the most mature Farrelly Brothers movie and certainly their best effort so far. The script is just jam-packed with brilliant dialogue and gags, and Ishmael (or 'the kid' as they keep calling him despite the fact that Randy Quaid was 45 at the time of filming) may just be the sweetest character of all time and may even rival Cousin Eddie as Quaid's funniest role. But it is Bill Murray as 'Big' Ern who steals the movie and runs away with it. Apparently he just threw the script away and decided to ad-lib, and you can tell. He keeps the rest of the cast on their toes and enjoys himself way too much. His Unified Fund TV commercial is comedy gold.

It may well be one of the most underrated comedies of all time, but Kingpin is a far superior film to the likes of There's Something About Mary or Me, Myself & Irene. It's lack of success or popularity is not a reflection on its brilliance.

The DVD looks horrible in 2.35:1 anamorphic widescreen with Dolby 5.1 sound. Why is there not a Blu Ray yet. This DVD hit the shelves less than two years after the format hit the streets. Blu has been around for 5 years now and we're STILL waiting!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2014
This movie is one of the best Farrelly brothers movies, easily beating out "There's Something About Mary" and even "Dumb and Dumber". It is often overlooked and forgotten... Bill Murray delivers one of his best comedic performances of his career as an utter smarmy, disgusting and sleazy "charitable, good-guy celebrity athlete" in this bowling comedy about a naive guy (Woody Harrleson)who is on his way to the top of the pro bowling league's world, when he gets waylaid by a wolf in sheep's clothing (Murray), a competitor who he beats at the state championship.
Harrleson learns a hard lesson and becomes a bum. Randy Quaid enters as an Amish protege after years pass and hilarity ensues. There is a lot of crass, gross Farrelly brothers humor, but this is a great and funny movie! I always tell people if they need a good laugh, check this movie out. Murray and Harrleson are worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2016
So I'm giving this review three stars because it had many of the funny scenes cut out of the movie. What the hell? How did I miss that, is there something on the movie that says many scenes were deleted? My husband was very disappointed as this is one of his favorite movies to watch for a great laugh. Price was good, but the deleted scenes really irked me. I guess I should've read the fine print.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2017
Bought this classic movie as a gift - slightly disappointed there was no protection on this DVD in the box when shipped to me. Cardboard sleeve seemed pretty worn. Oh well, it's the movie that counts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2013
Okay, so I'm not as detail oriented as I thought I was. I wanted to order a "Kingpin" DVD for my nephew's birthday because it is one of his all-time favorite movies. Of course I didn't pay attention to the media when I came across Andrea's Book Cart listing because who would think that it was on anything other than DVD, right? So I kicked myself a couple of times when the VHS tape arrived in the mail. I immediately requested to return the item and the seller understood my mistake and was kind enough to provide a return authorization so I could send it back right away. Even though I planned to order this movie on DVD for the gift, it wasn't going to be here in time for the birthday party, so I had to tell my nephew about my mistake and that his present would be arriving the following week. He surprised me by telling me that he has a VHS machine and that he wanted the tape that I already had. So things worked out in the end and the seller was so patient and understanding. I will be looking for other items from this seller because when you find someone so generous and easy to work with, why go anywhere else?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2013
I love Bill Murray, Woody Harrelson and Randy Quaid in this movie. They all work so well together.

The humor in the movie may not be for everybody, but for those who can relax and enjoy "toilet" humor once in a while, this is the movie for you.

Woody Harrelson plays a young bowler who puts his trust in the wrong person and pays a huge price, as a result.

Bill Murray plays an aging veteran who sees in Woody a threat to his now dwindling career, and will stop at nothing to keep Woody from taking his spot as the country's most elite bowler.

Randy Quaid plays a naïve, Amish bowler (yes, I said "Amish") who Woody thinks can be the next big thing. Woody tries to hitch his wagon to Randy's star and the comedy ensues.

Not your typical sports movie, although there are many shots of people bowling, if you consider that a "sport."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse