Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Kings - The Complete Series
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$13.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon June 22, 2009
This show does have its faults. The biggest one is how modern speech is intermingled with Shakespearean dialogue... it gives the show gravitas, but it cuts back on the realism. There are some unlikely events, but since this is a retelling of a Bible story in a modern setting, I don't mind it, and as a sci-fi enthusiast I even like it. The show does take things very seriously, with two unlikely security guards providing comic relief that quite frankly, isn't very funny. There is a lot about the world that we don't know, and there is little exposition, which will drive alternate universe fans up a wall. Additionally, if you jump into the series mid-stream, it may take you a few minutes of viewing to become acclimated.

If you can get past those faults, you'll find some of the best there is on TV right now, especially network TV. Sub plots that seem to have nothing to do with one another cleverly weave together throughout the hour to come to surprising twists at the end. Though the characters are mostly archetypes, they are very interesting, and you want to know more about them-- especially Silas and how he became king. The way religion is portrayed and how it affects things is very reminiscent of the new Battlestar Galactica; the multi-ethnic cast reminiscent of Star Trek, politics will have you waxing nostalgic for The West Wing, and best of all, it's not another cop, lawyer or doctor show. It's not insipid reality TV or a recycled sitcom. This is truly original, intelligent programming.

Unfortunately, due to the worst viral marketing campaign I have ever seen, I don't think we'll get another season, so get this show and watch it on your own. NBC did very little to promote this series, but is going out of its way to push another cheap cop drama on us. The show, the story, the actors, and we, the viewers, deserve better. If we're lucky, maybe a cable channel will pick it up and we'll get some more brilliance. NBC should not have been given the chance to kill this critically-acclaimed show. It deserves to be on HBO-- and in your DVD collection.
1414 comments| 196 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2009
Rarely does a television series come along that challenges the norms, takes things a step further from what we already see. Television is a hit and miss industry in the first place. When a high concept series comes along, it is an even tougher sell. That's why it is such a rare occurrence when shows like Lost and Heroes break through.

Though for every breakthrough hit, there's probably 5 other shows that fail. Which is very unfortunate, because there such creative, well-written, well-produced, and well-acted shows that go unnoticed. This isn't a new phenomenon, but it doesn't make it any less sad.

Visually stunning cinematography, outstanding cast, and excellent writing... Kings deserved to be a hit. But alas, one season is all we're going get. One season that is not like anything else on network TV.

And thankfully, it can live on on DVD so one day, its greatness can be truly realized.
0Comment| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2009
Kings is one of those rare series which comes along once in a decade. Loaded with Biblical allusions, well written stories, intrigue at all levels, and fabulous sets, it is the story of Captain David Shepherd, King Silas Benjamin and the Reverend Ephram Samuels. The sitting is the futuristic city of Shiloh.

There is growing romance between David Shepherd, the national hero, and King Silas's daughter, Michelle, who cares about the people. Her passion is to convince her father to institute universal health care for the kingdom. The growing tension between the spiritual leader of the nation, Reverend Samuels and its king is like a dance of dragons before the fire storm begins.

Butterflies play an integral part in this series. There is a scene where David is surrounded by butterflies as King Silas watches and wonders if David will replace him as king of Gilboa. General Linus Abner, military chief of staff, is concerned as well about David. Abner wants him out of the way-permanently.

Of course, you have Queen Rose Benjamin. She would give Lady Macbeth a run for her money. She is cool, calculating and lethal as well as poise, beautiful and intelligent.

A word has to be said about Jack Benjamin, heir apparent. He is a disappointment to his father and loves to party with his friends. He views David Shepherd with an envious eye-David is the son that King Silas always wanted. Jack sees how David is treated by his father and loved by the people. In fact, it was David who saved Jack in the beginning from the enemy forces which propelled David to the national hero status. David is the kind of man that Jack should be.

It is a drama with elements of science fiction, alternate realities, etc. It is sad that more viewers never made it a contender. Alas, ratings equal revenue, and revenue is what keeps the network in business. However, NBC is to be commended for airing this unconventional series in the first place.

It would be helpful to read I Samuel in the Old Testament in order to understand the references before sitting down to watch this excellent series. This review is based on the episodes which have aired. NBC is scheduled to air the remaining episodes beginning sometime in June.
0Comment| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2009
... television produces true art. In this decade, it's been "Battlestar Galactica" (in terms of drama) and "24" (in terms of innovative form). "Kings" is both; it mines the Bible (of all things!) for deep content about the human condition, and flies in the face of political correctness in generating a format that is just staggeringly innovative and paradigm-shattering. Ironic that the evangelicals and fundamentalists missed this brilliant series, with its penetrating insights, dramatic consistency and deep honesty. BUY THIS DVD SET.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2009
This show is by far the best I've ever seen, the script is nearly perfect, the acting is outstading, and the story is completely engaging.

And as a smack in the face NBC not only cancels the show but also fails to deliver a Bluray edition? NBC not only slams their viewers but also the art of filmaking as a whole, caring only for what gives them the highest number of viewers and revenue.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2009
Let's face it, "Kings" was too smart, too literary, and too good to succeed on network TV. Much like HBO's "Rome," "Kings" was exciting, epic, and way too expensive to succeed as anything other than an American-Idol-level ratings phenomenon. Since no scripted show on TV without "CSI" in its name can even come close to those numbers today, it was doomed to fail from the start. After all, why should a network spend millions of dollars PER EPISODE on a quality scripted drama that hardly anyone watches, when they can spend pennies on reality programming that lures in tens of millions of viewers each week?
The creators deserve much credit for conceiving an immersive, fully-realized world, and finding vital energy in a rarely-told Old Testament story. The cast is excellent -- and can be forgiven for occasionally using the stylized dialogue as an excuse to chew scenery. The cinematography, production design, and use of real NY locations are also well-executed in every episode, starting with Francis Lawrence's ("I Am Legend") thoroughly engaging 2-hour pilot.
"Kings" had a hell of a reign, however brief. We few, loyal fans can only hope that the Series DVDs sell enough copies to allow the creators to produce a made-for-TV or direct-to-DVD film that brings this story to the worthy ending we all want to see.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2009
NBC deserves to die. Go bankrupt and cease to exist. Canceling Kings makes me hate them and I will not watch this network from now on. Sponsors stop wasting your advertising money. NBC no longer has viewers.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2009
A wildly creative and great new show airs, only to be canceled. For a second, I thought this show aired on Fox, as it's their general MO to axe something that could of made their network relevant again. I was stunned when I saw NBC was the culprit this time around.

Kings had great acting, beautiful cinematography, captivating story and music. This show honestly felt more like an HBO miniseries than a network tv show. Such a shame. To everyone that worked on the project, I'm sorry NBC's marketing division so completely and utterly dropped the ball.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2009
Finally it appears as if network television is finally getting that audiences are sick of hospital shows, buddy cop and really bad sit coms.

Kings is an amazing watch, well-crafted, and acted with an incredibly believable story line.

Hats off to Michael Green, the writers (especially to you guys), producers, and entire crew for crafting a show that is intriging to watch and imaginative!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2009
For those of you that read the other reviews, and thought, this is a show only for religious zealots or too much religious allegory, then you are wrong. I am an atheist and completely loved this show for the writing, story telling, and drama. Give it a chance, as I imagine this may be the reasons this show never caught on, but from the beginning this show will capture you with an excellent story, or a reimagining of a familiar biblical story. Yes can be cheesy at times, but after the final episode I wish for more. I can't recommend this enough, as I thought of this more as a science fiction show, rather than a biblical one.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$14.96

Need customer service? Click here