Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$28.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 465 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 635 reviews
on September 19, 2016
This game is adorable! My daughter purchased this with some of her birthday money, and it was definitely a great choice. I've played a lot of Kirby games and they are always cute, but this one takes the cake. Kirby has been turned into yarn, and that means everything around him is yarn too - it's just too cute seeing the backgrounds and enemies in this new style.

The game is a little easy for adults, but most Kirby games are. But for a kid, either one new to games or one who doesn't often play in this genre, it's perfect. Even a younger child could play it, as the story is told by a narrator as you progress through the game.

All in all this is a pretty solid game, and a great addition to the series. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a game for a child with a Wii or Wii U - or just to returning fans of the series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
Kirby without his inhale ability? Well, plenty of Kirby titles have him lacking his signature move. Cannot really either when air goes right through.
Yarn and fabric and thread? Oh my yes; Kirby yanks apart enemies with his heart? star and the background of the entire world of Patch Land is constructed in such a way that you see how it is fabric but it does not shove the aspect in your face. Everything compliments itself rather well. Found myself wanting to experiment with each button, unzip the hidden locations, walk behind fabrics and notice the budges.
Mind-blowing music complimentary to a Kirby title? Triple yes. 50+ Remixes from past titles and new additions. The game recognizes this and has part of completing everything as collecting CDs for the music in every level (bosses present after defeat).
The idea of gameplay revolves around gathering beads/jewels, stringed together to reach new ranks and unlock patchs which futher more levels (or for beating past scores). The game can be easy in the sense that you never die, but if an enemy hits you or you fall off into oblivion, there goes your string. So yeah, try completing stages without damage (it is possible, have done so with most).
Customization? Yep, in the form you have an apartment and gather/buy pieces/fabric to design it whatever/however (Items being amassed during each level) Beds, chairs, you can sit or sleep on; toys rock or make sounds, etc. Large selection of fabric for wall and floor (no crafting own print, but variety with quality).
Mini-games? In the form of challenges from apartment neighbors, who reward you with fabric prints (the best ones out of total selections). Those I enjoyed, even if some were downright annoying.
The story overall was basic and rather there to give reason to the whole existance of this fabric-y realm. However, the fact that King Dedede and MetaKnight appeared compensates and this Kirby title really shines fine without.
Probably one of, if not, the lengthiest Kirby titles. Those 50+ songs? Each level does not repeat the same music. 30-40 hrs to finish everything.
Did I enjoy? Yes. Replayability may not be the strong suit (will play again in future though), but the journey was epic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2016
Kirby's Epic Yarn is fun for everyone, but don't expect to be a traditional game here.

Cute graphics, simple graphics, fun co-op multiplayer, and good replayability! The only downside is that this game is way too easy, though you can't die in every level. What a bummer!

But still, you like a game to have a relax for hours, I recommend to try it out. It's not a "true" Kirby, but you will enjoy it nonetheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
I bought this game for my 8-year-old daughter, but my 4-year-old son ended up playing it the most with me. It is a really fun two-player game with a lot of replay value. (There are several games within the game where you go back to previous levels and do different timed games.) It was easy enough for my 4-year-old to play with me because you can press a button if you get stuck and "float" to the other player. But the game was also challenging enough for my older daughter because there are lots of puzzles and hidden things to find. This game gave us many many hours of family fun.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2014
Got this for my two daughters, and it is one of the few games they can play together without all the arguing that usually ensues. With one in 3rd grade, and the other in Kindergarten, it is very hard to find a game they can play together, without some sort of squabble. Either the game is too easy for the older one, and she gets bored due to lack of challenge, or it is too hard for the younger one, who winds up running out of lives for her character, or her character gets left behind. With Kirby, they both play on the same screen, but it seems like most of the time there are both easy and more challenging things to do, which keeps them both fairly happy. Also, the gameplay is such that your character never 'dies', the goal of the game is to complete different 'rooms', with each room having a different sort of puzzle to solve, while collecting goodies like gems or stars along the way. If you fall off a ledge, for example, your character doesn't die, you just lose a few of your goodies. Also, if one character gets too far ahead or behind the other, they do not die, they turn into a sort of 'angel' and floats to the other character, and when they get back together, it reverts back to the normal character, and play is resumed.
Gameplay is clever, and has kept my kids entertained for quite some time. 'Kirby' is the character they control, they each get one of a different color. Kirby is made of yarn, as are most of the other characters (hence, the 'epic yarn' part of the game). Because he is made of yarn, Kirby can shape shift, as he goes into different worlds, which opens up new dimensions of gameplay. For example, Kirby normally walks, runs, jumps, etc. However, when he jumps into the water, he may transform into a kind of submarine, with special moves/abilities that he only has when he is a submarine. The same sort of thing happens when he goes into outer space, Kirby morphs into a UFO, again with special moves/abilities the kids need to figure out in order to get through that particular 'room'.
The game starts out in Kirby's own 'room' which the kids can decorate as they wish. They can buy decorations, and even furniture with the stars and jewels they earned from solving the puzzles in other rooms. At first, I thought this was gimmicky, but I was surprised at how much my girls enjoyed decorating and re-decorating Kirby's 'room', personalizing it to their whim. Maybe it is more a girl thing, but they really enjoy that aspect of it, as well.
All in all, a good game for younger kids, as there is at most some light cartoonish violence, but defeating an 'enemy' mostly consists of unraveling the yarn he is made of, and after a little time, they re-assemble themselves. Also, there character never 'dies', at worst they just lose some of their bonus points/jewels. Of all the games we own, this one probably is the one that the kids can play together on the best.
For one or two players. If you have more than 2 kids, and want something as many as 4 people can play on at once, I suggest Mario Kart, or if your kids are older and can handle more cartoonish violence (like head bonking, no killing) try one of the Raymon Rabbid games. If you don't mind taking turns playing instead of playing simultaneously, I'd suggest the Wii House Party games.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2013
I am not really a video game player. In fact I tend to avoid video games at all cost because I tend to find them boring as well as painful since I have arthritis in both hands.

Kirby's Epic Yarn though is not only fun but easy on my hands. The controls are simple to use, the movements are fun, and overall the game is just adorable. It's appropriate for all ages and since you can advance simply by reaching the end of a level it is not as frustrating for younger players.

Each level has an option to be one or two player, so if you find yourself stuck all you have to do is ask a friend to pick up the other controller and join you. This is even true of the boss levels. Speaking of boss battles, if you gain enough beads on those you can unlock other doors.

The graphics are cute, and the story between levels is kid-friendly without being adult-irritating. The game has 3 profiles you can save to, but you can save over them if you wish with new games. It's absolutely the best game I've ever tried.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2013
This game... this game is...

Adorable.

Yeah, how can you go wrong with the most loveable video game character of all time being in a world of yarn? I don't know and they don't give me anything to say is wrong with the game "Kirby's Epic Yarn" and fantastically there's nothing wrong with this game.

The game is bound to a "yarn world" where the villain doesn't even pose any threat or ill- willed dastardly plans. He just banishes Kirby to the world of yarn and you are greeted with Prince Fluff to stop the wizard in question. The game-play is where Epic Yarn shines the most with a quite unusual mechanic, its impossible to die. With that the challenge is henceforth put onto going through all the fluffy locations to collect: patches, music from the soundtrack, stickers to decorate a room with, and gems (in which you keep to the end of the stage to get a Gold Emblem for that area). But there's no need to do this as in Kirby 64, which poses a great deal of relief to play this game seeing as all the collectables are kinda "fluff" in a way. So if you just want to go through the stages then you can do just that. Since Kirby is turned to yarn his "copy abilities" are no longer effective and are replaced with "yarn maneuvers" to turn Kirby (or Prince Fluff) into various items from parachutes, trains, dolphins et cetera.

For those guys who love to play video games Kirby's Epic Yarn is perfect for you and your intimate acquaintances. Seeing as this game is 2-player the latter player can control Prince Fluff to join on the adventure with Kirby and since dying isn't an option and you aren't required to get any of the collectibles, this game is a non stress maker and due to it's adorable yarn presentation with its "fluffy" atmosphere it will surely be the best co-op game for any relationship.

The music is also charming by the way to go with every single stage.

Kirby's Epic Yarn:
with it's
- fantastic visuals
- great cooperative gameplay
- delightful music
- well made challenges
- and a simple easygoing theme to the entire game

This game is impossible to not please, with it being long enough so that the relative ease of the game did not become unsatisfying at the end of the campaign. Cutesy setup on all the visuals, abilities, music and challenges. Lack of death and failures when exploring areas and proceeding through enemy terrain. It is like when Yoshi's Island for the N64 tried to be the cute Nintendo game for the entire family. It was short adorable and was relatively easy. But it was way too short while Kirby's Epic Yarn can be played in small or large doses and it is very adorable no matter what.

a 2-player experience that's just as good as a single player experience.
Kirby's Epic Yarn - (9.5 out of 10)

It's a perfect game and is worth getting a Wii or Wii U for alone and you should get it as soon as you get either console.

-Charles Hauenstein
Owner of/ Reviewer of Kirby's Epic Yarn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2015
I was so late into realizing just how amazing this game is. We're already in the next gen era of consoles and did expect too much from this game. I initially bought this game for my youngest nephew to maybe get him into games and hopefully develop his decision making skills. Its great because you never really die in this game. There is no huge "game over" sign if you made a mistake to discourage the player. The player can play and play and trial and error his/her way into beating a level. The graphics and look of this game is pretty awesome considering its a game for the Wii. It is also two players so if my nephew had any troubles, which he did, I could help with my character. I highly recommend this game to play with your young one. For older, established players, this game could be fun for you too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2017
Kirby's back in another great game... This time on the Wii. Great game!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
This is a wonderful Wii game. It is our first time playing a Kirby game. Great "Mario" type game with running, jumping, shooting, etc. Graphics and music are geared toward kids, but fun for adults as well. Graphics and concepts are very creative. Kids love it when Kirby turns into cars, trains, parachute, weight, surfer, robot, etc. Don't let the kid features make you think this is an "easy" game though. There are several worlds where the young kids have to turn the control over to mom or dad to make it passed the difficult part. And collecting all of the jewels and prizes in a world can be quite challenging even for an adult. Love that you cannot "fail or die" in a world. If you fall off a ledge or get smashed, you simply reappear where you left off. 2 player is good for young children since an "angel" carries you to where the lead character is if you fall behind. But 2 player can actually make the game more difficult because the screen will not advance if the other character is too far away. During complicated jumping passages, this causes a problem. This is a favorite game in our family and we highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here