Kindle Price: $7.80

Save $3.19 (29%)

Prime Day Promo: Prime members get 30% of the purchase price as credit toward their next Kindle eBook. Only valid on the first eligible purchase. A confirmation email will be sent once the credit has been applied. See details

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The Kiss of Deception: The Remnant Chronicles, Book One by [Pearson, Mary E.]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

The Kiss of Deception: The Remnant Chronicles, Book One Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 677 customer reviews
Book 1 of 3 in The Remnant Chronicles (3 Book Series)

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$7.80

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 497 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

*Starred Review* She is a princess, and it is her duty to marry into an alliance. But 17-year-old Lia has her own opinion about that obligation, one that she puts into action when she escapes her wedding with her lady-in-waiting, Pauline. Determined, confident Lia thinks that she knows how to cover her tracks, and soon she and Pauline are working as barmaids in Pauline’s hometown. Now two new voices enter to help tell the story. One belongs to the prince whom Lia was supposed to marry. He is curious about his fled fiancée and angry that she thought of a way to get out of the marriage first. The other voice belongs to an assassin who is sent by the Komizar of Venda to make sure that Lia doesn’t change her mind and return to initiate an alliance that will harm their country. Pearson offers readers a wonderfully full-bodied story: harrowing, romantic, and full of myth and memory, fate and hope. She never compromises her characters—especially the multifaceted Lia—for plot; each element motivates the other. There is also a richness to the descriptions that makes readers feel that they can see and even smell the changing landscapes. This has the sweep of an epic tale, told with some twists; it’s a book that almost doesn’t need a sequel, but readers will be thrilled that it continues on. Grades 9-12. --Ilene Cooper

Review

Praise for The Kiss of Deception:

The Kiss of Deception has it all--beautiful writing, heart-pounding suspense, a fiery princess, and an epic romance that'll make you swoon. This is definitely one of my favorite reads of the year!” ―Alyson Noël, #1 New York Times–bestselling author of The Immortals

“In The Kiss of Deception, a new realm is masterfully created, featuring court intrigue, feuding nations, breathtaking landscapes, and the gift of sight. Fans of the Game of Thrones series will enjoy the magic and fantasy in this timeless dystopian world.” ―VOYA

"Gripping, urgent, and highly appealing." ―School Library Journal

"Pearson (the Jenna Fox Chronicles) is off to an extraordinary start with her fantasy series, the Remnant Chronicles, creating an alluring world and romance that's ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore and Megan Whalen Turner." ―Publishers Weekly

"Pearson offers readers a wonderfully full-bodied story: harrowing, romantic, and full of myth and memory, fate and hope. . . . This has the sweep of an epic tale, told with some twists." ―Booklist, starred review

"A marvelous new fantasy series that is sure to find an audience with devotees of Suzanne Collins's The Hunger Games and John Flanagan's Ranger's Apprentice books (Philomel). Romance, adventure, mysticism--this book has it all and it just may be the next YA blockbuster." ―School Library Journal, starred review

"After her strong Jenna Fox series, Pearson adeptly switches gears here from science fiction to fantasy, but her ability to write a romance featuring complex characters and a strong plot remains constant." ―The Horn Book

The Kiss of Deception is a deeply satisfying, intricately plotted fantasy where no one--no one--is quite what they seem. Full of lush writing and rich, complex characters, readers will quickly become enmeshed in the intricate web of lies that have been woven into the very fabric of the kingdom itself. A thoroughly engrossing read--I couldn't put it down!” ―Robin LaFevers, New York Times–bestselling author of Grave Mercy and Dark Triumph

“This is the kind of story I love--a heart-pounding tale of magic and murder, betrayal and romance set in a richly imagined fantasy landscape.” ―Cinda Williams Chima, New York Times–bestselling author of the Seven Realms and the Heir Chronicles

“Peppered with excerpts from sacred texts and traditional songs, the novel has a formidable heroine at its core, who is as quick with a knife as she is to laugh or cry. Pearson maintains the mystery of Rafe and Kaden's identities, pulling readers through this masterfully crafted story.” ―Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“Pearson's first book in her Remnant Chronicles is thrilling. Readers will be hooked from the first page to the last and will find themselves eagerly anticipating the next installment. Pearson pairs a rich and varied plot with a fiery and headstrong heroine.” ―Romantic Times

“Mystery, romance, betrayal, redemption: There's plenty to hook readers in to this installment of Lia's saga and make them impatient for the volumes to come.” ―Chicago Tribune

“Pearson's writing is beautiful, and her ability to twist a plot into knots keeps the reader wanting more.” ―BookPage

“This thick book is fantastical and interesting (with a bit of mystery thrown in!). . . .There's a lot of mystery that spices up the book. It's not all about the mystery, but it's on the peripheral always, which makes it that much more interesting.” ―USA Today

“Lia herself is a likeable heroine, and the selfishness in her act of leaving a kingdom in shambles for some future love is negated by her obvious naivete about political strategies and romantic relationships . . . Most intriguing are the two love interests, though, partly because of the way Pearson structures their narrating chapters.” ―BCCB

Rich and exciting . . . a bold ending whets appetites for the next installment.” ―Kirkus Reviews


Product details

  • File Size: 3987 KB
  • Print Length: 497 pages
  • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR); Reprint edition (July 8, 2014)
  • Publication Date: July 8, 2014
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 162779218X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1627792189
  • ASIN: B00I1W23A4
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #26,860 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Top customer reviews

February 6, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
December 13, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
December 13, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
January 29, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
January 14, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Kiss of Deception: The Remnant Chronicles, Book One
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Kiss of Deception: The Remnant Chronicles, Book One