Oil month Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on September 10, 2014
I watched this movie with two little girls ages 7 and 9. They enjoyed it tremendously although some of the issues in the movie are better for children a little older. Basically, the movie covers issues around the Great Depression and people suddenly falling into poverty and the prejudice that they encounter. It is a great film to teach ethics around empathy, open-mindedness and compassion for your fellow human beings. There's a mystery in the film which involves a robbery and it's great fun. The heroine of the film has aspirations to be a journalist and her self-confidence was inspiring to my 9-year-old who is a bit shy.

My suggestion is that before the kids watch this film, you talk about the events surrounding the Great Depression and the effect it had on all kinds of people, rich and poor. Since the film talks about the hobos, it's a good idea to talk about the migrants of the Depression, why they had become homeless, the desperate straits they fell into, and the prejudice they faced.

Although some of the subject matter may seem heavy and depressing, the film is not at all depressing. It's actually quite uplifting and even funny at times. There was plenty to talk about after the film and the kids want to watch it again.

Mature elementary school students, both boys and girls, would enjoy this movie. It's both entertaining and educational, plus it includes lessons on honesty, compassion, patience and loyalty. Wish there were more films for kids like this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 23, 2014
This film is not just for children. It is a beautiful, charming, informative, poignant, and fun story set in the Great Depression in Cincinnati, in the home of a family trying to survive the hardships of the times. Beautifully acted by all the actors, this story is one you will want to see again and again and again, for its setting, its story, facts about the Worls Progress Administration, self-sufficiency, survival, "lessons" about empathy and tolerance, its humor, and its portrayal of people from all parts of society as they come together, thanks to spunky, bright young "reporter" Kit Kittredge. My favorite movie of its kind. Based on the delightful doll, Kit Kittredge, and her books, which are part of the American Doll collection, this is a film to see and share.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 20, 2015
A big part of why I give this 5 stars is because of how much my kids like this. Both my daughter who is into dolls and such, and my tomboy who won't have anything to do with it. This is a well acted, directed and written movie. Well worth a watch. It was also interesting enough for the parents to enjoy as well. Not just for American Girl doll fans. Enjoyable for most all kids, girls and boys alike.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 9, 2015
Truly enjoyed the movie. I was pleasantly surprised to the see that it was by current actors. My daughter was interested in it because Kit is one of the American Girl dolls and it caught her attention. Thanks to that, she learned about a time in history of our country that otherwise she would not have sought out on her own. Keep it up. We need more quality movies like those that our children can watch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 6, 2017
Love this movie! This is one of those kid's movies that appeals to adults. It has quality actors in it like Stanley Tucci and Joan Cusack. The kids do a great job of carrying the movie. It is a good look into the Great Depression. Even though it has its serious moments, it is very funny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2009
I showed this to a class of 1st-3rd-graders studying The Great Depression in an American history class. The boys groaned when I told them it was an "American Girl" movie, but when the movie was over Kit Kittredge had won the attention and emotions of the 13 boys and 5 girls in the classroom.

The movie, although set in Depression times in Cincinnatti,Ohio, is overall very positive and encouraging. Kit and her mother get creative in order to make ends meet and prevent foreclosure on their home. A emotionally-wrenching situation with Kit's father losing his job and having to move to Chicago resolves in the end. The neatest thing, in my opinion, is Kit (although young) is a writer and aspired to one day "see her name in print." The quick-witted Kit quickly learns that persistence, practice, patience and a creative "angle" were necessary for her "reporting" to get from her typewriter to newspaper print!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 17, 2018
Cute. I liked the historical references for everyday life in the Great Depression. Some of the adult actors were terrible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 13, 2017
Grey story that generated a lot of talking ... my 9 year old loves learning about different periods of history and the struggles of the times. This one is one of her favorites, she loves Kit and her journalism!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 10, 2015
My granddaughter wanted this for collection of the series.
It is refreshing that positive wholesome movies are still available compared to all the negative images and subject matter that permiates our society.
I am even happier that my granddaughter asks for and enjoys them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 7, 2015
This is the best movie of the year. Granted I don't get to watch many movies. This is always a favorite for "family movie night"

Perfect in every way and lots of engaging discussion around matters related to society and economics and friendship, and trust and understanding and need I go on?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse