Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 276 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 597 reviews
on December 18, 2016
Seth Rogan and Katherine Heigl are amazing in this gut busting show about life's little mishaps. I love the story, the quirky wit of the script, and the flawless excecution of the roles. The casting was great, Paul Rud also helps to make this a must see. Watch it on date night or without the kids home because there is some swearing, some nudity, and lots of pot...but then again what story is good without those three things. Definitely recommend this to anyone who's had a one nighter or just needs a really good laugh!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2017
Knocked Up was probably the best written and acted comedy I have seen in years. The humor was quick and fresh, but there was also some serious drama which created a great balance to the film. Katherine Heigl was really the standout for me in terms of acting, but Seth Rogen, Paul Rudd, and Leslie Mann delivered most of the laughs. This is not a movie for the younger folks, but it is one of the few comedies you can use the words emotional and gross when describing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2011
Much like Judd Apatow's preceding film 'The 40 Year Old Virgin', this
takes a silly high concept Hollywood idea (slacker slob impregnates
upper class hottie, in spite of all odds they have the baby and fall in
love), injects it with sharp humor, highbrow and low, pathos, good
acting, and even some real insight into people and relationships.

Seth Rogan is terrific, but so is Catherine Heigel, Paul Rudd, and
everyone in the supporting roles.

Not a huge visual upgrade between the Blu-ray and the regular
DVD, so if cost is a factor...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 2, 2009
Writer/director Judd Apetow is building his own franchise and making a real name for himself with his high quality comedies with his unique special brand of humor and great casting. SUPERBAD does seem to be the most popular thus far but KNOCKED UP is in the same league for me.

Story line is pretty basic. We have an average stoner guy and a beautiful professional woman who meet at a bar, get drunk, have sex and she gets pregnant. In real life such different types of people may not try to make a relationship work but here it is very believable and the development of each character about life, love and acceptance is very realistic as the pregnancy develops. Katherine Heigl and Seth Rogen are in top form as their lives are forever altered. Dialogue is funny, circumstances are realistic and having the marriage of Heigl's sister to compare with works great. Paul Rudd shines here and steals all the scenes he is in.

This is a bawdy comedy but manages to put across positive messages about safe sex, responsibility and the fact that relationships can be difficult. It is not a message film by any means but it manages to spread a good positive vein about life and its complications.

Blu ray usually is put to its best use with action films or films with great cinematography which show how the 1080p can be brilliant and how audio can transcend. Comedies can sometimes appear bland on blu ray but this film is crisp, colors are vibrant and video and audio are both at levels above that of the regular dvd. There is much talk of this movie being too long. For me it was not. You will either love it or you won't. For me it had a purpose in the length and the character development also warranted it.

I highly recommend the blu ray version of this film as well as the film itself.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2017
Its always been a favorite romantic comedy of mine! Seth Rogan and Katherine Heigl are both fantastic in this movie, your will love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2017
Very satisfied with transaction and product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon June 2, 2007
I just became a Seth Rogen fan. Just right now, I did. I've been peripherally aware of this guy, having seen him in miniscule parts in ANCHORMAN: THE LEGEND OF RON BURGUNDY, YOU, ME & DUPREE, and, most notably, THE 40 YEAR OLD VIRGIN. But, here in KNOCKED UP, he takes lead actor honors and he's wonderful. See this movie for the other actors, as well - Katherine Heigl, Paul Rudd, and Leslie Mann all shine - but, in my eyes, this is a cinematic coming out party for Seth Rogen. And, if nothing else, this chubby guy gives hope to uncool, unhandsome, plain folks like me. So, yay.

This is the story of Ben and Alison. Ben (Seth Rogen) is a laid-back and unemployed teddy bear of a guy who whiles away his time smoking weed and, with his slacker buddies, striving to construct a celebrity skin website (that these guys are unaware of the Mr. Skin site, already in place, seems far fetched). In a club, he bumps into out-of-his-league Alison (Katherine Heigl), a gorgeous career girl celebrating a promotion. Booze is poured, a spark is ignited, and Alison and Ben hook up. As sometimes happen, the next morning opens with hangovers and regrets and a butt-crack. Alison gets a good, sober look at Ben, who then doesn't help his case by throwing up and then championing the merits of post-drunk vomiting. Disgusted, Alison departs; Ben knows he goofed and assumes that that was that. But, 8 weeks later, Ben hears from Alison, who drops the news that she's expecting. And, because Ben is innately a good guy and Alison a fairly open-minded girl who doesn't want to do this alone, they make a go of being together.

This flick is a cheerful, very funny 2-hours-plus worth of sit down time and definitely offers more than its ANIMAL HOUSE tendencies would have you initially believe. My gut feeling is that the folks involved in the making of this film had true affection for it, especially Director/Writer Judd Apatow. KNOCKED UP lays down consistent humor foraying into occasional bawdiness. The film did startle me with its display of genuine emotion and heart. I was prepared to be content with cardboard people and cheap laughs. Instead, underneath the bawdy trimmings, the unaffected, heartfelt core of the film surfaced and made me invest in the characters beyond a superficial level. I really liked the characters. Too, the rampant crudity and lewdness of the film are balanced by a humorous yet sensitive depiction of a marriage quietly on the rocks, which, with all the insights given, actually feels like a real marriage.

Alison's older sister Debbie and Pete have been married for a while now and are raising two beautiful daughters. But life isn't like the movies, and Debbie and Pete, well-meaning people both, have problems. Debbie as played with delirious, high-strung brittleness by Leslie Mann is one of those pushy, righteous people who eventually gets under your skin, but she's not a bad person. Paul Rudd is comic gold as Pete, the fount of masterfully sly and dry comments, who can mostly tolerate Debbie's harangues but only if he gets the occasional alone time. Their not-quite-rosy relationship is plentifully plumbed, giving rise to spousal suspicions and bickerings and possibly previewing what the future holds for Alison and Ben. Too, Alison and Ben end up choosing sides as Alison is strictly with her sister while Ben espouses Pete's side. This puts a decided crimp in their own relationship.

Of course, this movie hinges on the leads' ability to generate interest and invoke sympathy from the viewer. And, let's face it, who wouldn't want Ben Stone for a buddy? Or Seth Rogen, for that matter? Ben is so good natured and easy going that I challenge anyone to not root for him and his maturation process. One of my favorite scenes is when he finally confronts Debbie. His chemistry with Heigl is apparent on screen; I can actually see this smoking hot girl being pals with and then falling for the prospectless, chubby but appealing loser, although, naturally, beer and possibly many shots of tequilla would have to be involved. Katherine Heigl had already turned my head with her performances in ROSWELL and THE RINGER. Here, much respect goes to Katherine as she shrugs off dignity and dives right into the thick of things. But, you know what, even when ignominiously suffering thru morning sickness, throwing hormonal hissy fits, or giving alarmingly painful birth, she maintains her full babefulness. As Alison,she comes across as an authentic person with an array of valid fears and insecurities. Katherine Heigl's good. And smoking hot.

The supporting players sparkle. Credit as a whole goes to Ben's insult-tossing cast of nowhere-headed pals, who may be hapless but are there for Ben. Two standouts are Ken Jeong as the strict and precise Asian doctor and SNL-er Kristen Wiig as some sort of network executive, she of the snide and off-the-wall verbal asides ("This is Hollywood. We don't like liars."). Because Alison works for the E! network, we're treated to several cameos of famous folks playing themselves. Ryan Seacrest's lampooning of himself is a blast and it makes me like him a bit better.

I like to laugh and KNOCKED UP doled out laughter in multiple servings. Much of the humor is of the juvenile sort as a sizable chunk of the film is dedicated to the slacker amigos mercilessly bagging on each other. Your enjoyment of these jokes will depend on your pop-culture I.Q. (for example, do you know who Serpico is?). One guy who undertakes a shaving bet is incessantly strafed with facial hair insults ("Scorcese on coke" "Your face is like Robin William's knuckles."). Be advised that there are moments here of THERE'S SOMETHING ABOUT MARY or AMERICAN PIE proportions. But, in the midst of the pot humor, the DeNiro impressions, and the scatalogical stuff, there's an unfeigned sweetness and moments of honest soul searching which resonate clearly, and, gullible goofball that I am, I was charmed. Don't be fooled by the raunchy and "modern" conventions here; this film is firmly centered on family values. Ben Stone might be an adult at 23 years old, but this is still a coming of age story.

In his first lead role, Seth Rogen emerges as the genial, scruffy heart of the film. Now that he has it, here's hoping he can sustain his leading man status. If the ungainly Jack Black can do it, why not Seth, who's more lovable and cuddly? But there are other actors in the film. Heigl, Rudd, and Mann do great being witty and poignant, argumentative and loving, and real. KNOCKED UP allows both genders to have their moments. In terms of who's funny, Rogen and Rudd definitely come through, but Heigl and especially Mann deliver their ample share of levity. Just wait for the scene with the stressed Debbie having a brutal yet uproarious conversation with the nightclub doorman. The movie also has that something which lesser films would kill for, which is chemistry among its stars. Chemistry abounds, between Rogen and Heigl, between Mann and Rudd, between Rogen and Rudd. So, yeah, there's all kinds of reasons to go see KNOCKED UP. The guys have the dirty, smutty humor and the smoking hot babes; for the girls, there's the pregnancy arc, a nice, unforced romance, as well as the sibling relationship of Alison and Debbie. Oh, and, apparently, Paul Rudd is a clever hunk and Seth Rogen is immensely huggable. But, me, I saw this to learn the dice move.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 4, 2007
I thought the film was well done. It's fairly common today for people to forget that movies are surreal. As in they are not always an accurate reflection of reality, even if they portray familiar situations, environments, and interactions. While I laughed throughout the film, I can see that this movie is not going to be a hit with everyone. As a guy who has been lumped into the "dork" category before, I can say that this appeals to a younger audience of social misfits. The premise of the film is stretched thin at times, but the characters grow and seem mostly real, with a few exceptions. There were plenty of one-liners and raunchy humor balanced by genuinely endearing moments. The inconsistency and heavy reliance on juvenile humor made this a four star film for me, but it was still worth seeing in a theater, if only to laugh aloud with the audience.

===POINT/COUNTERPOINT***

1. Stoner and Juvenile Humor: The movie was inundated with pot-related references and jokes, including creative/adaptive smoking (fishbowl, gas mask, etc), simulated gay sex scenes while Ben (Seth Rogen) talks to his pregnant one night stand, a group of deadbeat post HS kids who live in a communal environment...the list goes on.

My Response: Yes, the movie was rife with jokes that spoke mainly to the younger, desensitized generation. They did get old in places, but the argument here returns to understanding the demographic. Let's pretend this storyline took place between a man and woman in their late thirties instead of their early to mid twenties. The situations, characters, humor, and their friends, would be entirely different. These are not typical but fictional portrayals of a geek and his friends, and it's true to form.

2. Profanity: It appeared that none of the characters were capable of expressing themselves without inserting expletives into their interactions.

My response: I agree for the most part. There could have been less swearing, but as with most Hollywood flicks aimed at young adults these days, it seems to be par for the course. We've been desensitized. Plus, the movie was supposed to be raunchy. Usually raunch and profanity go hand in hand.

3. Character Development: The movie focuses too deeply upon Ben and does not develop Alison. We see her on the fringes, a woman living in her sister's backyard apartment, consumed only by her work (we see her interact with friends [or "Frenemies" as Carina Chocano calls them in her LA Times review] only once). As the movie unfolds it appears that the best thing to have happened to this woman over the course of her life is her promotion and having this misadventure. Surely this character could and should be more multidimensional.

My response:Yes and no. The main character of this movie is Ben, and the plot line focuses on him and his friends. Therefore we largely view the rest of the characters in the film through the lens of his perspective. I agree that there should have been a bit more character development of Alison, but the movie was already getting dangerously long.

4. Sex Scenes: They were unnecessary.

My response: The movie did not need them. While there were some funny moments, they did not add to the film, and may have alienated a more mature audience even more so than the profanity and juvenile humor (we all were kids at some point and can relate on that level at least). I will again return to the argument that the younger generations (X, Y, Millenials) have been desensitized through television to these matters. I would argue that the sex scenes could have been replaced with more background and development of Alison, or inclusion of the parents to a greater extent.

5. Credibility: There were some incongruities in the film that were difficult to ignore, such as Ben being able to miraculously conjure a white-collar web design job and lush apartment on the fly, the lack of involvement on the parents' behalf, especially towards the end, etc.

My response: Credibility is only an issue if you allow it to become one. The average film today is somewhere between an hour and a half to two hours long. Any longer and it becomes a struggle to hold the audience's interest. The film was already pushing two hours in length, and to include some subplot about how he landed the job or apartment, or greater involvement from the parents, would have drawn the film into dangerous territory with regards to its length. My argument here is simple: SUSPEND YOUR DISBELIEF.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
Worked Great!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon November 16, 2007
Stood on line to buy this because I had heard it was the funniest picture ever made. Not so. Nor is it the most heartwarming. Biggest problem is, Seth is just not leading man material not yet. How could he be so great playing the sidekick in Freaks and Geeks or Undeclared, and yet here he's just this shallow mask mouthing lines with a grin? On the other hand Katherine Heigl really impressed me and held the movie together.

My wife and I started watching it on a Monday and it took us four days to finish it up. It isn't bad, just not very compelling We wound up using any excuse to turn off the DVD, such as "Is that the pizza guy at the door?" or "Do the cats look weird to you?" Of course the movie had some really funny parts, but I didn't believe for an instant that the party boy Ben at the beginning could mature into the serious, employed paterfamilias at the end, yet he learns responsibility in about ten minutes. Also it seemed like Jay, Jason, Martin, etc were all in the movie just so Judd could feel charitable, like Sinatra throwing Joey Bishop and Peter Lawford little parts in his UA movies. Again, Jay, Jonah, Martin etc were all fine, they just had no real place in the show. And what was with, you couldn't have one of them in a scene wihout the other 4 showing up as well? Was it in their contracts?

Cute kids, Leslie Mann sort of cute in the part of Alison's sister Debbie, but really a hundred other actresses could have handled her "angry" scenes better... it was as if she couldn't work up any energy for being upset. Who's the woman who plays Jeff's wife Susie on CURB YOUR ENTHUSIASM, they should have had her.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse