Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15
5 star
93%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
7%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$63.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 15 reviews
on September 14, 2011
Josef Koudelka's "Gypsies", first published in the United States by Aperture in 1975, has long been a scarce and desirable example of this artist's work. The new edition, published by Aperture and printed by Gerhard Steidl, demonstrates just how far the craft of making books has advanced in the past 35 years.
The book differs in several ways from its predecessor, though it represents the same body of work. First, it utilizes a vertical rather than a horizontal format. Horizontally formatted images are presented as two-page spreads almost 20 inches wide, meaning that Koudelka's marvelous use of wide-angle lenses can be viewed in the correct perspective. Two-page spreads usually fail because of the space lost to the gutter, but the new "Gypsies" is beautifully bound and opens almost flat.
There are also no distracting reflections, because the book is printed on matte stock. It is tempting to describe Steidl's quadratone printing as "sumptuous", which it certainly is, but more to the point, the printing serves the photographs: Steidl's craft, in that sense, is totally transparent. The images have a vitality that suggests that they were made in the darkroom, somehow using ink instead of silver.
The work itself remains timeless. It is based on Koudelka's original maquette, adding more than 30 photographs that were not in the 1975 edition, and every one of them is worthy of its place in the new book. If you have never seen Josef Koudelka's work before, there is no better pace to start than with "Gypsies". If you are familiar with the 1975 edition, this one will amaze you. Rarely has an artist been so well-served by his printer and publisher.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
Josef Koudelka is an absolute master of black and white photography. The print style in this book is different than in his Exiles book which I also own. The blacks are crushed and the paper is matte. Not a bad different, just different. This book highlights the many years he spent with the Roma people and was shot with an SLR and wide angle lens. So much different in terms of FOV than his normal work but I love it and.....who am I to give a book review. All I'll say is that if you are a fan of Koudelka, film photography, documentary or travel photography then this is a must have book for your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2011
Josef Koudelka's 'Gypsies is a masterpiece. The revised edition which has just been released is well worth the price. There is no other photographic book like it and I do not believe there will ever be one. Its raw approach with its grainy effects is unique and it has a bite to it that no other photographic book has. This was Josef's first book and he went on to produce many other books after this one. His committment to his subjects and the trust that they gave him is apparent in many of the intimate rectangles of stillness in this revised edition. And it is a sad history of a past era which has not changed to this day.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2011
The first edition of this book is deservedly considered one of the most outstanding photographic achievements of the 20th century and this reprint is well worth having even if you have the original. It has additional photos and the quality of the reproductions is better. The new essay that accompanies it provides insights into the history and current status of the Gypsies (now called Roma). I only wish that the new edition was longer, as Koudelka made some wonderful other photos in this series that are not included in either edition but which were exhibited at his first show of this work at the Carleton Gallery in New York in the 1970s and which were published in Popular Photography at that time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2011
Couldn't agree more with Mr.Mickleburgh's delightful review. Koudelka's original release of his 'Gypsies' book has long been one of my favourites from my photobook collection. This second edition is even better. An utter triumph in the combined arts of photography and printing. The use of matte paper, especially, was a great decision. Aperture are, deservedly, one of the world's great publishing companies. And Herr Steidl. Wow, what a brilliant man. Now ... if only they'd all get together and give us a second edition of 'Exiles'!
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2017
It is a excellent book,it's chapters will understand with ease.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
Um dos mais importantes livros de fotografia produzido no século passado. A primeira edição se esgotou rapidamente e converteu-se em objeto de desejo e de coleção... A segunda edição tende a seguir o mesmo caminho. As fotos são primordiais, a edição fantástica, etc. e tal. Compre o seu antes que acabe...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2015
Wonderful edition, I didn't expect such a beautiful album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2014
It's a excellent product. I like the product anytime, I recomended this because is really what I was expecting to receive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2012
There are only two great photographers that I follow that have seriously made great images of gypsies, Koudelka and Tamas Revesz a Hungarian who has made wonderful images also. In Koudelka's case this new reprint of the earlier book is spectacular. The printing, on high grade matte paper is luscious. I would have preferred that they had not bled an image over two pages but for the content and the printing it's OK. In the case of Revesz who has many books in and out of print, I cannot find his Gypsy prints in book form. Alas, when I want to see them I must Google his website. If you love those wonderfulp people and their expressive faces in photographic images you must see both.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here