BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on August 16, 2016
Great movie... some will call it fairy tails.. but it gives a higher understanding which is when you have power in this world (whatever power you may have been endowed with it is not to harm others, but to defend the ones who needs it the most.
A great reminder of good moral values for humanity to follow.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2017
This movie is live animation with a hysterical plot. The harmony of a peaceful small neighborhood in 1930's China is disrupted by two incompetent con-artist posting as gangster luminaries. Their efforts are negated by the local residents.
The con-artist connect and form an alliance with the real hoodlums. To save face, the "Ax Gang" come in force to the neighborhood. Only, the neighborhood residents are populated with kung fu masters!
There's an unexpected twist in the end, which makes this we'll filmed, finely acted, and superbly comically timed movie we'll worth family viewing. Please note, that there are five murders in the movie. Maybe more suitable for teenagers and adults.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2017
Amazingly inspiring and hilarious movie. Starts out dark but gets better and better and then somehow even better. That final fight scene. WOW! And then the ending scene with the ... oh I don't want to give anything away. Very good and funny movie. There are lines from this movie that still make me laugh just remembering them. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2007
There is a local cable station where I live that, late at night, often shows these tedious kung fu films that I can only assume are or were the mainstay for Hong Kong, Taiwan and some main land China film goers. Most of the action is between one or two young assailants and one older defender made up to appear older with white hair, puffy eyebrows and beard.) Foley artists I expect were exhausted after adding loud snaps and bangs to every contact between the fighters who, except for an occasional flip or ricochet off a tree, are fairly earthbound. And it is impossible to deduce from their barely subtitled dialogue what they are fighting about. Also, these battles almost always take place in a forest or rocky glen.

Recent kung fu epics like Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon; Hero; and House of Flying Daggers, to name only a few, have raised the bar both stylistically and in terms of production values. Stephen Chow, director and co-writer of Kung Fu Hustle, has taken the genre one step further: while keeping the high standards in fight choreography, special and trapeze effects, camera work and editing found in the aforementioned films, Chow produces an at first glance comedic kung fu movie that also incorporates American film genres, not only to inject this latter iconography into his story but also to expand the viewer's consciousness of the toll and meaning (or meaninglessness of) violence. It is obvious that Chow is an avid devotee of Hollywood: he appropriates 1930s musicals a la Fred Astaire in the dance Axe Gang leader Brother Sum and his mob do in their stronghold. Pig Sty Alley is a Chinese version a Bowery Boys back alley. Music, both traditional Chinese string orchestra and snippets from Western classical violin concerts, is used as a continuous underscore. And the physical comedy employed in the first half of the film - among them falls from buildings that do not injure, fist distorted features that snap back like rubber, running legs reduced to a cyclonic blur, people moved dozen of yards in less than a blink of an eye - all draw on Hollywood prototypes, especially the cartoons produced by Warner Brothers in the middle of the last century.

While the callous execution of a rival gang in the middle of the street has the expected comic twist and is nonetheless tolerated despite the carnage, the early death of the coolie, tailor and Donut the baker - the three initial defenders of the Pig Sty Alley - come, on reflection, as something of a shock. Who now is going to step up and defend Pig Sty Alley? The landlord and his wife come forward, revealing their mastery of the martial arts that is almost enough to conquer the Beast - almost, but not quite. Their salvation, and Shanghai's deliverance from the murderous tyranny of the Axe Gang is the transformation from street thug and gang wannabe (and secretly noble) Sing (played by director Chow) into a superfighter who finally vanquishes the Beast.

Throughout, the most vicious and powerful kung fu attacks barely graze the combatants, which maintains the sense of comedy even while the good guys are dying. Chow plays with this violent-comic, good-evil dichotomy with a master's touch. And yet on reflection we realize that more than good entertainment is at stake here. The violence is neutralized by the comedy, and yet the characters, who are so well drawn by this talented cast and its director, are taken from us too soon. Kung Fu Hustle plays this crafty game with us: amazing us with special effects-enhanced fight scenes, making us laugh with well timed and conceived comic bits and pratfalls, but in the end leaving us with an odd dissatisfaction, as much with the film as with the genre. Hollywood inspired images transcend the nominal crudeness of run-of-the-mill chop-socky far, but also raise the stakes in that the characters gain dimension, and in doing so leave the view bereft by their passing. While being more cartoonish, Kung Fu Hustle becomes more real.

Hung Fu Hustle comes highly recommended, and we can only hope that its sequel, due out in 2008, lives up to the standards set by this imaginative and unsettling film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2017
totally hilarious. Even after watching many times, it never gets old. Surrealistic (spelling?) in its humor - very Monty Python in its humor and absurdity. One of the funniest movies.... ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2017
I love this movie! It is nice that it is dubbed because I had mainly seen it subbed. Stephen Chow is really funny and there is some cool action in the movie too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2013
Kung Fu Hustle is a very creative take on the Hollywood martial arts action film. The characters are atypical, including a no-nonsense landlady who pimp-smacks her cheating husband around and fights off oppressing gangs with a devastating lion's roar.
The opening sequences, which played out like a West Side Story musical, gave way to many mind-blowing special effects from the beginning of the film all the way to the end.
Well written, well acted and expertly directed, I would recommend Kung Fu Hustle to any lover of great film.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2013
Some of the funniest concepts and scenes I have ever seen...Stephen Chow is on par with the genius of Mel Brooks with sheer absurdity and lightning jabs at your funny bone! Classic schmaltzy KungFu undiscovered master with a devastatingly funny twist! The version I first viewed was the early pre-dubbing version...and I HATE subtitles! Didn't matter at all with this movie! I watch it at least once a year and I still laugh out loud through most of the movie. I thoroughly enjoy this movie time after time after time after time! Great fantasy fight scenes, really funny and really well developed comical characters with some really clever twists! Can't say enough about this movie...look, if you're low...you feel bad or down...watch this movie...it is fun!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2016
Lots of unexpected plot twists and humor. Very entertaining. Don't expect realistic martial arts, but there is plenty of fun action. It was creative, full of surprises and it kept going from one impossible situation to an even more impossible situation. I think it is a classic for comedy martial arts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2015
Very good movie. a lot of great action and may undertones of martial arts philosophy in this movie. Worth buying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse