Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 213 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 423 reviews
on February 13, 2017
A someone who has resurrected my vinyl collection I purchased the vinyl version of this album so there are no extra takes. That being said, Cars Hiss By My Window is a sublime slow blues and as you listen you can hang on every note. Their level of playing is perfection throughout the album. I'm not sure you'd get the same feel on CD and I can tell you first hand you will miss all the subtleties as an mp3. I never paid much attention to the Doors in my youth and I was right at the age of their target audience. Through this album I realize I was missing a lot.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2017
The music is classic, of course and this is a great mix; however, like the vast majority on new vinyl pressings these days, the vinyl is warped and concave on one side/convex on the other. Waiting for the day when all pressing plants learn how to properly press at the correct temperature and learn how to allow the vinyl to cool properly before packaging. The other problem is that most are doing the 180 gram thing which takes longer to press and cool, but they're giving it normal weight times. The average LP weighs 135 grams which is fine - this heavy weight vinyl isn't really necessary, but it's a way to charge a higher price. That's why 99% of my LP purchases are the original pressings in used vinyl shops. This LP is extremely hard to find in near-mint condition without a super high price, so using this to hold me over. Thanks to Amazon's great return policy, I was able to secure a "less warped" copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 24, 2012
It's getting annoying, isn't it -- the endless parade of rereleases, remasters, and repackagings designed to bleed music fans with the promise of something new from a long-gone band?

Reluctantly, I checked this album out on a streaming service. I wasn't about to part with another dollar to re-re-re-buy this middle-aged album without a good reason. I had the thing on vinyl, for cripes' sake. Then two CD versions, including the "Perception" box set... and now this.

If you don't own a version of this album, and if you like the Doors at all, you must jump on this. And even if you do own a previous version, this edition is well worth it.

Why? Well, if you don't own this album, you're missing a major shift in the Doors' direction, from sinuous adolescent psychedelia to boozy desert blues. It's not an easy shift for the listener to make; it took me easily 20 years of Doors fandom to really come around to this album after cutting my teeth on the poppy "Waiting for the Sun" and the hallucinatory "The Soft Parade" and all. I get it now. I'm glad I waited it out.

And if you do own the album, I recommend you grit your teeth and spring for this edition (perhaps vowing, like me, that this will be the VERY LAST time you pay for this music).

Why? First, it sounds great. Bright enough to hear all the instruments clearly, but not so bright that it sounds "modern." Let's face it, the warm sound of the music of this era is a major part of its attraction. No weird, forced stereo separation; no strange emphasis on any instrument or vocal; it's just pleasant to listen to.

And now -- you need alternate versions? Don't go no further. The second half of this reissue is chock full of truly wonderful alternate takes that I personally had never heard. These are complete takes that stand on their own -- any one of them would have been worthy to be the final take (barring the rather lackluster "Love Her Madly (Take 1))." Some of the chatter before the songs is quite amusing as well, especially the cutting up before "Riders on the Storm." Given the serious tone of most of the album, it's great to hear a bit of Jim's funny side.

As for the two "new" entries, "Rock Me" and "She Smells So Nice"... Well, "Rock Me" is a cover of the old blues standard, "Rock Me Baby," which they often performed live. And the "new song" that's been so hyped, "She Smells So Nice," isn't really a song, more of a loose, drunken jam on a blues theme. On both cuts, the band is ramshackle and Jim's voice is muffled and poorly recorded, and there are audible microphone crackles. I suspect these were warm-up jams that just happen to have been recorded. If you're a huge fan, you may want to get "She Smells So Nice" anyway, just for fun, but a "lost song" it ain't.

The only thing keeping this from being the definitive, ultimate "L.A. Woman" issue is the lack of the bonus tracks from the 2007 issue: "Orange County Suite" and "(You Need Meat) Don't Go No Further." Neither was included on the original "L.A. Woman" issue, but both are real songs (unlike "She Smells So Nice") and both are worthwhile. I'd go so far as to say they're essential for the Doors fan, especially "(You Need Meat)," a Willie Dixon cover. It's one of their best latter-day rockers and it really fits in with the rest of the album. Your best solution, if buying this album for the first time, is to buy this edition and go buy those two tracks individually. Then you'll have everything worth having... until they "discover" another "new" track, that is.
2222 comments| 120 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2016
This newly released 40th Anniversary version of L.A. Woman is Awesome,and well worth the asking price! Disc 2 is full of unreleased studio Gems,and the Remastered Cd sounds Wonderful! Highly Recommended!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon November 7, 2012
I consider myself a stickler for audio quality, and I find this 40th anniversary remastered special version of the Doors L.A. Woman album in MP3 format to be superior to the CD I bought back in the 90s. The vocals have great depth and the instruments are more distinct and clearer than ever. Whoever engineered this remaster did a fabulous job bringing out the subtleties while remaining true to the original.

Many consider this to be the Door's masterpiece album. It may be, but I think there are others just as inventive, creative and musically stimulating. What really sets this apart is the second disc's worth of alternate tracks and B-sides. L.A. Woman is particularly fun but all of these "new" tracks inject new life into this already dynamic recording. Doors aficionados should get this if only for the remastering quality and these added tracks. Those new to the Doors may want to start off with earlier albums, but this 40th Anniversary edition should be on their shopping short-list if they find that they like this band. This is classic Doors, and deserves to be your collection. You won't be disappointed, especially at the price Amazon is selling it at as of this writing. To complete this collection, consider also getting the last two tracks from L.A. Woman [40th Anniversary Mixes], Orange County Suite and (You Need Meat) Don't Go No Further.

Enjoy -- this is Morrison and the Doors at the wane of their peak together. There's magic here.

~ Kort
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
Getting this 40th Edition with the additional CD is a must. My goodness, these raw tacks are better than the album itself. Feels like Jim is sitting in your living room.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2017
The Doors of the 1970's! Just an amazing recording that is as fresh today as the day it came out. The remaining three would keep close to the sound and theme of this album for the next two offerings as a three piece (which we would all still be listening to if Morrison had sung the songs). No song sounds better in rock and roll that Riders of the Storm at midnight when one is alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2017
Flawless!!
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2017
Cant get it to be recognized by my CD player. Marantz 6006 won't read. It says no disc. Plays fine in 20 year old car player. Very mad!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2016
Amazing Sound Quality
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse