Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 89 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 97 reviews
This is Lego's second set featuring the escape pod from Star Wars IV, the first being #7106 from 2001. Introduced in January of 2012, set #9490 is certainly an improved design, the escape pod featuring a conical shape (rather than cylindrical as in the earlier set) along with nice thruster detailing at both ends of the pod. The shell of the pod lifts off to reveal seating areas for the droids and a control panel. Stickers decorate the side of the pod. There is also a little speeder bike included in the set, though a dewback would have been nice.

The main reason to purchase the set is for the mini-figures; it includes four: R2-D2, C-3PO, and two Sandtroopers. C-3PO sports a new torso that allows one to see his mechanical/electrical innards at the abdominal opening; he also has printed eyes on his head. The Troopers have sand marks on them, giving them a nice weathered look, and they also have printing on their legs. Dressed in different colored pauldrons, I think these troopers are some of the best Lego has made.

In terms of playability, this is a good set. Escape pods are single-use vehicles and are not given to dogfights or flitting about the galaxy. So the limited plot-line of the movie means kids have to be extra inventive. But the set makes up for this in plenty of mini-figures and just a nifty pod design. Given the assortment of fairly useful parts (curves and conical sections), this is a good value set. And since Lego only seems to offer an escape pod once every decade, well, here's your chance to get away with one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
Build quality: 3.5, Theme quality: 4.5

Overall, this was a good set. Both the swoop bike and the escape pod are relatively simple to build and highly detailed. Both are also extremely durable, which is crucial for younger children. I was disappointed to find that the escape pod was missing a grey hooked attachment piece. However, this part is not essential to the build in general. In terms of mini-figures, this model really excels, as both sandtroopers and the new detailed C-3P0 are all unique to the set.

At 137 pieces, this set is relatively inexpensive, especially considering the 3 unique mini-figures. Also this set would work very well in combination with some other larger sets, specifically the Millennium Falcon 7965, which omits both C-3P0 and R2-D2. All things considered, I would recommend this set, as it is well worth its cheap price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
This set is really about the minifigures. Two really detailed sandtroopers and a nice quality C3po and R2D2. The speeder bike is too basic, and while the escape pod is nice, it of course is just a backdrop to your imaginary action. Would have been nice if this set actually featured a Dewback lizard, but that would have made it more expensive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2013
Great kit. I was missing two tiny pieces that really didn't spoil the model. I knew I could rely on LEGo for fixing this quickly. Refreshishingly good service.I also like the implicit value that such tiny things are basically free..even the best packers can make a mistake and this is reflected by the company not charging anything. Great company, great ethos...I'm buying an X-wing right now, just to show my support. Great Danish company. (I'm from London but live in PA.) Lego is huge in Europe,folks. You can't go wrong.BUY IT FOR YOU OR YOUR KIDS!!lol.. please try one kit,, never had so much fun in years.x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2012
This set is great, considering the new c-3po and sand-troopers are in a set that isn't an expensive set. The escape pod looks very good and high detailed, and it sturdy. All in all, recommended for any star wars fan.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2013
I bought this set because of the sandtroopers - they simply look great and are a wonderful addition to any lego star wars enthusiast's collection of minifigures. That being said, the set is a little on the pricey side - 137 pieces for 18 dollars isn't bad but is still over the 10 cents a piece we like to see. The escape pod itself is not anything exciting, but is a great representation of what is in the film. The sandtroopers themselves start at around 6 dollars in the secondary market and you get two here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2015
another iconic star wars scene from lego

this set had the matte gold c3p0 and nice little speeder bike

i have this set crashed near the LEGO Star Wars 75059 Sandcrawler
really brings the room together!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2013
As most people who collect Star Wars minifigs will tell you, getting C3PO is kind of a pain, as he only comes with large expensive sets, UNTIL NOW! Plus, you get 2 cool Tattooine stormtroopers (with really cool little silver and orange sashes). The escape pod is pretty cool, and it kind of looks like the one from the movie, but I think when you buy this set, you buy it for the awesome minifigures it comes with, and they are good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
This present was opened on Christmas and had to immediately be put together by my nephew who is 6 years old. Him and his Dad sat for about an hour and put the entire thing together. It turned out great. It is a fun, well made addition to his Star Wars collection. Being a Star Wars fan myself who was around for the original movies, I want one for myself !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
I always find legos to be inexplicably expensive. However you do get excellent quality with the high price tag. This set is no different. It has a good assortment of parts for the children to play with and was easier to put together than some other sets that we have. My son especially loves the robot figures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here