Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: LEGO X-Large Gray Baseplate (628)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now

Price:$24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 7, 2001
Yes, it's a grey 15" square Lego plate. But I seem to remember the "baseplates" being the same thinkness as a regular Lego piece. ...the base plate is a thin (1/16"?), flexible Lego baseplate that will allow you to build really big stuff, but it's tough to use on the "living room carpet" because it is so thin it flexes into the carpet when you try to press a "house" onto it. The result is that either only one corner of the house sticks, or it sticks fine, but all the other structures you've put on, flex off.
Anyway, it's a vital item in any kid's (or adult's) Lego set....
22 comments| 103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2005
If you're worried about it flexing glue it to a piece of wood. If you get the right thickness of wood you can match the height of the board to the height of a regular brick (ie: 3 flats high). I've got two of them expoxyed to the center of a 2' x 4' piece of MDF (~ $3 + epoxy) and it works great on the carpet. There's extra room around the plates for building or running cars on, etc.
11 comment| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 1999
And this is the biggest one Lego offers. I still have mine from childhood, so it does last if you are careful with it, but any child old enough to play with it could snap it in half without too much effort.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 13, 2015
I used this in a project I built for my Grandson. He has other base plates but they were harder to move when he had built something on them.

It is basically a tray with handles and you add the baseplate to the bottom.

The child can build on the tray and when he has to move it just pick it up by the handles and put it away without having to dismantle the project.

I used plywood for the bottom and top grade pine for the sides. This baseplate fit perfectly in a bottom that I cut 15 1/8 inches X 15 1/8 inches.
Painted with a brush ( 2 coats) using a gloss Rustoleum paint . I have included a couple of photos .
review image review image
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2010
I used this instantly when I got it. Great for bilding, but it would be better if it was thicker so I can build on carpet - I always have to put a board underneath to keep the pieces on it and the pieces pop off if I try to carry it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2006
We ordered several and glued them to a plywood table. My two kids (boy, 9; girl,7)have built an entire lego city on it. There is no limit to the creativity. I HIGHLY recommend.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
.
for those who fall for it. Look under "Bricks & More Building Plates" and you will find (as of this writing) the very same 15 x 15-inch base plate ("Building Plate" in LEGO terminology), with the very same item no. (628), with no indicated differences, and about $2.60 cheaper.

As always, it pays to shop around. Maybe even comparison-shop within this one vendor, when they get sloppy at times like this.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2008
The big size is great. I would have expected this Lego plate to be more sturdy. When you pick it up, it sags, so it isn't good to carry it when you have something on top. It is just fine set on a table or hard flat surface though.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2009
This is probably a great plate for legos, but I bought it for my 18 month old to use with his duplo blocks and it doesn't work very well (even though it is advertised for both). Most of the duplo blocks will click on this plate, but it is hard for a very young child to do. I ended up buying a plate especially for duplo blocks which is much better. Will put this away until he is old enough for legos.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2014
Building a Lego table for the kids using eight of these. Precisely what I needed but there is a large price variance for the same item within Amazon and buy limits that resulted in paying for 5 at the lowest price and 3 at a marginally higher price. Dimensions are actually 15 1/8" x 15 1/8" for those considering a similar project. Clearly must be used on a hard surface.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here