Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 227 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 344 reviews
on May 8, 2016
Loved this show when it came out and just treated myself to the entire 5 seasons. I forgot so much and am so glad to watch again and enjoy it all over again. Acting, writing, sets, costumes, makeup, direction. Technically it was a wonderful series and the charisma of the main characters just keeps delivering. The story lines are still relevant today.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2011
I first saw the previews in 1997 for this breakout show on USA Network. In the past, they'd tried for serious and gotten a mite flaky (ie. Silk Stalkings, Pacific Blue etc.) and don't get me wrong, I liked those shows, but LFN had *something* from the beginning. Maybe it was Peta's striking looks or Roy's melt-you-into-a-puddle eyes/lips/voice/hair... but it was magic. Season One is a brutal introduction into the world of anti-terrorism and ghosts, where the operatives don't exist outside of Section and things are dealt with brutally if anything from the outside affects work. LFN is an amazing series that had incredible music, especially during first season with beauties such as the band Rhea's Obsession and Beverly Klass's Temple, iconic music for which much of it is no longer sold today (see Beverly Klass).

With a less than favorable budget, writers, directors, producers, and the rest of the cast and crew produced edge-of-the-seat story-lines and grabbed your attention. If you weren't lured by the premiere 'Nikita' then you were abducted by S1's episodes Escape and War in which Michael pulls brutal tricks on Nikita to meet his objectives.

The DVDs are great quality, if you have a large tv (46 inch and above) you will get a bit of graininess because it's not 1080p definition and I don't think the episodes were remastered for the releases. These sets were originally produced in 2003 - 2004 for Seasons 1-5. No blu-ray back then... :( However, the extras make up for it, including deleted scenes with commentary and written tracks and hilarious bloopers and outtakes at the end of the last disk. All in all, a great buy, especially considering the retail price is $100 and rarely do they go on sale like this. $13.99! I wish I'd waited eight years to buy them... Not.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2014
The relationship between Nikita and Michael forms in an ambivalent manner at first, and then changes to a loving situation. Michael and Nikita protect each other on missions.

Operations and Madeline are dependent on each other and it shows in every episode.They seem to show no interest in human life.

Madeline is obsessive-compulsive and a sadomasocist. Operations at times shows a borderline personality, The other characters show how people feel closed and depressed, unless they improve according to how operations view them. Nikita doesn't follow the rules of section 1. She shows an autonomous view of life which helps her survive. My five star rating is for acting by all characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
Watching this series again, I was taken back to a time when I was a single lady with nothing better to do than watch La Femme Nikita and dream of Michael. Now that I am older, wiser and married I half expected to be viewing the show with more cynical eyes. But no, again I found myself totally enthralled by the chemistry between Roy Dupuis and Peta Wilson. At times the show does look a little dated but overall it stands up fairly well. My husband attempted to watch it with me but he gave up, commenting that in the 90s, tv shows were short on action. It's true that there may only be two or three action sequences per show which was fairly normal in those days, but that doesn't bother me as I'm not an action junkie. So glad I bought this and relived my youthful memories.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2017
Beyond pathetic. Pointless to waste any more words on this idiotically done film.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2017
So intriguing! I want to see all the seasons, possibly purchase them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2008
I have to admit that when I first started watching the first episode, I was pretty turned off by the flashy, razzle-dazzle jump-cutty style of the show. But once the story line took over I was definitely hooked. This is a supremely seductive show--not merely because the lead actress, Peta Wilson, is hot, but because the stories fuse enough exaggerated/fantasy stuff with real-world terrorist activities, a number of which have actually occurred. The show sticks in my head; it's adhesive. OK, so the Operations guy's acting is basically stiff as a board, and Michael (Roy Dupuis)'s nickname should really be "Mister Whisper" since that's basically how he talks all the time. But the guys who play Birkoff (the IT geek) and Walter (the weapons master) are both decent actors, and Alberta Watson as Madeline is an old pro, so she's fine. And Peta Wilson herself is also a more than decent actress; she does a great job as the main character.

But it's the plotting that carries the show; it's great. Yes, sometimes there are some logical inconsistencies, and sometimes there are some truly grisly moments (a father bites his daughter to death in the neck). But you can tell that the primary focus of the writers, producers and directors is to entertain--and that they do manage to accomplish. Along with "Nowhere Man" and "Profit" I count this as one of the best TV series ever made.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2003
"La Femme Nikita" is probably one of the best American TV series ever made. The creators (also did "24") took their inspiration from the brilliant French film "Nikita" but added a twist -- in the TV series, Nikita is not a cold-blooded murderer. This fact leads to the seminal conflict in the series -- the moment Section One believes that she is innocent of the crime that put her in prison, they will kill her, so to stay alive, she must become a killer. The TV series also trumps the movie in another aspect -- it emphasizes how totally and completely alone Nikita is by making outside relationships impossible and by constantly twisting Michael's love for her into nothing more than a Section mission. Finally, analogies have been made between Nikita's relationship with Section and grind of the corporate world, an interesting spin on the world of anti-terrorism organizations.
The sets are sexy and stylish -- Section One is a sort of futuristic police department driven solely by technology (as Joel Surnow says in the Special Features, you will never see a piece of paper in Section). The performances are outstanding (both the chemistry between Nikita and Michael and the animosity between Nikita and Operations are electric), the music is edgy (Holly Cole singing "Jersey Girl" is an example) and the resulting series is fantastic.
Created at a time when women action heroes in TV were unheard of, "La Femme Nikita" broke barriers in conception, production and execution and still manages to make "Alias" look like summer camp. Buy this DVD and you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2013
This Item is really great. It took a little while for it to get to me however that is to be expected with international mail. The discs arrived in perfect condition and the item was sealed. Unfortunately the case being carboard was a bit crushed on the corners however I suspect this was due to the postal service rather than the seller. I'm really happy with it and I am looking forward to buying more products like this one.
Really pleased...thanks so much!
Best regards
Charlotte
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
I watched the series when it was first released in the late 90s and it is still one of the best shows ever produced. The sexual and emotional tension are unmatched in 99% of other shows. The dramatic dialogue and the chemistry between Peta Wilson & Roy DuPuis is amazing! I wish this show had been picked up by another network.

EXCELLENT - some scenes absolutely send chills down your spine - "24" "La Femme Nikita" "Dallas" - some of the greatest shows ever produced for television.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse