Kindle Price: $7.99

Save $14.00 (64%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Lady Lazarus by [Lang, Michele]
Kindle App Ad

Lady Lazarus Kindle Edition

3.8 out of 5 stars 12 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"

Length: 318 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Matchbook Price: $2.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Kindle Email Subscriptions
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

*Starred Review* Lang combines historical and urban fantasy to create a parallel world full of witches, vampires, angels, and demons on the eve of WWII. In Budapest, rebellious 20-year-old Magda is the last in the line of powerful Jewish Lazarus witches, but she has resisted her unique magical heritage, spending her time as assistant to one of the city’s leading vampires. Younger sister Gisele may lack the family gift but is still a talented seer, and her visions of coming death and destruction set Magda off on a quest across Europe in the summer of 1939, racing to claim her family’s lost Book of Raziel before it can be seized by the Nazi wizards. Lang even manages to weave in a romance story line as a desperate Magda does the unthinkable and summons the angel Raziel, only to discover he is much more human than anyone thought. By cleverly mixing her fantastical creations into real history, Lang crafts a creative and tense story as all of Europe awaits the September invasion of Poland. Lang is a writer to watch and is sure to have wide appeal to fans of Jim Butcher, Kat Richardson, and other urban-fantasy A-listers. An outstanding debut. --Jessica Moyer


"An absolutely unique protagonist in an engaging tale set against the backdrop of the greatest clash of good and evil in human history. What's not to love about Lady Lazarus?" --Jim Butcher, bestselling author of The Dresden Files series

"With lyrical prose, a fascinating heroine, and a darkly powerful, emotional narrative, Lady Lazarus is simply magic. Intriguing, beautiful, and impossible to put down." --Meljean Brook, bestselling author of The Guardians urban fantasy romance series

"This unique story set in Europe in the late 1930s may confuse some readers. However, once you suspend your disbelief, you will not be disappointed. While real-life situations and people are depicted, this retelling of the beginning of World War II with angels and demons has an otherworldly feel that will stretch readers' imaginations. Lang's fantastic tale will have you rooting for the heroine and holding your breath to see if a lone woman and her guardian angel will be able to free an entire continent from evil.
In this supernatural alternate history, Magda Lazarus, a young Jewish witch, must try to stop the Nazis from taking over Europe. To halt Hitler's scourge, Magda must reach the magical Book of Raziel, however her mission becomes complicated when evil witches, demons and werewolves also start searching for the angelically written text. These dark, supernatural beings are assured of victory, but they fail to foresee the strength and determination of one woman who can travel through death and back and refuses to see her people destroyed"-RT Book Reviews (Four Stars)

Product Details

  • File Size: 636 KB
  • Print Length: 318 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Books (August 31, 2010)
  • Publication Date: August 31, 2010
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003P9XJSI
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,184,652 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Kelly (Fantasy Literature) VINE VOICE on January 24, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Lady Lazarus by Michele Lang is a historical fantasy set just before the beginning of World War II, in a slightly skewed version of our world. What makes it skewed is that in this alternate history, magic exists and plays a major role in world events. For example, Hitler's werewolves are literal here.

Perhaps Lang's most controversial decision is that Hitler is in league with, and sometimes possessed by, a demon. Some readers may see this as a cop-out. In my opinion, though, Lang wrote this in the only way that isn't a cop-out. Namely, Hitler is the master, not the servant, in the relationship. Lang doesn't use the demon to absolve Hitler of anything; this is no "the devil made him do it" scenario. It's clear that he'd be just as evil without supernatural help and is simply using the demon as an additional tool in gaining power. And the real-life Hitler was interested in the occult, so to me it's believable that he'd have tried something like this if it had been possible.

The title refers to the novel's heroine, Magda Lazarus, who is doubly in danger in this increasingly intolerant Europe: she is both Jewish and a witch. Specifically, she is a Lazarus witch, which means that she has the ability to return from the dead under certain circumstances. As Lady Lazarus begins, she learns of the dire fate awaiting her people. She resolves to find the long-lost Book of Raziel in order to save both the world and her own small household, consisting of her fragile, prophetic sister and her non-magical ingenue best friend. Magda is a heroine who isn't always wise and isn't always nice, but commands admiration in her willingness to risk not just death but damnation to thwart Hitler's plans.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Spirit Rising: Michele Lang's Lady Lazarus - Alexandra Honigsberg

It has been documented that the first word a child learns to utter is, most commonly, "no". Michele Lang's historical urban dark fantasy, Lady Lazarus (Tor, trade Sept. 2010 $14.99, mass market June 2011 $7.99), and her heroine Magda make a fine art of "no" that turns into a resounding "yes" on the eve of WWII (up to Hitler's invasion of Poland, Sept. 1st, 1939 and the Hitler-Stalin pact), from the cafés of Buda-Pest through Austria, Germany, and Paris, to the booksellers and brothels of Amsterdam and back again! The first installment of the story, this book is as good as it gets. You cannot guess where she will take you, even in the historical bits but, once Lang gets there, it is perfectly logical and believable, even at its most outrageous. Why? Because Lang has done her history, theology, and Bible homework and Knows her Kabbalah in a way that even some whiskery old masters do not. And she makes you believe. Even her undead, demonic, and angelic characters are utterly human and thus you are compelled to watch this tragic train-wreck of a story (after all, we know the atrocities of WWII) that is not without the insanity of hope. Her prose sings--even in her English translations the music of the German, Hungarian, Hebrew, and Aramaic remains. Amidst all the darkness, the light shines, even in some romance with an angel, Raziel (Secrets of God), whose description really is like that of a Greek god (trust me, I know one...wink). But no clichés, here, and no punches pulled, ever--no flinching. People suffer exquisitely for what they believe in, to save their way of life, their people (Jews, witches, vampires, demonesses).
Read more ›
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Michael on November 27, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I am not a professional product rater which so often appears to be what shows up on Amazon, just a regular customer. I love reading sci fi and fantasy for many decades now and have an extensive collection (although I am paring it down). I really like books by Jim Butcher and saw he gave her his recommendation and so I picked it up. Very glad I did. Certainly if you like Jim and Rachel Caine and others like them you should really like her book, i look forward to reading her other ones.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Sadie Forsythe on February 28, 2016
Format: Paperback
There was so much to like about this book, the Jewish heroine, the platonic love between Magda and her angle (at least in the period of the book), the difficulty of the angels' task, the best friend who I decided was her lover, the cyclone-like battles between good and evil that feel like the centre of the world only until you remember the big bad is still lurking out there waiting to pounce (reminding the reader about the importance of perspective), some of the writing (all is pretty good, but some passages really wow), and Magda's genuine and undeniable growth as a character. There is a lot to appreciate. But there was just as much that bothered me personally.

I got tired of Magda being clueless of everything. Why, oh why, are heroines always ignorant of themselves, their power, their ability, their strengths? I am just tire, TIRED of this being the kernel at the centre of just about every book I read that has a female lead. Why?

I thought the book dragged in places. The reader spends a lot of time in Magda's head or traveling. After being clueless and not knowing what to do Magda always seemed to defeat her enemy with ease and I was never entirely sure how she managed it. This feeling of ho-hum another one done is only exasperated by the fact that the book ends on the eve of Hitler's attack on Poland, so the whole thing kind of wraps up where I thought it was going to begin. And lastly, I thought there were an uncomfortable number of characters that showed up when needed and then just disappeared again.

So, I'm about balanced between those things I really liked and those things that annoyed me.

Note: borrowed from the library
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Lady Lazarus
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Lady Lazarus