Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Carrie Underwood All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Dot Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
21


on January 27, 2011
This is my first review of anything other than when you are asked to rate sellers. This story was awesome! Macbeth has always been my favorite work by Shakespeare and this book makes a great companion to Macbeth by providing some backstory and filling in some blanks in that tragedy. You don't need to read Macbeth to love this story though because it stands as its own independent work. I have grown weary of novels written in the first-person, but this was much better as the point-of-view alternated between two characters-Lady Macbeth and her daughter, Albia. I would love to see another story with Albia in it about her life after the events of Macbeth. I will definitely be chekcing out other works by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 12, 2012
This is the first time I have read a story written today based loosely on a classic from centuries ago. I really enjoyed reading this novel and look forward to reading more like this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 19, 2015
Required reading for high school AP English but my son still enjoyed it. It was better than the original Macbeth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 23, 2014
Great story. I wanted it to continue and read about what happens next! Looking forward to reading Klein's other books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 1, 2013
This is my fourth book (not counting Shakespear)about MacBeth, three of which I have read in the last six months. I'm getting to be an expert. This is a good book, more about the daughter than MacBeth for which be thanked. He comes across as a royal jerk in this one. I enjoy British/Scottish history and will probably read more about MacBeth and kin before I'm finished. Since not much is really known about that time period, any of the books I've read could be as close as any other. If you are interested in a thoroughly researched history novel, get "King Hereafter" by Dorothy Dunnett. Otherwise, I think you'll enjoy this one as much as any history novel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 16, 2009
Im not normally one for righting reviews but for this one I decided I would try it, but it will be a short one.

I really liked this book. Lisa is one of my favorite authors and I have read both of her other books. I love how she incorporates important parts of the actual plays into her books. I really liked this book but the ending unimpressed me. I expected a lot more that the last chapter to me was extremely boring. I'm not trying to bash the whole book, It was amazing up until the last couple of chapters. I would defiantly suggest this to someone who is into Shakespeare type stories, but it wouldn't be my first pick for anyone else.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 17, 2015
Another hit from Lisa Klein, Lady Macbeth’s Daughter retells the famous Shakespearean tragedy of Macbeth from the point of view of a female character– Macbeth’s secret lost daughter, Albia.

When Lady Macbeth gives birth to a baby girl with a clubbed foot, her husband Macbeth considers the babe cursed, and demands she be left outside to die. Lady Macbeth mourns for her daughter as her maid takes the baby away. But instead of adhering to Macbeth’s heartless orders, the maid gives the child to her sisters to raise in secret. Albia grows up in the simplicity of the woods, herding sheep in the pastures with her friends, completely unaware of her royal parentage.

In the meantime, Albia’s adoptive aunts’ false prophecies to Macbeth have begun to drive him mad. Macbeth and his wife murder the goodly King Duncan for their own gain, and all of Scotland suffers under Macbeth’s tyranny. Eventually, Albia is sent to live with Banquo, Macbeth’s loyal general, and Banquo’s family. There, she falls in love with his son, Fleance. Meanwhile, gifted with “the Sight,” Albia plays a pivotal role in the story’s well-known outcome. The book is also narrated in part by Lady Macbeth.

A well-woven tale rich with romance, intrigue, secrets, magic, history, beautiful Scottish scenery, and surprisingly multifaceted characters. Klein’s writing is elegant, tasteful and true to the era. This is an excellent novel!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 7, 2012
Lady Macbeth's Daughter is a romantic, action-adventure by Lisa Klein. Lisa Klein use to be an English professor at Ohio State University; however she quit after eight years. Having broken her leg later in the year she quit her job, she decided to give writing a shot. It seemed slow at first, but her book Ophelia was a hit. Ophelia is a continuation of Hamlet, a Shakespeare play. After that, Klein decided to base her next book off Shakespeare's Macbeth.

Lady Macbeth's Daughter is Shakespeare's original rewritten with a strong female character named Albia. Early on the audience meets Grelach, Albia's mother, and finds out that Albia is the daughter of Macbeth, a ruthless murderer and king of Scotland. She is crippled and a girl, so Macbeth throws her to the wolves. This reflects a classic theme, where the runt or weakling is thought of as dead, but eventually grows up and defeats their enemy, which is exactly what happens. Macbeth and Grelach are unaware of their daughter's survival, and she doesn't find out who her parents are until she is about 16. Albia has the second sight, a rare ability to see into the future or past, and feels guilty since she didn't use it to save lives when she was younger. This guilt inspires her to try to save the man she loves, who happens to be a rival of Macbeth for the throne, and to try to stop the evil she foresees. Unfortunately, this brings her into the path of her parents, whom she has to kill in order to make things right. Is the fact that they are her kin enough to save their lives, or will Albia punish them for their crimes?

Klein wants to show the impact of a strong female character in a Shakespeare play. Shakespeare's plays have been rewritten so many times, that Klein really had to make an impact if she wanted a successful story. She really avoids having a male character who completely changes the story, instead she lets the women have more control, showing the brains and brawn of women instead of men. Albia smacks Fleance, a boy who tries to force a kiss upon her, and she says, "Remember... I am the sun. Dare to touch me and you will die. I do not jest," which shows her brawn and her wit, since she had just made a riddle about the sun. Klein's failed English career could've impacted the decision to use female characters. In Lady Macbeth's Daughter, Albia follows a different path then she thought she would've had, but she is still in control of her own life. Albia does not let men choose her path, rather she lets them give her advice then acts upon that. Klein encourages young women to follow their hearts and fight for what they love, instead of following restraints set up by society. Albia sets a perfect example Most of all, Klein let's young women know that someone will always love them for themselves, and emphasizes that they shouldn't cover their real self up in social acceptances.

Klein shows her own unique version of Shakespeare by standing up for women and showing them as independent creatures, able to fend for themselves. She manages a lot of this through Albia, but also shows that women need men and vice versa by letting Albia become influenced by male characters and by letting Macbeth get influenced by Grelach. Grelach encourages Macbeth to kill King Duncan by mentioning things like "That crown sits on Duncan's head... It may fall into your lap... if you still wish to be king" (Klein 59), and even goes so far as to help him, which is evident when she confessed her "Husband's crimes- and my part in them" to her servant. Albia on the other hand trains in swordsmanship, and is never the perfect daughter, yet she still manages to save Scotland and fall in love. She defies social standards by refusing to become a pawn of Scottish politics and refusing to marry for convenience. Albia literally goes into battle to ensure justice in her land and to save her love from an untimely death, showing that fighting for your views is accepted no matter who you are.

This book makes a young woman rethink her life. Although it is directed toward young women, an adult can learn and love this book too. If you love Shakespeare or action romances this is a great book to read. However, I would not recommend this book to men because it is fully and completely written from a woman's point of view. If you are not one who likes when a book switches point of view, don't read this either. It switches from Albia's point of view to Grelach's more than once. Overall the book was a great read and I can't find anything wrong with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
My first Klein book was Two Girls of Gettysburg. The end was breathtaking. Lady MacBeth's Daughter? An absolute masterpiece. I think Shakespeare would be happy to know that Macbeth is being enjoyed by teens once again. Filled with emotion and a exciting dramatic climax, Klein has done it again with this historical and mythical tale of Scotland's murderous king. Aliba, our heroine, is faced with a series of difficult choices; with every decision, the plot takes a another nail-biting turn. I love historical fiction because you always get a little something out of it, if not a lot. You get to wander through a past time period and enjoy an adventure. I usually like historical fiction--even if it is a bit slow at times--but that's just me. For those who like to be kept on the edge of your seat, well good news! Albia doesn't wait for adventure to happen, she finds it! Even hesitant readers might want to take a look at this book! Overall I think Lady Macbeth's Daughter is a thrilling novel dripping with romance and adventure and a surprising twist. I have not yet read Shakespeare's Macbeth, but this book is sure to help me through it or better yet, help bring it to life.

|Age Group: YA, ages 14+|Content: Sensuality; not recommend for anyone under 13 (PG-13)|
|Recommend? Yes, to teen ages 14+
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMEon June 28, 2009
In this novel, set in 11th century Scotland, author Lisa Klein starts with the premise that Macbeth and his wife had a baby daughter, born with a deformed leg. Macbeth, in his anger that she was not the healthy son he longed for, left the infant to die. Lady Macbeth, not much more than a girl herself in a time when women had no power, was helpless to stop him, and grieves the death of her daughter as well as the subsequent pregnancies she loses, believing herself cursed. These losses shape her character and set the stage for the tragic events she later participates in.

What neither of them know, however, is that their baby daughter did not die. She was saved by Lady Macbeth's serving woman, Rhuven, who took her to live with her sisters in the Wychelm Wood. The sisters name the child Albia, and the little girl grows up believing one of the sisters to be her mother. The years pass by peacefully, until the year Albia turns fifteen and great turmoil comes to Scotland. King Duncan is murdered, and Albia is sent to live with a foster family - Banquo, his wife Breda, and their son Fleance. And there is turmoil inside Albia as well - she is confused by her feelings for the attractive but maddening Fleance, and she longs to know the identity of her father. When she learns the truth about her heritage - and that her birth parents murdered the king in order to seize the throne - she struggles with her feelings of revulsion at what her parents have done and determines that she must destroy them and bring peace and justice to Scotland.

Lady Macbeth's Daughter is a rather interesting and complex novel. It is mainly told from the point of view of Albia, although we also see some events from the point of view of Lady Macbeth. Her perspective, and the difficult life she lived, made her actions, wrong though they were, seem more understandable. Overall the story and the ending especially were rather thought-provoking, making me think a lot about the motivations of various characters, and wondering what happened afterwards. I would recommend this book to readers, young adult and older, who enjoy either historical fiction or unique retellings of Shakespeare's plays.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here