Digital List Price: $2.99
Kindle Price: $0.00

Save $13.99 (100%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Lady's Slipper by [Swift, Deborah]
Kindle App Ad

The Lady's Slipper Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 54 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$0.00

Length: 464 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Civil War in England has left tempers high as King Charles II returns from exile in 1660 in Swift's uneven debut. Having seen the horrors of war, Richard Wheeler converts to Quakerism, an unpopular religion. His neighbor, Alice Ibbetson, is so taken with the Lady's Slipper, a rare orchid that grows on his land, that she steals it, drawing the two of them into a complicated web of politics, lies, and violence at the hands of local landholder Geoffrey Fisk. The Quakers, whose concept of all men being equal, infuriates Fisk and he wants to see them eliminated, starting with Richard. Swift has a difficult time creating believable characters; Alice's obsession with the orchid is so extreme as to be laughable, Richard is an awfully bland hero, and Geoffrey is the requisite broadly-drawn villain. While the writing moves swiftly, too many plot lines and too little historical context make it hard for those unfamiliar with the period to understand the underlying class and religious tensions.
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Review

'The novel grips from the opening lines and carries the interest throughout. The several plot strands are seamlessly blended and come together in a wholly satisfying conclusion. Her characters are so real that they linger in the mind long after the book is back on the shelf. Highly recommended.' --The Historical Novels Review

'With realistic dialogue, an author's obvious love for history, and characters that leap off the pages, THE LADY'S SLIPPER is a brilliant saga set in a time of confusion in England as it recovers from years of civil strife.' --Romance Reviews Today


'The Lady's Slipper has all the characteristics of well-received historical romance. Recommended for fans of Philippa Gregory and Rose Tremain, as well as students of the English Civil War' --Library Journal


'Throughout The Lady's Slipper, Swift writes of things in such detail that you feel like you are holding the lady's slipper in your own hand.....Swift deftly layers plots to build a story that is complex and engaging.' --Bookgeeks 


'Deborah Swift's writing style, combined with her knowledge of mid 17th Century life is masterful in her portrayal of a crueller and less tolerant time, where suspicion is enough to condemn the innocent and women were regarded as the cradle of all evils.' --Historical Novel Review Blog


"It is a genuinely engrossing story, with characters you can get interested in." -- The Mum website

Product details

  • File Size: 3081 KB
  • Print Length: 464 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Quire Books; 2 edition (August 20, 2016)
  • Publication Date: August 20, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01KS6WJWW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,640 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Literary Fiction
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Religion & Spirituality Books
3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars
Christian Books & Bibles
3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on March 23, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews