Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Take Your Pick
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
5 star
78%
4 star
22%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon November 14, 2010
On "Take Your Pick," Larry Carlton is joined by Takahiro "Tak" Matsumoto, known for his work in the Japanese group B'z as well as his solo efforts as a guitarist, producer, arranger, composer and songwriter. A tip of the hat to Wikipedia for that background info.

This isn't "quiet storm smooth jazz"...although there are possibly a few cuts here that would make it onto smooth jazz airwaves. It's reminiscent of Larry's earlier collaboration with Steve Lukather, No Substitutions: Live in Osaka, and some of his tougher solo work like Sapphire Blue and Fire Wire. Tracks like "Smooth Mystery" and "A Girl From China" are seductive, slithery, and crank up the volume and funk. The guitarists have mastered the give and take in their playing to the point where you won't view this as a "jam" album, but as a collection of tuneful, well-played tracks where the guitar is rightfully front and center.

As much as I appreciated many of Larry's contributions to Fourplay, I was happy to see him leave if it meant focusing on efforts like this. Fourplay does what they do and deserve their following, and they are now carrying on with Chuck Loeb. But Larry has a bigger and broader style and it was frustrating to hear him playing in that box. It was probably unreasonable to pick up any Fourplay album in the hopes that Larry would cut loose like he does on "Take Your Pick." Highly recommended, and a gem of an album from a master.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2013
What a great blend of two amazing guitarists. Larry has been one of my favorites since he played years ago for Steely Dan and he continues to get even better after being shot by thugs in California. Tennessee has been good to him. Tak is fairly new to me and the combo of these two guys is beautiful. Don't mis this if your a fan of either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2011
I'm assuming that because this is an import the price is higher than the usual single disc CD. Because I wanted to rip it as an AIFF I went with a CD as opposed to the less expensive download. I've got to say that it is well worth the price. This is "smooth jazz" with an edge that you will rarely hear. The "Ao" and "Easy Mystery" tracks blew me away, and I'm only halfway through the CD. Let the head bobbing begin. The two artists really compliment each other, and avoid the "battle of the bands" schtick that you seem to get when two artists work with each other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2010
Warning! Smooth Jazz wimps need not apply. TAKE YOUR PICK is the real deal. Perhaps the finest American guitarist alive today... Larry Carlton... teams with arguably the most renowned guitarist in Asia... Tak Matsumoto... for an absolutely breath-taking journey into contemporary jazz fusion... music that has all the elements the Smooth Jazz format desperately needs right now. Passion... check. Energy... check. Over-the-top musicianship...check. Larry recently left the contemporary jazz super group Fourplay to pursue his solo career and his 335 Records. Get your hands on this album and you'll thank me for hipping you to the best Smooth Jazz album of 2010. TAKE YOUR PICK excites me. It inspires me. It suggests to me that maybe there's still hope for this format that's turned into insipid Pablum right before our ears. I hereby challenge every Smooth Jazz programmer out there to play TAKE YOUR PICK on your station... then congratulate yourself for having the guts and the foresight to help breathe some life into the genre! ~SCOTT O'BRIEN
33 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2013
I enjoy great jazz guitar and looking up other music I have come to appreciate the sound and works of Larry Carlton.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2012
This is an excellent CD. The sound quality is excellent and both guitarists are brilliant when they play. This is a must for all Larry Carlton fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2015
I blind bought this cd after checking out Larry Carlton and ‎Steve Lukather Live, and this cd didn't disappoint; and it is a well deserved Grammy's winning album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
High energy, funky, jazzy, guitars, playing off of each other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2015
great Cd and very fast shipping
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.99
$11.88

Need customer service? Click here