BCA Month Beauty altText This Week in Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno

Larry Crowne
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on October 29, 2015
This is, like many films of Tom Hanks, one I end up watching over and over again. Simply, it is a good story, with believable, real life characters that are well acted out by professionals. The story is relevant, true to life about a man whose life is adversely affected, as have been many lives, by the folly of unregulated economic policies by the Bush administration and modern GOP politics. Sadly, I know many Larry Crownes, and the heroic efforts they and their families have made to escape destitution. The fact that all of this is done with humor, style, and Grace makes this movie a delight to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2013
This movie wasn't particularly well-received by critics and movie-goers, and it is flawed, and no mistake. Julia Roberts' character was designed rather poorly, and a number of the film's leaden moments stem from that. One reviewer, with some exasperation, pointed out the general lack of conflict in the movie. I feel the conflict was there, but the conflict was just a more subtle, everyday kind which most of us have in our lives.
Tom Hanks' brand of screenplay comedy is a bit awkward sometimes and can fall flat. But Tom Hanks is nothing if he is not, first and foremost, an All-American stand-up guy. He is a gentleman. He will do the right thing. He is an Everyman with a strong sense of integrity. I REALLY miss this kind of individual in the American culture, and am naturally drawn to many of his projects, even a "fair-to-middlin'" effort such as this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
I did thoroughly enjoy this movie and would likely watch it again. It was a good husband and wife movie. It is nice not to watch a movie that makes me want to barf. I do not think it is appropriate for children as the morals in it are questionable. The theme of a woman's standing up for herself and refusing to tolerate abuse is a good one. The attitude towards porn and the damage it does to a relationship is one that resonates with me. One can see how the woman played by Julia Roberts finds her power and joy in life again by casting off the dead relationship tarnished by verbal and mental abuse of a husband addicted to porn and nonproductive in supporting their mutual living. Larry Crowne played by Tom Hanks is delightful and kind to all around him as he is also breaking free from his grief and exploring new relationships.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2017
Inspirational movie. Especially if your are over 50 and have a scooter!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2016
I thought this movie was cute - I love Gugu Mbatha-Raw's character taking Larry under her wing and helping him kind of expand his horizons. I am also extremely appreciative of the fact that they did NOT pair Tom Hanks's character with the younger woman and kept his romantic interest age-appropriate - very rare in Hollywood nowadays. Just a fun, light-hearted movie about finding a new path in life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
Not quite a five star but better than just four. More of a chic flick actually. Had some really funny moments. I watched it the first time with a group of girls and we laughed our guys silly. Then I watched it with my boyfriend and I had to explain what was going on quite often. Maybe he was tired or maybe it's just best seen in the company of females. Tom Hanks is always able to get into character so well, it amazes me. I loved the movie and would recommend it to anyone in need of a comedic lift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
Great movie, Tom Hanks is a Dou$He BAg!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2017
Something for me. love the movie now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2014
I was having an EXTREMELY cynical day and I thought this film might help - and it did. Ok, so it's not the best or most original script, but it still has a lot going for it. Larry Crowne is a man who, after a difficult divorce, finds himself suddenly without a job. But what Larry discovers almost immediately is that what he does have is a lot of really good friends with very good ideas - and soon they have helped him change his perspective and start a whole new life. GREAT performances by Tom Hanks, Julia Roberts, Bryan Cranston and George Takei, with a really good supporting cast as well. Now all I need is a scooter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2015
It was a good film. Funny. Tom Hanks directed, produced, and starred in this. He did a good job. There were several stars in it: Julia Roberts, Wilmer Valderama, Bryan Cranston, Cedric the Entertainer, Taraji P. Henson and Pam Grier. One breakout star in the movie was Gugu Mbatha-Raw as Talia. She is a British actress playing an American. She was completely believeable. You may have seen her in the independent film "Belle" and in last year's "Beyond the Lights". She has great range. I would recommend this movie to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse