Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Lassie's Christmas Stories
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Gemini Syndrome Fire TV Stick Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
48
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon November 22, 2003
They don't make 'em like this anymore: three heartwarming LASSIE Christmas stories featuring the Martin family. In the first one, Lassie is struck by a truck while saving a three-year-old girl. When she needs expert surgery, the Martins attempt to contact a research veterinarian who can do the job. Interspersed with beautiful Christmas carols by the Les Baxter Choir. The second story has Timmy and Lassie helping a boy and girl who are on the run with their destitute father. In the third episode, the Martins' old friends the Yochims spend Christmas Eve with the family. Son Billy Joe, Lassie and Timmy rescue a man trapped under an overturned sleigh...and Billy Joe suddenly believes the man is Santa Claus. All great stuff. Buy the child on your list--or your favorite LASSIE fan one.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2007
This DVD includes three of the four "Timmy" Christmas episodes.

1. "A Christmas Story". Lassie undergoes surgery in the Martin farmhouse kitchen on Christmas Eve after being hit by a truck. Lovely Les Baxter Choir carols.

2. "A Christmas Story". Lassie and Timmy provide a Merry Christmas for a father and his two children living in a tool shed.

3. "Yochim's Christmas". The Martins have a visit from their friends Pearly Mae and her son Billy Joe. Billy Joe finds a special surprise on Christmas morning. Pearly Mae is played by Ellen Corby, famous for being Grandma in "The Waltons".

All episodes are black and white and star Jon Provost, June Lockhart, Hugh Reilly, and Lassie. The fourth and last "Timmy" Christmas episode is available on the DVD called "Lassie's Gift of Love". This is an excellent addition to your Christmas DVD collection!
11 comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2005
You won't be disappointed with these holiday episodes from "Lassie." The picture quality and soundtrack are excellent. All episodes are in b/w. None of the episodes appear on any other dvd collection to my knowledge.

In episode 1 (1958), Lassie undergoes delicate surgery in the Martin kitchen on Christmas Eve after being hit by a car. Friends and neighbors gather in the farmyard to express their best wishes. Lovely carols from the Les Baxter Choir provide the background music throughout the episode.

In episode 2 (1960), the Martins provide a Merry Christmas for a poor, California-bound family living in a tool shed while their car is being repaired.

In episode 3 (1961), the Martins are paid a visit by their old friends Pearly Mae Yochim and her young son Billy Joe. Pearly Mae and Billy Joe have faced some very painful days since last seeing the Martins but a wonderful surprise for Billy Joe is discovered on the Martin doorstep Christmas morning.

All episodes star Lockhart, Reilly, and Provost. Ellen Corby (best remembered perhaps as the grandmother in "The Waltons") appears as Pearly Mae Yochim in the third episode. These are delightful tales and even Scrooge's heart would warm to their charm. A wonderful addition to your Christmas dvd collection!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2009
I grew up with Lassie and I made sure my kids did too. Now I have my grandchildren watching. It's family entertainment at it's best. You never worry if something inappropriate will be sneaked in ... you don't HAVE to watch it with the kids, you just want to. There is a lesson of love in each episode of Lassie. What more could we want for our young people?
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2009
One of my professional quests over the years has been to watch all the available "Christmas movies" and "Christmas TV specials" available on DVD, although I started this back when I was collecting them on VHS video tape.

As you might expect, if you enjoy a good Christmas tale, there's a swamp of bad DVDs every year for each gem that surfaces. And this three-episode set of "Lassie" Christmas classics from 1958, 1960 and 1961 is a true gem!

A lot of "classic TV on DVD" from this era is released in slap-dash fashion, often in tough-to-watch prints with fuzzy sound. In this case, Sony plays a role and all three episodes are as crisp and clear as when we first saw these episodes half a century ago.

Sure, there are stereotypes here. Sure, this is an idealized view of rural America. And, sure, Lassie performs more miraculous tricks in half an hour than most dogs could hope to perform in a year. (In one case, Lassie helps to move a heavy, overturned sleigh to save a man's life.) But none of these are reasons to avoid these classic tales. In fact, peering back into these episodes is a glimpse back into the idealized images a lot of us held back in that era--like the idea that neighbors ought to help each other and even lend a hand when down-on-their-luck strangers pass through town.

The Santa Claus episode from 1961 is my favorite in this set, closely followed by the story of a talented veterinarian who saves Lassie's life--all because of the connective power of modern radio!

I can heartily recommend this set, among the many we've seen this year.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2008
What can I say, "Wonderful classic Lassie movies! Great for the whole family to enjoy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2006
Absolutely beautiful stories, when I was a child, we only had one of these episodes on tape, and the quality has deteriorated significantly. Now all three on one DVD, with high quality audio and video, is a true Christmas present. Perfect for fans of the show, or animal lovers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2015
It's Lassie and Timmy. Nothing more needs to be said from those of us who absolutely love dogs and loved all the Lassies. I met Jon Provost at a Nostalgia convention in Maryland a few years back and he is one incredible, nice, down to earth great guy. Kleenex when I think of this show, my life back then coming from a broken home, and all my dog and this show meant to me. This and Rin-Tin-Tin, and Roy and Bullet and I was one happy guy sitting in front of the black and white TV.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
My aunt was quite surprised to receive this Lassie DVD (along with others). She loved the show in the original airing period and was happy to be able to pop them in now and watch whenever she wishes. She is 94.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2005
Lassie's Christmas Stories is a successful compilation of three episodes in Timmy times. As all Lassie's Tales, these are a message of love, pity and share with some funny moments. It would be a wonderful Christmas Gift.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse